Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

New Year 2020 elite status display glitch (fixed)

New Year 2020 elite status display glitch (fixed)

Old Jan 1, 20, 8:28 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: philadelphia
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Lifetime Platinum Elite, Hilton Gold, United Silver
Posts: 33
New Year 2020 elite status display glitch (fixed)

Happy New Year! I was on the AA app and noticed that my elite status for 2020 was downgrade from EP to Plat Pro even though I was already awarded EP for all of 2020. I made EP for 2020 back in September. I am thinking it is a glitch in AA's system somewhere. Anyone else seeing the same issue?
phillieyogi is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 8:34 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PHL
Programs: American Ex Plat, Avis Presidents, Hertz - Preidents Circle, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 171
Everything looks normal. It is sad to see the counters reset and I still have EP status .... I guess it is time to fly again. Happy New Year
MasterPlanner likes this.
travelingbob is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 8:34 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AA EXP 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, HH Gold, IHG Spire, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 778
Happy New Year!

Yep, I’m also having the same glitch - EP showing as Plat Pro.
EVA Air is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 8:42 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 66
No issue here. App showing EXP, though the 0's straight across are depressing.
MasterPlanner and Zacnlinc like this.
CMTinPHL is online now  
Old Jan 1, 20, 8:43 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NYC
Programs: AA, Marriott
Posts: 36
Noticed the same thing earlier. It's fixed for me both in-app and on the website now though.
Wayne Kao is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 9:03 am
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 45,177
Originally Posted by phillieyogi View Post
Happy New Year! I was on the AA app and noticed that my elite status for 2020 was downgrade from EP to Plat Pro even though I was already awarded EP for all of 2020. I made EP for 2020 back in September. I am thinking it is a glitch in AA's system somewhere. Anyone else seeing the same issue?
What did AA say when you called?

It's clearly an error, so not sure it is urgent unless you are flying tomorrow and have an UG pending.
Often1 is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 9:15 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,623
Apparently AA is doing updates to its web site. My return trip today shows on aa.com but not on the mobile app. Miles from yesterday including 10K compensation miles the lead FA gave everyone in F because they couldn’t turn the lights off have yet to post.
newyorkgeorge is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 11:12 am
  #8  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ORD
Posts: 270
Originally Posted by phillieyogi View Post
my elite status for 2020 was downgrade from EP to Plat Pro even though I was already awarded EP for all of 2020.
I had the same early this morning. Pinged the twitter team and they said they are aware of issues. It was fixed within a few minutes after that. Not sure if they fixed it or it just happened to be fixed around the same time.
aschuett is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 6:51 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Europe / New York
Programs: LH, BA, AA
Posts: 685
Looks like another glitch, I see just now a couple of more SWUs deposited d.d. Dec 31 ...
LHSEN is online now  
Old Jan 1, 20, 7:19 pm
  #10  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 62,126
AA knows of this issue is appearing and is working on it.

At the beginning of the year, expect zeroes and misreports of upgrade instruments, etc. This year, status misreports have also occurred.

Moderator
JDiver is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 7:27 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DEN
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,887
Originally Posted by LHSEN View Post
Looks like another glitch, I see just now a couple of more SWUs deposited d.d. Dec 31 ...
Yeah. My status (EXP) is accurate, but I've had 2 rogue SWUs deposited as well. We'll see how long those stick around.
bse118 is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 7:52 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFOSJCOAK
Programs: AA-EXP & 1MM, AS MVPG 75K, MR-LT Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 5,893
I have the same glitch. It shows I am PLT instead of EXP. I am not worry about it bc they will et it right.
allset2travel is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 9:49 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CGK/KOA
Programs: AA ExPlat HH Diamond
Posts: 1,442
Status if fine, but I had 4 SWU deposited on the 31st. Imagine those will disappear soon.
Penguinmoon is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 10:35 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New York City
Programs: American Airlines Executive Platinum, Marriott Rewards Platinum Premier Elite
Posts: 1,472
Maybe they're making changes on the backend to make $15,000 the threshold for Platinum Pro and a billion dollars for Executive Platinum.
fotographer likes this.
donotblink is offline  
Old Jan 1, 20, 10:53 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: KBOS
Programs: AA EXP, UA Silver, Bonvoy Titanium, BW Diamond
Posts: 2
Status is fine here as well, but the app is definitely having issues right now. It says "Progress to %s (YTD)". Anyone with a little software experience will get a chuckle out of that.

(I'd share a screenshot, but I don't have enough posts yet!).
JDiver likes this.
Arenium is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: