Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Booking AA Award travel on Etihad / EY - [2015-17 ARCHIVE]

Booking AA Award travel on Etihad / EY - [2015-17 ARCHIVE]

Old Jan 6, 2016, 8:14 am
  #151  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Programs: TK Elite Plus, SAS EBG, QR Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,297
Last night I changed my booking from MLE-DOH-DXB-LHR-ARN on QR, QF and BA in Business (regional First) to MLE-AUH-LHR-ARN on Etihad and BA, First Class. The agent approved the itinerary where I combined EY with the last BA segment to Stockholm in the same ticket.

Since she said that it was approved for ticketing, and the fact that I was quoted the correct tax amount, can I expect this booking to be ticketed as promised. Or will AA give me a hard time for mixing EY and BA in the same ticket?
LH4116 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 8:20 am
  #152  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 211
I used google hangouts to call Australia. Cost is $0.02 per minute. Probably ways to do it for free but I already had money loaded and the hangouts app on my phone so it was worth the $0.60 or whatever I spent.

Is the only way to get the Etihad record locator to call (US this time)? Surprised it isn't shown online anywhere.
alexj7 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 8:24 am
  #153  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,566
Originally Posted by alexj7
I used google hangouts to call Australia. Cost is $0.02 per minute. Probably ways to do it for free but I already had money loaded and the hangouts app on my phone so it was worth the $0.60 or whatever I spent.

Is the only way to get the Etihad record locator to call (US this time)? Surprised it isn't shown online anywhere.
In my experience, only AS displays operator's PNR on-line. BA provides it in the email confirmation. DL's system will push you to VS' site. But I've always had to ask AA for CX/EY/QR PNRs, I think you'll find website display of operator PNR is quite rare. But I haven't tested all the thousands of possibilities.
jamienbaker is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 8:30 am
  #154  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 714
Originally Posted by alexj7
I used google hangouts to call Australia. Cost is $0.02 per minute. Probably ways to do it for free but I already had money loaded and the hangouts app on my phone so it was worth the $0.60 or whatever I spent.

Is the only way to get the Etihad record locator to call (US this time)? Surprised it isn't shown online anywhere.
I believe so. The US reps couldn't tell us dh's rcl (he was ticketed the 5th) so I called Etihad and gave them the ticket number.
diseased is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 9:04 am
  #155  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: YVR
Programs: AC: E50K, AP: dDiamond
Posts: 963
There is no reason you cannot mix OneWorld and Etihad flights in one award or ticket as long as they work within routing rules.

I am flying EY-EY-CX on one ticket/award and there were no issues ticketing this.

The wiki at the top of this thread also clearly states this.

If you find EY inventory from your continent but not your city of choice, as usual you can include any other AAdvantage award airlines in order to complete the itinerary. E.g. LHR-xAUH-DEL-xAUH-CDG on EY connecting to CDG-LHR on BA.
Mark
lowside67 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 9:45 am
  #156  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,566
DATAPOINT FOR THOSE BOOKED AUHJFK EY103...

The departure time has changed. Hence, you might get an email from Etihad saying "there's been a change to your itinerary". DON'T FREAK OUT, which is exactly what I initially did, fearing the worst.

Hope this helps somebody else's blood pressure - Jamie
jamienbaker is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 10:05 am
  #157  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Programs: United Premier 1K
Posts: 1,230
Originally Posted by jamienbaker
DATAPOINT FOR THOSE BOOKED AUHJFK EY103...

The departure time has changed. Hence, you might get an email from Etihad saying "there's been a change to your itinerary". DON'T FREAK OUT, which is exactly what I initially did, fearing the worst.

Hope this helps somebody else's blood pressure - Jamie
Thanks for the heads up. And yay - an extra 25 minutes in the F lounge! (assuming my incoming doesn't change too of course!)
Toronto1970 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 10:12 am
  #158  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: TYO
Programs: Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,745
data point:
booked on 12/31 5pm
ticketed this morning 12/6, 12am PST
through Australia call center
invalyd is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 10:14 am
  #159  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Programs: AA Plat, SPG/Marriot Gold, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Expl
Posts: 2,363
Originally Posted by alexj7
Is the only way to get the Etihad record locator to call (US this time)? Surprised it isn't shown online anywhere.
Originally Posted by jamienbaker
In my experience, only AS displays operator's PNR on-line. BA provides it in the email confirmation. DL's system will push you to VS' site. But I've always had to ask AA for CX/EY/QR PNRs, I think you'll find website display of operator PNR is quite rare. But I haven't tested all the thousands of possibilities.
A little off-topic, but you can tweet AA to give you PNRs for each operating carrier on your itinerary.

UA provides carrier-specific PNR for some airlines online when you view your itinerary, and you can get others by calling in or tweeting as well. IME, Twitter works for DL-booked tickets too.
akcae is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 10:17 am
  #160  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Programs: AA PLT, SPG Plat
Posts: 295
Originally Posted by akcae
A little off-topic, but you can tweet AA to give you PNRs for each operating carrier on your itinerary.
This is by far the easiest way to get it. I send a DM to AA on twitter with my AA record locator and usually within an hour they send me the other carrier's confirmation number. It's also handy that twitter stores all of your DMs, so I can go back and check there for easy reference in the future.

Last edited by thechosenuno; Jan 6, 2016 at 11:00 am
thechosenuno is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 10:46 am
  #161  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: LAX
Programs: United Silver, Marriott Lifetime Titanium, Hilton Diamond, IHG Diamond
Posts: 991
Thanks for the Twitter tip. I'll also tweet about my $40 phone ticketing fee that they did not waive.

My AUH-JFK-CLT-SAN just ticketed this morning
chongl is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 11:36 am
  #162  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Programs: AA Platinum, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 731
Originally Posted by thechosenuno
This is by far the easiest way to get it. I send a DM to AA on twitter with my AA record locator and usually within an hour they send me the other carrier's confirmation number. It's also handy that twitter stores all of your DMs, so I can go back and check there for easy reference in the future.
+1

For all of AA's faults, the Twitter team is quite exceptional and helpful.
smilinganddialing is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 12:04 pm
  #163  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,566
Originally Posted by Toronto1970
Thanks for the heads up. And yay - an extra 25 minutes in the F lounge! (assuming my incoming doesn't change too of course!)
Be aware you'll be hearded to the US pre-clearance facility pretty early, queues can be formidable, and there's no booze on that side. I'm not at all looking forward to the AUH airport experience.
jamienbaker is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 12:53 pm
  #164  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Programs: United Premier 1K
Posts: 1,230
Originally Posted by jamienbaker
Be aware you'll be hearded to the US pre-clearance facility pretty early, queues can be formidable, and there's no booze on that side. I'm not at all looking forward to the AUH airport experience.
I'm sure I'll have enough booze on the 14 hour flight, but definitely a pain that there's the hassle of pre-clearance (as opposed to at YYZ where pre-clearance is a godsend). Are there at least Global Entry machines at AUH?
Toronto1970 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2016, 1:11 pm
  #165  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,566
Originally Posted by Toronto1970
I'm sure I'll have enough booze on the 14 hour flight, but definitely a pain that there's the hassle of pre-clearance (as opposed to at YYZ where pre-clearance is a godsend). Are there at least Global Entry machines at AUH?
This will be my first visit. As it has been explained to me, YES, there are GE machines but one must still queue up in a line that is shared between GE and wheelchair passengers. Again, I don't speak from experience, hopefully those better-versed can chime in. 0320 departure, ugh. I'm going to have a hard time keeping my kids awake.
jamienbaker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.