SWU not shown as used...

Old Sep 17, 19, 7:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 342
SWU not shown as used...

Hypothetically, letís say you had a flight that was messed up due to delays, etc. so when you were upgraded it was ticketed as full fare Y and got eqd based on distance (so all messed up) . The SWU is still there (they didnít pull it) as they should have for the upgrade (yes they got upgraded).

What are the odds theu catch it and if they do, how long does it take for them to audit and find the error.

Last edited by chitink; Sep 17, 19 at 7:47 pm
chitink is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 8:06 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 6,822
Originally Posted by chitink View Post
Hypothetically, letís say you had a flight that was messed up due to delays, etc. so when you were upgraded it was ticketed as full fare Y and got eqd based on distance (so all messed up) . The SWU is still there (they didnít pull it) as they should have for the upgrade (yes they got upgraded).

What are the odds theu catch it and if they do, how long does it take for them to audit and find the error.
I would take a look at this thread, no activity in the past year or so but still a few data points on if/when/how AA audits SWU use.

AA SWU Clawback/ Audit Anomalies (consolidated)
chitink likes this.
JJeffrey is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 8:08 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 5,723
They'll get it eventually. I had a similar situation where they didnt pull the SWU. Sometime 2 months later, it got deducted.
Antarius is online now  
Old Sep 17, 19, 8:15 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 342
[delete

Last edited by chitink; Sep 17, 19 at 8:22 pm
chitink is offline  
Old Sep 17, 19, 11:03 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW/DAL
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus
Posts: 19,796
Originally Posted by chitink View Post
Hypothetically, letís say you had a flight that was messed up due to delays, etc. so when you were upgraded it was ticketed as full fare Y and got eqd based on distance (so all messed up) . The SWU is still there (they didnít pull it) as they should have for the upgrade (yes they got upgraded).

What are the odds theu catch it and if they do, how long does it take for them to audit and find the error.
You can always contact AA and get them to manually pull it, as I am sure you would have already called them if you didn't get upgraded and they had pulled an SWU
mvoight is offline  
Old Sep 18, 19, 3:49 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Roswell, GA
Programs: AA EXP 2.8m,Lifetime PLT, Hilton Diamond, IHG PlLT, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,524
I have had it happen a few times.. upgraded at the gate, maybe the GA did not have time to type in all the necessary info on my reservation, has the flight was almost ready to leave.
If I remember correctly, I dont think it ever got pulled.
One of the times, it was pulled a few weeks later, and the other.... not sure,
(sucks getting old, it hard to recall what happened a few years ago)
fotographer is online now  
Old Sep 18, 19, 7:59 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gatwick, UK
Programs: UA *G, AA EXP
Posts: 1,433
Be aware that if it is your last one and you use it in the mean time they will let you go -1 in the SWU count and the next time you earn some you'll lose one immediately.
SeattleDavid is offline  
Old Sep 18, 19, 8:10 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum Elite, AA Platinum Pro, Hertz Presidents
Posts: 1,213
Originally Posted by mvoight View Post
You can always contact AA and get them to manually pull it, as I am sure you would have already called them if you didn't get upgraded and they had pulled an SWU
Right! Because the airlines are wonderful actors at all times.
scottsam66 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: