Your Flight Changed - Check Back Soon

Old Sep 6, 19, 9:57 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: YVR
Programs: AA
Posts: 493
Your Flight Changed - Check Back Soon

I popped in to my account a few days ago to select an MCE seat for a flight later in the year and there was a notice at the top. "Your flight changed. Check back soon to see what changed."

I can see what changed and have yet to receive an email about it and it seems it's currently in a status where I can't select a seat other than what was already selected. Every other seat on all segments are grayed out.

The return segment is one that I have purchased on the same day every year for the last few years and it has changed to a later departure down the road. So I was expecting this. (i book this with the lousy 6am departure knowing it will change for the good).

The question really is, how long does it stay in this status for? I've never noticed this in the past but it could be coincidence that I just happened to log in this time. Like I said, it's been 2-3 days since I've seen it like this, could have been like this for longer. Is this normal?
theshaun is offline  
Old Sep 6, 19, 10:59 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New York City
Programs: American Airlines Executive Platinum, Marriott Rewards Platinum Premier Elite
Posts: 1,520
Originally Posted by theshaun View Post
I popped in to my account a few days ago to select an MCE seat for a flight later in the year and there was a notice at the top. "Your flight changed. Check back soon to see what changed."

I can see what changed and have yet to receive an email about it and it seems it's currently in a status where I can't select a seat other than what was already selected. Every other seat on all segments are grayed out.

The return segment is one that I have purchased on the same day every year for the last few years and it has changed to a later departure down the road. So I was expecting this. (i book this with the lousy 6am departure knowing it will change for the good).

The question really is, how long does it stay in this status for? I've never noticed this in the past but it could be coincidence that I just happened to log in this time. Like I said, it's been 2-3 days since I've seen it like this, could have been like this for longer. Is this normal?
happens to me too, you can call AA, they can reissue the ticket and itíll fix it.
donotblink is offline  
Old Sep 7, 19, 12:54 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, SBUX Gold
Posts: 662
I have one of these that has been like this for weeks. Happened after a schedule change caused a MCT issue. I'm in no rush to get it fixed since I figure this is like a free change and I'm not sure what new flights I want yet.
econ is offline  
Old Sep 7, 19, 8:31 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MSN
Programs: AA, BAEC Silver
Posts: 3,506
The message is a bit odd because you can already see what changed but I have had a couple of trips in this state for a few weeks. I did get emails but I think the web status remains like that until you call and formally accept the change or an alternative. In my case the changes do not violate MCT, though one is excessively long, so I haven't done anything about them yet.
MADPhil is offline  
Old Sep 7, 19, 9:15 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: DCA/IAD/WAS
Programs: AGR S, SPG PLT, MAR PLT, HGP Explorist, AA EXP, UA 2P
Posts: 1,905
Just send a DM to the Twitter team with your desired flights and they will take care of it.
iadisgreat is online now  
Old Sep 7, 19, 12:35 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: YVR
Programs: AA
Posts: 493
It's odd to not have received an email yet isn't it? I've never had to call and accept changes, only to make changes after the fact for MCT.

In the case of this trip all 4 segments have had a change, the departure leg and subsequent connection are only 10-20 minute changes and I have no issues with them. The return and connection are several hours to my benefit (which I was expecting from past experience). I shouldn't have to call AA.
theshaun is offline  
Old Sep 7, 19, 12:59 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: DCA/IAD/WAS
Programs: AGR S, SPG PLT, MAR PLT, HGP Explorist, AA EXP, UA 2P
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by theshaun View Post
It's odd to not have received an email yet isn't it? I've never had to call and accept changes, only to make changes after the fact for MCT.

In the case of this trip all 4 segments have had a change, the departure leg and subsequent connection are only 10-20 minute changes and I have no issues with them. The return and connection are several hours to my benefit (which I was expecting from past experience). I shouldn't have to call AA.
I don't think you need to unless you have an issue. They'll eventually get to you.
iadisgreat is online now  
Old Feb 11, 20, 9:13 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: DFW - North Texas
Programs: AAdvantage Gold, Marriot Rewards Lifetime Platinum/2020 Titanium
Posts: 788
Originally Posted by donotblink View Post


happens to me too, you can call AA, they can reissue the ticket and itíll fix it.
Thanks DoNotBlink. Same situation on a DFW-LHR departure time change... Do they eventually reissue the ticket or do we have to call to get that done. Just trying to get seat selection opened back up for us. TIA
slpybear is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 9:47 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Programs: American EXP; British Airways Gold
Posts: 1,442
Originally Posted by slpybear View Post
Thanks DoNotBlink. Same situation on a DFW-LHR departure time change... Do they eventually reissue the ticket or do we have to call to get that done. Just trying to get seat selection opened back up for us. TIA
Call AA; have them "fix" it; pick your seats.
jcatman is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 9:47 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New York City
Programs: American Airlines Executive Platinum, Marriott Rewards Platinum Premier Elite
Posts: 1,520
Originally Posted by slpybear View Post
Thanks DoNotBlink. Same situation on a DFW-LHR departure time change... Do they eventually reissue the ticket or do we have to call to get that done. Just trying to get seat selection opened back up for us. TIA
Lately, I've noticed the mobile app allows seat changes even when the website doesn't. Give that a try. I'm not sure if they automatically reissue or not, it depends on what type of change was made, if the change impacts connecting airports, they will reissue, but if it's just the time, they won't.
donotblink is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 9:56 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Programs: Lowly kettle across AAdvantage, DL, Hyatt, ATK, IHG, Bonvoy.
Posts: 580
Yeah, all my upcoming May flights have changes. Nothing significant, except for the one trip which I got the official change notice. This is round 2 of changes for it. I have been able to change seats via the Android app on one that says "check back later". They put me in 4 with the change, and I moved to 2 just in case the plane goes to a 319.
iplaybass is offline  
Old Feb 12, 20, 10:07 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: DFW - North Texas
Programs: AAdvantage Gold, Marriot Rewards Lifetime Platinum/2020 Titanium
Posts: 788
Originally Posted by donotblink View Post
Lately, I've noticed the mobile app allows seat changes even when the website doesn't. Give that a try. I'm not sure if they automatically reissue or not, it depends on what type of change was made, if the change impacts connecting airports, they will reissue, but if it's just the time, they won't.
Just a quick update: my late-May DFW-LHR flight departure moved up 25 minutes earlier. Nothing else changed apparently. After a day and half, the seat map opened back up and everything was still the same.
slpybear is offline  
Old Feb 12, 20, 6:50 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Programs: Lowly kettle across AAdvantage, DL, Hyatt, ATK, IHG, Bonvoy.
Posts: 580
Originally Posted by iplaybass View Post
Yeah, all my upcoming May flights have changes. Nothing significant, except for the one trip which I got the official change notice. This is round 2 of changes for it. I have been able to change seats via the Android app on one that says "check back later". They put me in 4 with the change, and I moved to 2 just in case the plane goes to a 319.
Update: I called AA to fix the flight that didn't work, and got an amazing rep. Not only did she fix my problem flight, but when I told her all my May flights were showing as changed, she went through all of them, verified the changes would work, right down to the seat assignments. Took 40 minutes. The changes showed up in the app after that. No more "check back later".
iplaybass is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: