Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Ear bud two prong adaptor needed on 787-8 / 788?

Ear bud two prong adaptor needed on 787-8 / 788?

Old Apr 21, 18, 7:34 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Programs: ba executive, AA advantage,
Posts: 52
Ear bud two prong adaptor needed on 787-8 / 788?

We will be flying to Dublin out of ORD on a 787-800 in Business. I under stand they pick up their head sets about a hour before landing. If we are watching a movie, will we need a adaptor to pug in our own ear buds with a regular one pin jack?

Thanks. This will be our first time on a 787.
dm6214 is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 7:40 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: DFW/PHL
Programs: US CP, UA *G; SPG Plat, Hilton Gold; Natl Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 612
It "works" without an adapter. AA uses a 3 prong connection with the headsets, though one prong is for power. If you plug your ear bud without adapter into one of the prongs directly, you will get the left or right channel. If you use a two prong adapter, you can get both channels. The FA may be able to give you the 2 prong adapter (I've been proactively offered it on one flight), but it's probably not worth the effort.
flightrisk is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 8:05 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ORD
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 449
The 788 for AA has a single prong slot for headphones. No adaptor is needed.
AlwaysSunnyInORD is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 5:08 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Chicago, IL
Programs: AA ExPlat, Delta GM, Hilton Honors Diamond, Marriott Titanium Elite, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 140
Originally Posted by AlwaysSunnyInORD View Post
The 788 for AA has a single prong slot for headphones. No adaptor is needed.
Can confirm. Mrs. dantheflyingman and I just flew ORD-LHR and FCO-ORD in J on the 788. There will be two plugs for headphones (down near your knee). One is the aforementioned triple plug for the AA-distributed headphones. The other is a single plug for normal headphones.

Do be sure to grab the headphone covers out of your amenity kit, though - for comfort and cleanliness!
dantheflyingman is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 6:25 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: BNA and FLL
Programs: AA Gold, National Executive Elite, IHG Platinum, Hilton Gold, SW A List
Posts: 771
How about on the 772 with the super diamond seats?

Does that have a single plug where I can plug in my earbuds?
MSP_Monopoly is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 7:55 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ORD
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 449
Originally Posted by MSP_Monopoly View Post
How about on the 772 with the super diamond seats?

Does that have a single plug where I can plug in my earbuds?
No single plug on the 772 with super diamond seats. Just flew it last week.
AlwaysSunnyInORD is offline  
Old Apr 21, 18, 9:13 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,108
Always a good idea to have a couple two-prong adapters in your carry-on, just in case. You can get a 3 pack off amazon for about $6. I keep some in my backpack all the time, just to be safe.
asf-07 likes this.
thunderlounge is offline  
Old Apr 22, 18, 12:16 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 6,464
Originally Posted by MSP_Monopoly View Post
How about on the 772 with the super diamond seats?

Does that have a single plug where I can plug in my earbuds?
It has a 3 prong plug, but when I flew on it last week, I was able to get audio out of both ears by plugging it into one of the 3 prongs (which I was surprised by).

I agree with thunderlounge - worth getting a 2 pronger just in case.
Antarius is online now  
Old Apr 22, 18, 11:58 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AZ
Programs: AA EXP; (HP-FF>US DM - RIP);Marriott Lifetime Plat and a bunch of others
Posts: 74
Originally Posted by thunderlounge View Post
Always a good idea to have a couple two-prong adapters in your carry-on, just in case. You can get a 3 pack off amazon for about $6. I keep some in my backpack all the time, just to be safe.
Thanks for the heads-up. Just ordered to use with my QC20's (in case I need the adapter)
talkandfly is offline  
Old Apr 23, 18, 6:26 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,108
Whatever you keep your bose in, throw a couple in there or you carry-on you put them in. Helps immensely. I also keep spare phone/tablet cords and chargers as well as a small bottle of excedrin migraine.
talkandfly likes this.
thunderlounge is offline  
Old Apr 23, 18, 7:46 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Programs: ba executive, AA advantage,
Posts: 52
Thanks everyone.
dm6214 is offline  
Old Apr 24, 18, 11:38 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PHX, SEA
Programs: DL Silver, Avis President's Club, Hertz President's Circle, Global Entry (Former AA Plt/Gold)
Posts: 4,124
FYI, when the picked up my headphones, I was offered ear buds. I preferred to use my own Bose for the last 40 minutes (with the adapter, 789), but if you don't want to pack yours on a trip for two short periods of time taking the ones from the FA are another option.
dm6214 likes this.
Gig103 is offline  
Old Apr 24, 18, 11:57 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,123
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
It has a 3 prong plug, but when I flew on it last week, I was able to get audio out of both ears by plugging it into one of the 3 prongs (which I was surprised by).
But was it stereo, or the same thing in both ears?
SeeBuyFly is offline  
Old Apr 24, 18, 3:13 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 189
Originally Posted by dm6214 View Post
We will be flying to Dublin out of ORD on a 787-800 in Business. I under stand they pick up their head sets about a hour before landing. If we are watching a movie, will we need a adaptor to pug in our own ear buds with a regular one pin jack?

Thanks. This will be our first time on a 787.
Go to the Bose store, or Amazon, and buy an airline audio adapter. I bought the Bose one because I was near the outlet, and at the time the Amazon ones didn't have good reviews. Either way, then you are covered.
ibmman69 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: