Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

ARCHIVE: 2016 Sticker" / 500-mile & EXP "UDU" Complimentary Upgrade Policy / FAQ

ARCHIVE: 2016 Sticker" / 500-mile & EXP "UDU" Complimentary Upgrade Policy / FAQ

Old Jul 21, 16, 7:18 am
  #421  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Programs: Marriott Platinum, HH Diamond, US Plat, UA Silver
Posts: 68
I am so frustrated. I just had 5 stickers removed from my account on a day I didn't fly. When I called, I was told that my account was adjusted due to an audit that AA completed. Agent said they didn't reduce stickers from a flight in January, and another flight from last year.

According to the agent, they had a glitch where they were failing to reduce stickers for certain flights. I have no idea if these are legit or not, and I have no way to question this. Agent said they are doing this going back as far as 2 years to correct.

Agent, who was rude and condescending to me, made me even more pissed off. Sure doesn't seem reasonable to charge a customer for their mistake after this much time.

Last edited by Cooper21; Jul 21, 16 at 7:55 am
Cooper21 is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 2:34 pm
  #422  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 67
Upgrades

I have a general question about upgrades. On a flight that would require 2 of the 500 mile upgrades....if no one requests upgrades on the flight, would they them upgrade based on status for free, meaning you won't use 2 of your 500 mile upgrades?
machong is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 2:38 pm
  #423  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Programs: AAdvantage, Hilton
Posts: 3,191
Originally Posted by machong View Post
I have a general question about upgrades. On a flight that would require 2 of the 500 mile upgrades....if no one requests upgrades on the flight, would they them upgrade based on status for free, meaning you won't use 2 of your 500 mile upgrades?
Only if the flight is oversold and they need to move coach passengers into First. In this scenario, Elites would be moved before non-status passengers. But lazy GAs might also dump non-elites without seat assignments into those empty seats just to make their lives easier.
sukn is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 2:40 pm
  #424  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 649
In general no. On MD80's from MSY-DFW, have seen open seats in F.

Free upgrades are likely if economy is oversold.

Sometimes asking if the flight is oversold and in need of volunteers will get a couple of complimentary upgrades.
bucketlist is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 2:41 pm
  #425  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wanting First. Buying First.
Programs: Lifetime Executive Diamond Platinum VIP with Braniff, Eastern, Midway, National & Pan Am
Posts: 8,154
Originally Posted by sukn View Post
Only if the flight is oversold and they need to move coach passengers into First. In this scenario, Elites would be moved before non-status passengers. But lazy GAs might also dump non-elites without seat assignments into those empty seats just to make their lives easier.
And lazy or incompetent GAs might also do it incorrectly whereby UG "stickers" still wind up being deducted from the account of the Op-Up'd pax who didn't want to pay for an UG on that particular flight.

I've had it happen.
Herb687 is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 2:42 pm
  #426  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 67
Thank you both for answering my question.
machong is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 7:35 pm
  #427  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 10
Buying upgrades: confused.

Is it true that if you request upgrades with 500-mile upgrades that you bought, and they don't go through, they count as being used and are not refunded? Thanks for any clarification!
abaa is offline  
Old Jul 21, 16, 7:38 pm
  #428  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: UA 1K, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,730
Originally Posted by abaa View Post
Is it true that if you request upgrades with 500-mile upgrades that you bought, and they don't go through, they count as being used and are not refunded? Thanks for any clarification!
You will not be refunded the amount you paid for the upgrades, but they also won't count as "used," in that you'll keep the paid/purchased upgrades and be able to use them on subsequent flights.
dkc192 is online now  
Old Jul 21, 16, 7:40 pm
  #429  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by dkc192 View Post
You will not be refunded the amount you paid for the upgrades, but they also won't count as "used," in that you'll keep the paid/purchased upgrades and be able to use them on subsequent flights.
Wonderful, thanks very much!
abaa is offline  
Old Jul 26, 16, 7:23 pm
  #430  
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Programs: AA EXP; Marriott Lifetime / Annual Titanium; Massively Missing Starwood
Posts: 5,074
Originally Posted by dingo View Post
I read the wiki and didn't see this answered.

Me: EP
Comp 1: Gold
Comp 2: Gold

I have a flight of around 900 miles.

I spoke EP service and was told I could only upgrade one of my companions and myself, and that doing so in advance would burn 2 500 mile upgrades for me, and 2 for my one companion.

Then she said something about an airport upgrade and I got confused.

What are my options to get all three of us upgraded, assuming I don't want to use a system wide? I'd like to use my stickers if I can.
Sorry to quote myself; still confused. I've always been EP or Chairmans w/ US so I'm not clear on using the stickers.

Is my only choice, if I want to use the stickers, to do so at the airport? Is there some sort of upgrade window?

My upgrade won't clear at the window b/c of the companions; I get that. Can I use stickers for both my wife and daughter?
dingo is offline  
Old Jul 26, 16, 7:39 pm
  #431  
stc
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newton Centre, MA, USA
Programs: DL 2MM Gold, AA Plat Pro; Hilton Lifetime Diamond, Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium (via SPG), IHG Plat
Posts: 2,172
Originally Posted by dingo View Post
Sorry to quote myself; still confused. I've always been EP or Chairmans w/ US so I'm not clear on using the stickers.

Is my only choice, if I want to use the stickers, to do so at the airport? Is there some sort of upgrade window?

My upgrade won't clear at the window b/c of the companions; I get that. Can I use stickers for both my wife and daughter?
You are EP, so it shouldn't cost you any stickers. It would cost 2 stickers for anyone who is not EP.

I don't know if you really can only upgrade 1 person. I've never tried to upgrade more than one.

What I would do is login to my AA account and look at the reservation. Down the bottom there should be a check box to "request an upgrade". If it is there, check it. If it isn't there, call and ask to have everyone upgraded. If they say you can only upgrade one, ask to "split the record" to remove someone (your wife). If that doesn't work HUCA (hang up, call again).

You might wind up sitting in coach with your wife and daughter in FC. I.E. if I got two people upgraded, I'd be sure to give the seats to the wife and daughter - once you board there generally isn't a problem with that sort of seat switching before takeoff even after 9/11.

Finally, it is impossible to tell when the upgrades would clear. As Plat, I have sometimes had upgrades clear a week out. It all depends. If the flight is oversold in coach and empty in FC, American has done that. However, if it is a popular business travel route, the upgrades might not clear until at the gate if at all (especially for Golds).

I hope this helps. Good luck.

Last edited by stc; Jul 26, 16 at 7:41 pm Reason: tried to fix some typos
stc is offline  
Old Jul 27, 16, 5:12 am
  #432  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: BA Gold, UA Premier Platinum, Bonvoy Platinum, OnBusiness, Eurostar C.Blanche
Posts: 90
First Timer

Hey guys,

I recently reached Platinum with AA and have amassed a few 500 mile upgrades of which I am planning to use 4 on my upcoming DFW-BOS trip.

-I requested the upgrade while booking the ticket a few months back,
-I have enough upgrades to cover the needed amount,
-it is less than 72 hrs before departure
-and despite Expertflyer still showing 6 award upgrade seats available, I have not been upgraded yet.... despite the 72 hrs window for Platinums.

Does this usually mean that AA has not processed the list yet?
Or that other status holders have been processed ahead of me, etc?

What is your experience?
Turboprince is offline  
Old Jul 27, 16, 6:05 am
  #433  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: DCA/IAD/WAS
Programs: MAR AMB, WOH Explorist, AA EXP, UA 2P
Posts: 1,981
Originally Posted by superexistant View Post
Hey guys,

I recently reached Platinum with AA and have amassed a few 500 mile upgrades of which I am planning to use 4 on my upcoming DFW-BOS trip.

-I requested the upgrade while booking the ticket a few months back,
-I have enough upgrades to cover the needed amount,
-it is less than 72 hrs before departure
-and despite Expertflyer still showing 6 award upgrade seats available, I have not been upgraded yet.... despite the 72 hrs window for Platinums.

Does this usually mean that AA has not processed the list yet?
Or that other status holders have been processed ahead of me, etc?

What is your experience?
Expertflyer does not show 500 mile upgrade availability. You are seeing SWU/Miles+co-pay/revenue A availability.

The 72 hours is the the EARLIEST you can be upgraded, not the guaranteed upgrade time.
iadisgreat is online now  
Old Jul 27, 16, 6:14 am
  #434  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: AA - Platinum; 1W Sapphire; HHonors Gold; UA dirt
Posts: 5,894
Depending on time of day and day of week, I've found DFW-BOS to be a tough nut to crack as a Plat. 0% success on that route for me.
IADCAflyer is online now  
Old Jul 27, 16, 7:11 am
  #435  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: BA Gold, UA Premier Platinum, Bonvoy Platinum, OnBusiness, Eurostar C.Blanche
Posts: 90
Originally Posted by iadisgreat View Post
Expertflyer does not show 500 mile upgrade availability. You are seeing SWU/Miles+co-pay/revenue A availability.

The 72 hours is the the EARLIEST you can be upgraded, not the guaranteed upgrade time.
Gotcha! Thank you for the clarification!
Turboprince is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: