Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

AA: wrong EQM after upgrade from Premium Economy

AA: wrong EQM after upgrade from Premium Economy

Reply

Old Feb 15, 18, 3:11 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EXP, LT Gold
Posts: 2,844
Just happened to me as well... P fare DFW-EZE, used SWU's and got 1x credit on the EQM because the system re-fared me to O. Called AAdvantage and the agent was very clueless. She talked to her "higher ups" and they said she needs to submit it through for an advanced look. Says it will take up to 30 days to have it looked at.

Definitely an IT bug that AA needs to fix.
econometrics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 7:46 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EXP, LT Gold
Posts: 2,844
Got an email from AA less than 4 hours later saying they fixed it and adjusted my account correctly. Nice.
econometrics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 8:36 am
  #18  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 91
Did you have non-PE segments on your trip? If so, did those get put into P class with 1.5 EQM too? Because that's what happened with mine at the time. According to fare class, I traveled DTW-DFW in PE...
matt85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 8:40 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EXP, LT Gold
Posts: 2,844
Originally Posted by matt85 View Post
Did you have non-PE segments on your trip? If so, did those get put into P class with 1.5 EQM too? Because that's what happened with mine at the time. According to fare class, I traveled DTW-DFW in PE...
No. Just 2 segments DFW-EZE-DFW, both in P fare.
econometrics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 9:42 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Here and there
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plat, Best Buy Elite, Cava Grill Epicure
Posts: 1,356
Originally Posted by matt85 View Post
Did you have non-PE segments on your trip? If so, did those get put into P class with 1.5 EQM too? Because that's what happened with mine at the time. According to fare class, I traveled DTW-DFW in PE...
Domestic segments book into Y, don't they? That earns 1.5 EQM.
deeruck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 18, 11:31 am
  #21  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 91
The AA activity log shows P on all legs. And I'm pretty sure this wasn't a Y fare code initially before AA changed is, as this was a cheap mileage run. IIRC it was O, but I never received the itinerary email so I can't check.
matt85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 18, 6:30 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: (AA EXP)
Posts: 468
AA may have fixed this issue, I just had a LHR-MIA PE segment upgraded with a SWU correctly post.
MIAFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 18, 6:46 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EXP, LT Gold
Posts: 2,844
Originally Posted by MIAFlyer View Post
AA may have fixed this issue, I just had a LHR-MIA PE segment upgraded with a SWU correctly post.
Good to know. Thanks for the feedback!
econometrics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 18, 7:21 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Boston
Programs: AA/OW
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by econometrics View Post
Good to know. Thanks for the feedback!
Same. I had a DFW-ICN with SWU post correctly. The trip was booked through Chase portal and points given according to Special Fares chart in P, as expected.
grassyknoll is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 18, 7:33 am
  #25  
Ambassador: Alaska Airlines
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PIT
Posts: 7,221
Originally Posted by grassyknoll View Post
Same. I had a DFW-ICN with SWU post correctly. The trip was booked through Chase portal and points given according to Special Fares chart in P, as expected.
Was this purchase through Chase a full points redemption, points+cash mix redemption, or full cash purchase?

Thanks!
golfingboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 18, 7:37 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EXP, LT Gold
Posts: 2,844
Originally Posted by grassyknoll View Post
Same. I had a DFW-ICN with SWU post correctly. The trip was booked through Chase portal and points given according to Special Fares chart in P, as expected.
Very good! I'm sure AA's IT department was alerted to the need to fixing this when quite a few re-credit cases were marched up to them by the fontline agents.
econometrics is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 18, 5:50 am
  #27  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Boston
Programs: AA/OW
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by golfingboy View Post
Was this purchase through Chase a full points redemption, points+cash mix redemption, or full cash purchase?

Thanks!
mix - I generally book just enough poibts to trigger Special Fares
grassyknoll is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 18, 2:33 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 90
Still happening

Itís two months later, and this just happened to me. Has anyone figured out the magic words to get the executive platinum deck to understand and fix the problem with minimal hassle?
bacampbe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 18, 3:50 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DCA
Programs: AA Platinum
Posts: 44
I had the same problem with a flight last week. Called the AAdvantage Desk and the agent argued with me for 10 minutes that 'C' was my original booking class and that I couldn't possibly have booked 'P' because 'P' is a paid business class fare. 😒 She finally at least partially understood and changed the EQM credit to 'Y'. How is it possible that that the AAdvantage agents still don't know what premium economy is?
msr0013 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 18, 12:52 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Programs: AA XP, BA G, AS 75K, Hyatt G
Posts: 122
NRT-LAX booked as P and upgraded to C, EQM credited as Y. spoke to AA customer service agent who did the EQM correction swiftly. asked if this incorrect miles posting an IT bug and she responded "NOT a bug but sometimes the system works and other times does not."
Sounds like a bug to me but did not want to stay on the phone any longer.
JDiver likes this.
vudoosj is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread