Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Did i ask for anything unreasonable. (upgraded in error, original seat unavail)

Did i ask for anything unreasonable. (upgraded in error, original seat unavail)

Old Mar 6, 19, 5:29 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AA EXP, United Silver
Posts: 170
Did i ask for anything unreasonable. (upgraded in error, original seat unavail)

I was flying sea to mia in a exit row aisle and i was upgraded at the gate. Shortly before boarding the agent said she gave me my upgrade in error the only seat left was a middle seat i asked for the same seat or equivalent. She refused saying either take that seat or dont fly today. Was i wrong in asking for a equivalent seat?
Daniel Solis is offline  
Old Mar 6, 19, 5:42 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 6,418
What does "upgrade in error mean"
Antarius is online now  
Old Mar 6, 19, 5:48 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYZ/MGA
Programs: AA 1MM Lifetime Gold, AA Platinum, WS Gold, Marriott Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 7,601
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
What does "upgrade in error mean"
A Mr. Saniel Dolis actually got the upgrade.
strickerj likes this.
ricktoronto is offline  
Old Mar 6, 19, 5:59 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AA EXP, United Silver
Posts: 170
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
What does "upgrade in error mean"
someone was added to the upgrade list after i cleared that was higher than me.
Daniel Solis is offline  
Old Mar 6, 19, 6:02 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: JFK/LGA
Programs: AA Plt Pro/5 MM, BA Blue Bayou, HH LT Diamond
Posts: 5,207
Originally Posted by ricktoronto View Post
A Mr. Saniel Dolis actually got the upgrade.
I was thinking it was Danielonn.
Antarius likes this.
pauleeepaul is offline  
Old Mar 6, 19, 6:21 pm
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,270
It was perfectly reasonable to ask. If there had been something equivalent available, asking would have likely meant receiving.

But, as you found out, neither AA nor any carrier I know of will rearrange the Y cabin when something happens. It's unpleasant, but it's the way it is.
Often1 is online now  
Old Mar 6, 19, 6:27 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: ORD, SZX, HKG
Programs: AA EXP, CX GR, AS MVP GLD
Posts: 541
You were asking for something reasonable. However, they don't have that kind of seats available. Very pathetic that while you are an EXP flying Main Cabin, you are no different than a non-status flying Basic Economy (by the way probably a BE pax clear into your original seat).
shd9 is offline  
Old Mar 6, 19, 7:48 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dallas/Orlando
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 2,633
Hmm... so OP has to be inconvenienced after AA’s error but pax B who was moved to OP’s seat doesn’t??

OP I would contact AA and let them know of their mistake. Sure, errors happen, but if they can explain it to you then they can explain it to “pax B” IMHO.
Spiff, jordyn, ebuck and 7 others like this.
tismfu is offline  
Old Mar 6, 19, 8:01 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 6,418
AA needs to sort out this upgrade list. 2 days ago, I did SDFC and the app said I was requested for a UG on the earlier flight. Turns out I wasn't and 3 pax cleared. I inquired to be added and the GA said its full and blew me off.

Full on mickey mouse club these days at AA.
Antarius is online now  
Old Mar 6, 19, 8:41 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: DFW
Posts: 262
Policy is that once the upgrade list is processed, upgrades are not taken away from those already cleared. I once had a very disappointed (but ultimately understanding) conciergekey that had a specific premium services representative explain this rule to him when he was rebooked last minute onto a flight, showed as #1 on the list, and still didn't get the upgrade.

OP, I would write in and explain the circumstances as clearly as possible. I fully expect some miles or other gesture for the error.
standbyalldtime is online now  
Old Mar 7, 19, 4:19 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Roswell, GA
Programs: AA EXP 2.8m,Lifetime PLT, Hilton Diamond, IHG PlLT, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,813
Dont let AA get away with this.. asking for your original seat is not unreasonable., AA needs to be understanding of your circumstance.. (they probably wont)
Is it me, or do we now have AA agents , just not bothered to even show that they might care?
Spiff, HMPS and chitink like this.
fotographer is offline  
Old Mar 7, 19, 4:48 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PHL & PSA/BLQ
Programs: AA PPRO, Marriott/Hilton Gold, AMX-Plat, Global Entry
Posts: 2,635
Nothing like compounding a problem - following up one error with another.
JMN57 is offline  
Old Mar 7, 19, 5:31 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AAdvantage PP
Posts: 13,466
It seems to me that the upgrade list should be closed out at T-45. From my experience GAs begin to clear upgrades at around T-40. If the list was closed then there wouldn't be a situation like this.
MiamiAirport Formerly NY George is offline  
Old Mar 7, 19, 5:52 am
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,270
Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge View Post
It seems to me that the upgrade list should be closed out at T-45. From my experience GAs begin to clear upgrades at around T-40. If the list was closed then there wouldn't be a situation like this.
Why on earth should that happen?

That inconveniences some of AA's highest-paying passengers for the benefit of people booking the cheapest seat.
HMPS and jjmoore like this.
Often1 is online now  
Old Mar 7, 19, 6:27 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: DCA/IAD/WAS
Programs: MAR AMB, WOH Explorist, AA EXP, UA 2P
Posts: 1,992
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
AA needs to sort out this upgrade list. 2 days ago, I did SDFC and the app said I was requested for a UG on the earlier flight. Turns out I wasn't and 3 pax cleared. I inquired to be added and the GA said its full and blew me off.

Full on mickey mouse club these days at AA.
It does keep you on the list prior to gate, in my experience. Hit or miss for me to get back on the gate list automatically. A DM to Twitter if you're checked in or a trip to the kiosk when you get to the airport will fix it for the gate. Shouldn't have to happen, but I have also learned the hard way.
Antarius likes this.
iadisgreat is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: