Online award booking error?

Old Oct 24, 19, 11:37 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 2,427
Online award booking error?

Has anyone encountered a recent issue/error when trying to use the old online award booking engine? It doesn't let me get to the results page when entering a variety of city pairs that AA doesn't serve (e.g. LHR-SYD). Instead, it gives me an error that "this trip can't be booked online" and prompts me to contact reservations. The old booking engine seems to work for city pairs that AA does serve (e.g. SMF-SYD), and the new (but terrible) booking engine works for my LHR-SYD example above.

Could this be AA gradually, forcefully phasing out the old booking engine? Or just another IT glitch?
dkc192 is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 3:21 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 6,851
Originally Posted by dkc192 View Post
Has anyone encountered a recent issue/error when trying to use the old online award booking engine? It doesn't let me get to the results page when entering a variety of city pairs that AA doesn't serve (e.g. LHR-SYD). Instead, it gives me an error that "this trip can't be booked online" and prompts me to contact reservations. The old booking engine seems to work for city pairs that AA does serve (e.g. SMF-SYD), and the new (but terrible) booking engine works for my LHR-SYD example above.

Could this be AA gradually, forcefully phasing out the old booking engine? Or just another IT glitch?
I was getting this same error this week, I'm guessing (hoping) it's just another aa.com IT glitch.

In my example, I was looking for a simple RDU-YYZ award using the old search. Having "All Airlines" selected returns the "this trip can't be booked online" error, while having "American Airlines" selected worked fine.

The new search is truly terrible.
JJeffrey is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 6:12 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: The FT AA forum, until it no longer wants me.
Programs: CK or bust
Posts: 1,555
The legacy engine seems to be so cleaner, faster, and easier to review but this week it choked quite a bit for me on any award that included AA + international partner metal with infamous error on the confirmation screen (empty PNR gets generated with deleted segments). Call to hold or ticket it.
enpremiere is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 10:10 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Programs: AAdvatage
Posts: 73
I am having some serious issues with the AA award system too. I have been searching for award availability for a few months now, and just this week, it has gotten super slow and most of the award availability disappeared. There isn't even the tab for "Economy special" awards (or whatever they are called).
bigboy61 is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 10:31 am
  #5  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 62,539
I experienced a problem of another stripe. I booked two award trips USA-CMN and BCN-USA, put them on five day hold. Overnight, both awards disappeared and my miles returned to the miles I had prior to booking the awards. No email, nothing indicating any problem, just *poof*. (Fortunately, the awards were still available, and rebooking worked.)
JDiver is offline  
Old Oct 25, 19, 12:41 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 489
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
I experienced a problem of another stripe. I booked two award trips USA-CMN and BCN-USA, put them on five day hold. Overnight, both awards disappeared and my miles returned to the miles I had prior to booking the awards. No email, nothing indicating any problem, just *poof*. (Fortunately, the awards were still available, and rebooking worked.)
Sounds like a lot of stuff happening at once. Wonder if AA is getting ready to make changes and these glitches are a result. :-(

I have two Awards on hold right now. Everything seems OK so far but I will be watching them closely. I did notice that the miles were not subtracted from my account when I placed the Holds. The Holds are still showing up under "My Trips" however, with some odd verbiage I hadn't seen before. The same thing happened with a trip I put on Hold last week. But everything went through OK when I went to purchase and the miles were deducted at that time.
cmtlatitudes is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: