FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   American Airlines | AAdvantage (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage-733/)
-   -   ARCHIVE: NEWBIE LOUNGE 2019: Ask "Newbie" AA Questions Here (flame free) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage/1948542-archive-newbie-lounge-2019-ask-newbie-aa-questions-here-flame-free.html)

JJeffrey Oct 3, 19 3:38 pm

Originally Posted by joe_miami (Post 31591063)
I'm not an AA newbie but this is a first-time problem for me. I have a ~19,000-mile trip on Finnair in J coming up that I'm crediting to AA. I believe I'll be about $150 EQD short of ExPlat when the trip is over (definitely not short of EQM), but I can't find the exact earnings anywhere in the AY booking, and I'd like to know my exact EQD need so I can book my next (and possibly last 2019) flight. Is this info. buried somewhere at AA or AY? If not, would AA be able to tell me if I call in? Thanks.

The AY booking of course is not going to tell you your EQD earning when crediting to AA, and calling AA or AY will get you nowhere so don't even waste your time. You have to calculate it manually:

1) Plug your exact routing into Great Circle Mapper to get the total distance
2) Pull up your AY reservation and get the exact booking code of the flights
3) Bounce these two figures against the AY Earning Chart at aa.com to see how many EQDs you should earn

This is the only way to do it, the GC Mapper distances may not be exactly what you'll see but it will be close enough for this exercise.

For example, if you are booked in an "I" fare, which earns 25% EQD, then a 19,000 mile itinerary would earn 19000 x 25% = $4750 EQD.

joe_miami Oct 3, 19 3:40 pm

Thanks. I'm a first-timer on AY and was surprised to see no earnings listed anywhere in the booking.

I did the above and came out exactly $100 EQD short.

tcfersure Oct 3, 19 4:27 pm