FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   American Airlines | AAdvantage (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage-733/)
-   -   ARCHIVE: NEWBIE LOUNGE 2019: Ask "Newbie" AA Questions Here (flame free) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage/1948542-archive-newbie-lounge-2019-ask-newbie-aa-questions-here-flame-free.html)

mkswoerner Oct 17, 19 9:15 am

Hey Guys and Gals!

Absolute Beginners Question(s), as I am hardly an expert when it comes to any type of loyalty program.

I recently purchased Basic Economy Tickets on AA from JFK to Barcelona, flying out in late November, with the flight being operated by British Airways on a 747 (woohoo!). Shortly after making this purchase, I was surprised to find an E-mail in my inbox from AA, offering me a trial of Platinum Pro for the remainder of 2019. Of course I accepted, it felt almost like Christmas came early.

Again, as I have little knowledge on the Benefits of this membership, I have a couple of Questions:

1. I understand that Platinum Pro on AA should also allow me to check-in via the premium check-in counters, correct?

2. I also understand that I shouldn't expect any kind of special treatment on the flight itself, as I purchased a Basic Economy Ticket.

3. Most importantly, would I (and my Fiancee) have access to the British Airways Lounge in Terminal 7 at JFK, and if needed, at Heathrow during our layover?

4. Are there any other cool benefits I could grab with the Platinum Prop membership?

Thanks all!

JJeffrey Oct 17, 19 9:55 am

Originally Posted by mkswoerner (Post 31638314)
Hey Guys and Gals!

Absolute Beginners Question(s), as I am hardly an expert when it comes to any type of loyalty program.