AA Executive Platinum Check-In @ LAX

Old Jan 6, 18, 3:23 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, Ca., USA
Programs: AA Plat Pro; Bonvoy Titanium Lifetime Elite;Hyatt Globalist; HHonors Diamond; United Silver
Posts: 6,398
Does that mean the ExPlats can't use Business Class check in? That's what I've always done, but I haven't had to go to the counter in a couple of months as I'm either carrying on or using a skycap.
beachfan is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 4:49 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NYC
Programs: AA, Marriott
Posts: 62
Have had the same thing happen a few times at JFK when the kiosks and mobile app wouldn't let me check in. The one Priority line was often slower than the main line with fewer counter agents, just one or two agents (rumor was someone didn't show up for work), and with the 1.5 hour wait just to talk to a person, I nearly missed my flight each time. People in the line were always extremely upset that one time-consuming issue upfront could hold up an entire line of elites. And it didn't help that employees would try to block people from entering the line and steer us to the kiosks even though it was obvious those weren't doing the trick... why else would we voluntarily wait an hour in line?

These IT issues have always been on international flights for me, probably cause of a SWU that didn't get applied quite right, so I'm excited that Flagship Check-In is open to EPs now to save me next time.
Wayne Kao is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 5:06 pm
  #18  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 127
Originally Posted by Pickles View Post
I was at LAX yesterday, I think the OP is correct. There used to be a Flagship/EXP type of check-in area, by the TSA Pre-Check entrance escalator at T4. That's gone, now it's one big premium area, where they make you print out your own luggage tags. In other better news, the QF F lounge remains outstanding, and we have to thank that new airside connector between TBIT and T4 as a major gain.

I guess the Flagship Check-in in LAX is there, but that doesn't work for LAX-BOS even if you're flying the A321T 3-class.
So is there a Flagship check-in at LAX still or not? I wasn't aware that EXPs were allowed to use a Flagship check in for international itineraries if not in F, but that's great news if so. Just goes to show that AA does a terrible job at keeping EXPs regularly informed of what the latest benefits and policies are, because they think of us all like corn or wheat -- we are all nothing but a giant commodity to AA management.
AADFW is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 5:18 pm
  #19  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 48,780
The problem isn't segmenting below CK's, it is about having enough kiosks and people to handle the load. At a small station, if there are two counter agents and both are tied up with a complex mess, there really isn't much to be done. But, at major stations, AA has a good experiential idea of how many people it needs to keep the line moving. It is simply a matter of staffing.
Often1 is online now  
Old Jan 6, 18, 5:28 pm
  #20  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,313
JFK did this about a year ago. There used to be one premium area (ignoring Flagship Check-In) with separate Emerald/FC and Sapphire/Business desks, then when premium check-in moved to be adjacent to Flagship Check-In everyone from Ruby/Business Class upwards was lumped together. I only had to use it a couple of times but it moved fairly quickly as there is one line but about 8 agents. Now as a BA Emerald I can use Flagship Check-In so it's all good

Originally Posted by AADFW View Post
So is there a Flagship check-in at LAX still or not? I wasn't aware that EXPs were allowed to use a Flagship check in for international itineraries if not in F, but that's great news if so.
Yes, it's still there. The rules for access changed over the summer months to include EXPs on some itineraries plus non-AA Emeralds on all flights and whilst I, personally wasn't expecting any communication from AAdvantage, it caught me by surprise!

Last edited by Fraser; Jan 6, 18 at 5:42 pm
Fraser is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 7:32 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Programs: Top Tier with all 3 alliances
Posts: 5,132
Originally Posted by AADFW View Post
So is there a Flagship check-in at LAX still or not? I wasn't aware that EXPs were allowed to use a Flagship check in for international itineraries if not in F, but that's great news if so. Just goes to show that AA does a terrible job at keeping EXPs regularly informed of what the latest benefits and policies are, because they think of us all like corn or wheat -- we are all nothing but a giant commodity to AA management.
They sent an email about this to EXPs.
nk15 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 8:56 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Programs: AA,CX, BA, Priority Club, SPG, Hilton
Posts: 1,388
Originally Posted by Pickles View Post
I was at LAX yesterday, I think the OP is correct. There used to be a Flagship/EXP type of check-in area, by the TSA Pre-Check entrance escalator at T4. That's gone, now it's one big premium area, where they make you print out your own luggage tags. In other better news, the QF F lounge remains outstanding, and we have to thank that new airside connector between TBIT and T4 as a major gain.

I guess the Flagship Check-in in LAX is there, but that doesn't work for LAX-BOS even if you're flying the A321T 3-class.
Yes, the Flagship check in is still there.
I was there 2 weeks ago, LOOOOOOOOOONG line on priority check in counter, since I needed to check bag, I would probably missed the check bag cut off time if I had to wait on line. I asked the agent if there was Flagship check in, she asked me if I was flying international first class. I told her no, but I was flying LAX-JFK in F, she said no access (wrong), then said only very few route would qualify, then; I told her I was BA emerald, she said no access as well (wrong again), then I just asked her if she could tell me where was the Flagship counter. She warned me I will be turned away, I said it's ok. It's right next to curbside check in (exit the priority check in, turn right 30 meters), there was a man guarding the entrance. Of course I got in with no issue. Then he escorted me using the elevator to TSA line, cut the (nowadayeveryoneisprecheck) line as well, very thoughtful.

Last edited by Fly2Where; Jan 6, 18 at 9:02 pm
Fly2Where is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 6:13 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 165
Flagship check for EXP has to be travelling in qualifying flight (in short, international, with few exceptions). LAX has it in terminal 4 curb side with special entrance. I will be using it few hours later =)

Anybody tried the new flagship lounge? If nothing too amazing I will be sticking with my good old Qantas F lounge.
HypnoticSpecter is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 7:18 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: New York
Programs: AA, CX, Hyatt, Marriott
Posts: 1,484
Originally Posted by HypnoticSpecter View Post
Flagship check for EXP has to be travelling in qualifying flight (in short, international, with few exceptions). LAX has it in terminal 4 curb side with special entrance. I will be using it few hours later =)

Anybody tried the new flagship lounge? If nothing too amazing I will be sticking with my good old Qantas F lounge.
No harm to drop by, but nah it's not as good as QF F IMO.
andersonCooper is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 7:36 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Programs: American EXP; British Airways Gold
Posts: 1,584
Originally Posted by C17PSGR View Post
I noticed that the other day in LAX that they have added kiosks and consolidated the F/EXP line with the elites line. It was still pretty quick.

Perhaps its the kiosks and perhaps its the additional expanded checkin area at terminal 5 (which should be avoided at all costs during busy times as precheck have to wait in line for quite a while before being split from the non-precheck crowd).

The :LAX terminal 4 elite check in process is still very good. It's split from the masses and pre-check can go straight up the escalator to security and into the terminal. It's much better than many airports.
A "CLEAR" membership eliminates this issue every time.
jcatman is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 8:07 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 805
This has been a horrible change. I used to love the immediate check -in I would get as an EXP. Now, not so much...always takes forever. No idea why they did this.
Hengilas is offline  
Old Jan 8, 18, 12:06 am
  #27  
E55
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 328
Might it be by time? Segmented gold, plat/biz, first/exp during the high time, and a single line at off hours?

When were these flights with the long single priority line? What time?
E55 is offline  
Old Jan 8, 18, 1:16 am
  #28  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 165
Originally Posted by andersonCooper View Post
No harm to drop by, but nah it's not as good as QF F IMO.
Should have read this forum earlier. Now in AA Flagship lounge. Couldn’t have agreed more. Piece of shxt. Regret so much I sacrificed QF F to get here.
HypnoticSpecter is offline  
Old Jan 8, 18, 8:13 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: New York
Programs: AA, CX, Hyatt, Marriott
Posts: 1,484
Originally Posted by HypnoticSpecter View Post


Should have read this forum earlier. Now in AA Flagship lounge. Couldn’t have agreed more. Piece of shxt. Regret so much I sacrificed QF F to get here.
lol if I were at JFK T8 where nothing was nearby, I would definitely do Flagship, take a shower and no complaints. But in a highly competitive (lounge-wise) airport like LAX, HKG, LHR, that's another story.
andersonCooper is offline  
Old Jan 8, 18, 1:14 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Programs: AA Plat, DL WFBF, National Emerald Club, Global Entry, CSR, IHG Gold
Posts: 1,467
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
The problem isn't segmenting below CK's, it is about having enough kiosks and people to handle the load. At a small station, if there are two counter agents and both are tied up with a complex mess, there really isn't much to be done. But, at major stations, AA has a good experiential idea of how many people it needs to keep the line moving. It is simply a matter of staffing.
It seems fairly deliberate to me. At my mid-sized outstation they lately staff the priority lane with one agent no matter how many people are in line. It's at the point where if there's anyone in line it's usually faster to check in on the kiosk and then wait in the bag drop line (which moves quickly because they have 5-6 agents working). It's pretty clear they really want you to use the kiosk.

I don't mind the kiosks terribly, I just wish there was a way to skip the game of 20 questions (do you have a lap child? are you checking sports equipment? are you a member of the military? would you like to buy extra miles?). It would be great to have something similar to the GE kiosk where there's a button you can press that says "No to all". It takes me 2-3 minutes to get through all those, I can only imagine how long it takes someone who isn't familiar with the process.
wetrat0 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: