Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

AA945/940 DFW-SCL Price (Jan 2020) unusually high!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

AA945/940 DFW-SCL Price (Jan 2020) unusually high!

Search this Thread

Old Aug 26, 2019, 11:34 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP
Unhappy AA945/940 DFW-SCL Price (Jan 2020) unusually high!

I've been flying DFW-SCL the first two weeks of January since 2007. The least I've paid for business is about $2600 and the most I've paid was $4960 this past January. Currently, for the flights I need (Jan 2/Jan 11), the price is just under $8000!! I'm wondering if the price is perhaps so high because the flight is over 4 months away. Is it possible/probable that the price could come down in the intervening months? Opinions welcome.
Old Aug 26, 2019, 11:40 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Originally Posted by FrogProf
I've been flying DFW-SCL the first two weeks of January since 2007. The least I've paid for business is about $2600 and the most I've paid was $4960 this past January. Currently, for the flights I need (Jan 2/Jan 11), the price is just under $8000!! I'm wondering if the price is perhaps so high because the flight is over 4 months away. Is it possible/probable that the price could come down in the intervening months? Opinions welcome.
Of course the price could and probably will come down, January still is 5 months away. Booking anything that far out is usually a recipe for paying more. The only thing I would be mindful of is that many of the discounted business class fares require 60 day advance purchase. So just keep an eye on it.
Old Aug 26, 2019, 11:46 am

One thing to keep in mind is this route is now run on a 787-8 when flying direct. Only 20 J seats on that plane. I'm not so sure prices will be coming down?
Old Aug 26, 2019, 11:50 am

Programs: AA EXP, AA MM, Hilton Honors Diamond
Originally Posted by FrogProf