Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

“This flight does not permit seat selection” AA tix & BA, IB seats

“This flight does not permit seat selection” AA tix & BA, IB seats

Old Sep 8, 19, 11:34 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southern Europe/USA
Posts: 558
Question “This flight does not permit seat selection” AA tix & BA, IB seats

AA booked Business award seats from Spain to US put me on IB and BA. Using the IB locator code given me by AA shows flights confirmed but won’t let me select seats, five days prior to departure. Any suggestions?
worldwidetraveler is offline  
Old Sep 8, 19, 11:41 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: AA Executive Platinum/Million Miler, Marriott Titanium Elite-Lifetime, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,322
What elite status do you have with AA, BA or IB? Even in J, BA won't let you select seats for free in advance unless you're on a full fare ticket or have certain oneworld elite status. Otherwise, you can pick a seat at check-in. See https://www.britishairways.com/en-gb...ving-your-seat.

But, you should be able to buy a seat selection if you want at britishairways.com with the BA record locator.
USFlyerUS is offline  
Old Sep 8, 19, 11:42 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Programs: The Airline Run by Doug P
Posts: 17,780
happened to me when I booked IB a few weeks ago ord-mad-prg.

I tweeted AA and they had selected my seats within 5 minutes. Further confirmation was seen by going onto IB.com and viewing my itinerary with the IB PNR.
aztimm likes this.
enviroian is offline  
Old Sep 8, 19, 2:45 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 14,239
Originally Posted by worldwidetraveler View Post
AA booked Business award seats from Spain to US put me on IB and BA.
Using the IB locator code given me by AA shows flights confirmed but won’t let me select seats, five days prior to departure.
Any suggestions?
Any of the flights with a BA flight number?
With BA you need mid tier status to select business class seat. Otherwise a fee to select a business class seat
Closer to departure (24 hrs?) seat selection becomes free

The AA forum BA seat thread:---->BA Seat Selection Issues for AA Flyers - charges, seating, award, etc.

Award flights booked AA.com - does BA charge for seat assignments and baggage?
Seat Reservations on BA Metal when booking award flight with AA miles?
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 1:36 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southern Europe/USA
Posts: 558
Thanks all for the feedback. First flight on the itinerary has an IB flight number, connecting to BA numbered flights.
At Iberia.com, couldn’t select seats either. Guess I’ll wait to the 24 hour mark for check in. Never had this problem selecting Business Class seats on other airlines!
worldwidetraveler is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:12 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: AMS
Programs: BAEC Gold, Flying Blue Peon, TK M&S Nobody
Posts: 655
Originally Posted by worldwidetraveler View Post
Thanks all for the feedback. First flight on the itinerary has an IB flight number, connecting to BA numbered flights.
At Iberia.com, couldn’t select seats either. Guess I’ll wait to the 24 hour mark for check in. Never had this problem selecting Business Class seats on other airlines!
I have a BA Avios booked trip coming up at the end of the month, and have found no way of selecting seats for IB online [even trying AY, RJ, QF sites which sometimes work]. I asked BA to do it on one call - that only seemed to stick for one flight, in the end my partner called IB and that seems to have stuck.

BA may have a different record locator to IB too [IB ones are five characters, BA six] and both are different to AA as they are all on different systems I believe. So you may need to root around some more to find the BA one if you don't already have it [sometimes the BA one will work for bringing up the itinerary on IB.com but for me at least never had any functionality to speak of].

Bottom line: if you're keen to select a seat due to availability/preferences you'll probably need to get on the blower.
nancypants likes this.
etiene is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 2:44 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Platinum & Ambassador
Posts: 10,660
Originally Posted by worldwidetraveler View Post
Thanks all for the feedback. First flight on the itinerary has an IB flight number, connecting to BA numbered flights.
At Iberia.com, couldn’t select seats either. Guess I’ll wait to the 24 hour mark for check in. Never had this problem selecting Business Class seats on other airlines!
who operates the flights though?

you can have an IB flight number on BA metal and vice versa. Ditto with AA flight numbers on BA metal.


if it’s BA operated then it’s either free if you have status or pay if you don’t or wait until OLCI and it
l be free.
if the
UKtravelbear is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 6:52 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southern Europe/USA
Posts: 558
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
happened to me when I booked IB a few weeks ago ord-mad-prg.

I tweeted AA and they had selected my seats within 5 minutes. Further confirmation was seen by going onto IB.com and viewing my itinerary with the IB PNR.
I followed your suggestion & tweeted AA. They were able to get a desired seat assignment on IB but could not help me with BA flights seat assignments. Said I should attempt BA seat assignments at the airport!
I will try again at 24 hour checkin.
wonder why AA and BA aren’t better coordinated? Especially when one is traveling “Business Class”.
worldwidetraveler is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 6:57 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: AA Executive Platinum/Million Miler, Marriott Titanium Elite-Lifetime, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,322
BA does not allow seat selection in advance, even in Business Class, unless you have certain oneworld elite status, buy a full-fare J ticket, or pay extra to reserve a seat. What elite status do you have?
USFlyerUS is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 6:57 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 39,954
If you are travelling on BA, then unless you either hold OW status or have a booking in J or C class, then , prior to check in, you need to pay for seat assignment in business class

Award bookings in business class book into U class, so are ineligible for complimentary seat assignment

Not a systems issue there, just a cash issue
USFlyerUS likes this.
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 7:17 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southern Europe/USA
Posts: 558
Originally Posted by USFlyerUS View Post
BA does not allow seat selection in advance, even in Business Class, unless you have certain oneworld elite status, buy a full-fare J ticket, or pay extra to reserve a seat. What elite status do you have?
Am a retiree, no longer have status on any airline! The “fees” when traveling thru the BA hub at LHR are very high when compared to other European hubs/airlines.
worldwidetraveler is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 7:35 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: AA Executive Platinum/Million Miler, Marriott Titanium Elite-Lifetime, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,322
Originally Posted by worldwidetraveler View Post
Am a retiree, no longer have status on any airline!
That's why then. It's a BA policy to not allow seat selection except under limited circumstances.
USFlyerUS is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 7:38 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Barcelona
Programs: Free Agent - Ex-AA EXP
Posts: 211
This is a known problem flying Iberia when it isn't booked directly thought IB. I has this problem a few weeks ago where I booked ORD to MAD on an AA codeshare. It gave me the same message. I'm EXP. I just couldn't select a seat. AA twitter couldn't help me. Luckily my connecting flight was delayed into ORD and got rerouted JFK to MAD. But IB has an awful system. Even the Finnair/RJ trick doesn't work sometimes.
SiempreBCNJFK is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 8:44 am
  #14  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 61,517
See

BA Seat Selection Issues for AA Flyers - charges, seating, award, etc.

and

Flying IB / Iberia: seat selection, finding & using PNR, etc. issues
JDiver is offline  
Old Sep 9, 19, 11:42 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: IAD
Programs: IHG Platinum, Marriott Lifetime Platinum, SPG Lifetime Gold, United Silver
Posts: 485
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
happened to me when I booked IB a few weeks ago ord-mad-prg.

I tweeted AA and they had selected my seats within 5 minutes. Further confirmation was seen by going onto IB.com and viewing my itinerary with the IB PNR.
How does one "tweet AA" in this scenario? Perhaps naive question, I just don't understand how to use twitter in this way. To be more specific, am I supposed to be logged into my own (twitter) account and mention American Airlines (e.g. @AmericanAir) or am I going to to the @AmericanAir twitter feed and posting there?
DarkHelmetII is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread