Seat Map Craziness

Old Jun 2, 17, 11:45 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: DL PM, AA EXP, *Wood PLT / Lifetime Gold, Marriott PLT
Posts: 200
Seat Map Craziness

Was selecting seats today on a 737-800 and noticed some craziness on the seat map... Look at the row numbers.

Anyone else seen this?

I have to say that AA's website and app are light years behind what I see at DL, my other main carrier. I can't believe that you still can't book a flight in the Android app (just directs you to the website).
Attached Images  
SfoDtwFlr is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 12:21 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 5,271
Originally Posted by SfoDtwFlr View Post
Was selecting seats today on a 737-800 and noticed some craziness on the seat map... Look at the row numbers.

Anyone else seen this?

I have to say that AA's website and app are light years behind what I see at DL, my other main carrier. I can't believe that you still can't book a flight in the Android app (just directs you to the website).
Whoops. Somebody forgot to add "ORDER BY rownumber" to the source code
rjw242 is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 1:16 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: TPA
Programs: AA Gold; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold; IHG Gold
Posts: 2,487
Originally Posted by SfoDtwFlr View Post
Was selecting seats today on a 737-800 and noticed some craziness on the seat map... Look at the row numbers.

Anyone else seen this?

I have to say that AA's website and app are light years behind what I see at DL, my other main carrier. I can't believe that you still can't book a flight in the Android app (just directs you to the website).
There's been discussion of this on the "website issues" thread, and I saw a similar mess yesterday, although yours looks like a pretty extreme example.

A refresh will probably clear it up, and I've found that if you just select based on position your seat assignment will have the right row number anyway.
SpammersAreScum is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 2:12 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Providence RI
Programs: American Exec Plat, Hyatt Refugeeist, Marriot Gold, Air Canada Cattle Class, Korean Air Morning Plat
Posts: 988
I will be willing to bet there is some poor dad who will book his wife and two kids in one row and he "will be right behind/in front of them".

Then they get on board and wife automatically assumes he booked 15 rows back to avoid parental responsibility for the flight.

............ahh the endless toil of married men.
The smallest state is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 2:46 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 2,222
Originally Posted by rjw242 View Post
Whoops. Somebody forgot to add "ORDER BY rownumber" to the source code
I think there's more. Row 34 doesn't exist on a 737, at least not to my knowledge...
dkc192 is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 3:05 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: DL PM, AA EXP, *Wood PLT / Lifetime Gold, Marriott PLT
Posts: 200
Originally Posted by SpammersAreScum View Post
...I've found that if you just select based on position your seat assignment will have the right row number anyway.
In this case the hover popup (what appears when you put your mouse pointer over a seat) showed the correct number and information, so I think I probably got the assignment that I wanted.
SfoDtwFlr is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 4:37 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York
Programs: AA EXP, EY Gold, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz 5*, Global Entry
Posts: 245
I've had this issue, I've also seen the system show a row of six seats on an E-175 instead of the normal four. Thought about selecting one of the seats outside of the plane but decided against it as I couldn't find my heavy coat and personal oxygen bottle in my closet.
danohio is offline  
Old Jun 2, 17, 7:34 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Olde Dominion
Programs: DL Silver - uh huh!
Posts: 789
When I did online check-in for a recent flight I looked at the seat map and saw a seat I liked better and selected it. When I went to the next screen I noticed a charge amount at the bottom. Went back to the first screen and my complimentary seat was now showing up as having a fee (colored instead of white, etc.), so I switched back to the original one.

I noticed the row numbers were (in order but) different from what I expected the first time, but I figured it was an equipment change or maybe they had just moved me. When I went back to the page to see why the fee was there, the row numbers had been fixed.
Kamalaasaa is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: