Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

What to do? Missed flight because AA app displayed wrong gate.

What to do? Missed flight because AA app displayed wrong gate.

Reply

Old May 25, 19, 4:04 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Angry What to do? Missed flight because AA app displayed wrong gate.

check the monitors. Feel like an idiot - I've flown way too much to have let this happen. Was sitting at the wrong gate for 2 hours and it dawned on me that there was hardly anyone there and the monitor didn't display departure info. Ran to the monitor, the real departing gate was in a different terminal entirely and doors were closing in 15 minutes. Needless to say I didn't make it.

Lesson learned - don't depend on crappy airline apps.

Anyway, I'm stuck now at SFO. I got a standby pass for a 10pm flight with final arrival tomorrow morning. Which is fine... But the 10pm flight is already filled. Should I even bother to try?

I was tempted to buy a 1 one same day to my final destination, but I think my original return ticket will get cancelled. A full new roundtrip is over $1000 now for this holiday weekend.

What should I do? Try to get lucky with the standby flight? Cough up the grand for a new flight on a different airline?
fnord77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 19, 4:43 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SJC
Programs: UA Gold, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, IHG Platinum, National EE
Posts: 3,552
What is your destination? Can you get there from OAK or SJC?

If you already have a return ticket, definitely don't buy another roundtrip. Just confirm with AA that you'll find your own way to your destination so the return ticket isn't cancelled.
davie355 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 19, 4:52 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by davie355 View Post
If you already have a return ticket, definitely don't buy another roundtrip. Just confirm with AA that you'll find your own way to your destination so the return ticket isn't cancelled.
I've heard there's no guarantee they wont' do that even if you confirm with them
fnord77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 19, 5:16 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 13,736
Originally Posted by fnord77 View Post
check the monitors. Feel like an idiot - I've flown way too much to have let this happen. Was sitting at the wrong gate for 2 hours and it dawned on me that there was hardly anyone there and the monitor didn't display departure info. Ran to the monitor, the real departing gate was in a different terminal entirely and doors were closing in 15 minutes. Needless to say I didn't make it.

Lesson learned - don't depend on crappy airline apps.

Anyway, I'm stuck now at SFO. I got a standby pass for a 10pm flight with final arrival tomorrow morning. Which is fine... But the 10pm flight is already filled. Should I even bother to try?

I was tempted to buy a 1 one same day to my final destination, but I think my original return ticket will get cancelled. A full new roundtrip is over $1000 now for this holiday weekend.

What should I do? Try to get lucky with the standby flight? Cough up the grand for a new flight on a different airline?
Originally Posted by fnord77 View Post
I've heard there's no guarantee they wont' do that even if you confirm with them
Are you talking to AA now at the airport?
The longer you leave it the less chance you have of salvaging something.
If AA have put you on standby for a later flight, you some chance. Some people may no show for that flight. (wonder why or how that could happen )
Mwenenzi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 19, 5:20 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
Are you talking to AA now at the airport?
The longer you leave it the less chance you have of salvaging something.
If AA have put you on standby for a later flight, you some chance. Some people may no show for that flight. (wonder why or how that could happen )
Yeah, AA has me on standby for a 10pm flight. I'm also going to hedge by booking an 11pm one way flight with united. Amex will let me cancel free within 24 hours (just verified this scenario on the phone with them, cancelling an hour before a flight - seems bonkers but the lady said it was fine).

What could go wrong?
fnord77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 19, 5:23 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 13,736
Originally Posted by fnord77 View Post
What could go wrong?
If you have a return flight with AA that may auto cancel. Check - confirm with AA before you leave the airport
Airline staff at airports seem to have more latitude/flexibility than airline phone operators
fnord77 likes this.
Mwenenzi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 12:57 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator, Information Desk, Ambassador, Alaska Airlines
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ANC, MRI
Programs: AS MVP Gold75K, AS 1MM, Maika`i Card, AGR, HH Gold, Hertz PC, Marriott LTG, SPG Gold, CO, 7H, BA, 8E
Posts: 41,051
Welcome to Flyertalk @fnord77. Please follow the redirect as we send this to our AA forum.

Good luck

~beckoa, co-moderator Information Desk
beckoa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 6:14 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: AA Executive Platinum/Million Miler, Marriott Titanium Elite-Lifetime, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,158
Just curious, had you refreshed the data in the AA app? The data is cached and doesn't always update automatically, so I always "pull down" the screen to force a refresh. You'll notice in the app it shows the last time the data was updated.
wrp96, robertablake, Gerbs and 5 others like this.
USFlyerUS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 7:29 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 169
On most screens the app shows how long ago it was updated. But I always manually refresh the screen to be on the safer side
flyer0123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 9:11 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southern California
Programs: WN A+, AA GLD, UA Silver, MR Titanium, Hilton Silver, Avis Preferred, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,905
AA does have the texting service for such change and there are free services like Kayak Trips which also can send text notifications. I believe TripIt only officially offers it in the paid Pro service.

After you have been burned once, you should get ones of these options activated if your app isn't catching the changes.
rasheed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 10:13 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: American Airlines ExecPlat, Asiana Diamond, AirEuropa Gold
Posts: 58
Originally Posted by USFlyerUS View Post
Just curious, had you refreshed the data in the AA app? The data is cached and doesn't always update automatically, so I always "pull down" the screen to force a refresh. You'll notice in the app it shows the last time the data was updated.
This, always refresh your app before heading to the gate just in case. The OP definitely forgot to do that and was relying on the cached version/what was on the mobile boarding pass upon checkin.
Rukes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 10:19 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Programs: AA-EXP
Posts: 226
I have always found the app to be accurate with gate changes (with manual refreshes), but i also usually get texts from AA for any gate change. However, I ALWAYS double check the boards at the AC because I don't trust AA's IT team.
Uzzar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 10:40 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: AA LT Gold
Posts: 2,530
Originally Posted by rasheed View Post
AA does have the texting service for such change and there are free services like Kayak Trips which also can send text notifications. I believe TripIt only officially offers it in the paid Pro service.

After you have been burned once, you should get ones of these options activated if your app isn't catching the changes.
The AA app or AA texts plus looking at the monitors at the airport is sufficient.
Heck ! no apps and just the monitors works too. Or (gasp) talk to a person (AA agent ) to confirm.
carlosdca is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 10:53 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador
Posts: 4,773
This happened to me at DFW a year ago. App showed the wrong gate, missed the flight.

Now I also check the monitors.
wrp96 likes this.
Antarius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 19, 11:47 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DCA
Posts: 6,210
I am usually a strong opponent of anything resembling victim blaming here on FT, but...I guess today I learned that there are people who, once arriving at their gate, donít check for things like, uh, a gate agent, other passengers, and a plane. Interesting.
arlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread