Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Bose NR headphones AA business class? (Obsolete thread)

Bose NR headphones AA business class? (Obsolete thread)

Old May 3, 17, 10:32 am
  #16  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BOS/UTH
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT; QR PLT; Bonvoy LT TIT
Posts: 12,600
Originally Posted by profpeabody View Post
I have my own headset I travel with so I don't use theirs. On a recent flight, they came around and collected the headsets at the end of the flight but evidently did not see the unopened set at my seat. They then announced as the doors opened that someone had failed to return their Bose and they needed them all before we deplaned - the implication being someone was trying to steal a set. The box was sitting out in the open, I had not even used them and they just failed to pick it up. It was embarrassing and very unpleasant.
IIRC the legal implications of this are discussed in another FT thread somewhere.

Amazing that other airlines can do it, no? On CX F, headphones are at your seat before you board, and you just leave them there at the end of the flight.
Dr. HFH is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 12:06 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 11
I flew AA in J on the 77W in January LAX-HKG and return. I wasn't paying that much attention to the headphones at the time but in retrospect, have a few questions.

Are they really noise cancelling? I didn't feel the same obvious reduction in background noise and the pressure effect I experience with my own Bose NC ones.

If you you use your own, what type of adapter do you need? The female jack in the seat compartment has three holes in a triangle formation. I've never seen that on a regular pair of headphones.
DrewD is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 12:09 pm
  #18  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BTR
Programs: AA LTPlat; Marriott Titanium (LTP); Hilton Dia; Hyatt Explorist; Vistana 5* Elite; Nat'l Exec Elite
Posts: 6,157
Originally Posted by DrewD View Post
If you you use your own, what type of adapter do you need? The female jack in the seat compartment has three holes in a triangle formation. I've never seen that on a regular pair of headphones.
It just appears to have three holes in a triangle formation. There is only one hole. The other two "holes" are actually screw heads.
controller1 is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 12:11 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS
Programs: UA Plat, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Formerly Starbucks Gold
Posts: 3,132
Originally Posted by controller1 View Post
It just appears to have three holes in a triangle formation. There is only one hole. The other two "holes" are actually screw heads.
The bose adaptor for my QC35's work - it's just two prongs for the top two in the triangle.
BThumme is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 12:13 pm
  #20  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BTR
Programs: AA LTPlat; Marriott Titanium (LTP); Hilton Dia; Hyatt Explorist; Vistana 5* Elite; Nat'l Exec Elite
Posts: 6,157
Originally Posted by BThumme View Post
The bose adaptor for my QC35's work - it's just two prongs for the top two in the triangle.
Then I've confused the "triangle" in the armrest of older AA planes that appear to have three holes.
controller1 is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 12:22 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Here and there
Programs: AA EXP, Best Buy Elite, Starbucks Gold, Sweetgreen Green
Posts: 1,486
Originally Posted by controller1 View Post
Then I've confused the "triangle" in the armrest of older AA planes that appear to have three holes.
Isn't the third hole providing power? Either way, use the airline adapter that comes with your QCs, which only uses two of the holes.
deeruck is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 12:28 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Brooklyn
Programs: AA
Posts: 104
If they collect them an hour before landing, then can you still watch the IFE? Is there a cheaper set they give you for that? Or bring your own earbuds for that last hour?
BrooklynDave is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 1:50 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: AA EXP, AA LT Gold, SPG Plat 75
Posts: 862
Originally Posted by BrooklynDave View Post
If they collect them an hour before landing, then can you still watch the IFE? Is there a cheaper set they give you for that? Or bring your own earbuds for that last hour?
They give you some cheapy, crappy earbuds.
Phasers is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 1:52 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lax
Posts: 3,712
Originally Posted by BrooklynDave View Post
If they collect them an hour before landing, then can you still watch the IFE? Is there a cheaper set they give you for that? Or bring your own earbuds for that last hour?
Yes, you can still watch the IFE, and you will be provided with earbuds.
skylady is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 2:02 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cupertino, CA - AA:PLT 2MM; Marriott:Plt; Hilton:Slv
Posts: 559
I got tired of carrying mine as well and ended up buying the Bose NC earbuds. In hindsight, I wish I had simply considered a non active NC, noise suppressing in ear monitor. There are a ton out there (the link below is only an example) that are super cheap and have super high ratings, especially with different ear pieces (e.g. - Comply). I might still buy one because what I hate about the Bose earbuds is that darn "battery box" hanging about chest height when you are wearing them.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SLVB71Q...FO2PO6O4&psc=1
gwade is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 2:13 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DEN
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,936
Originally Posted by Phasers View Post
They give you some cheapy, crappy earbuds.
Originally Posted by skylady View Post
Yes, you can still watch the IFE, and you will be provided with earbuds.
In my experience the provision/availability of earbuds has been rather hit and miss.
bse118 is offline  
Old May 3, 17, 11:19 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: Airline Free Agent, Hilton, Hyatt, IHG
Posts: 1,588
Originally Posted by profpeabody View Post
I have my own headset I travel with so I don't use theirs. On a recent flight, they came around and collected the headsets at the end of the flight but evidently did not see the unopened set at my seat. They then announced as the doors opened that someone had failed to return their Bose and they needed them all before we deplaned - the implication being someone was trying to steal a set. The box was sitting out in the open, I had not even used them and they just failed to pick it up. It was embarrassing and very unpleasant.
AA could have the Bose headsets permanently attached to the jack (like the IFE remote control). Prevents theft and passengers can use the headsets the entire flight.
Austin787 is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 2:54 am
  #28  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW/DAL
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus
Posts: 20,427
Originally Posted by Head View Post
Yep. Always picked up way to early. I take my own "monoprice" Noise Cancelling Head Phones for that reason. Be aware that you will need an adapter to use your own (at least on the 777) for the A/V system. Well... mine requires it but the Bose that most folks have may not.
Bose comes with an adapter for the dual plug outlet. Is that what you are referring to?
mvoight is online now  
Old May 4, 17, 4:13 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: DFW/PHL
Programs: US CP, UA *G; SPG Plat, Hilton Gold; Natl Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 612
Originally Posted by mvoight View Post
Bose comes with an adapter for the dual plug outlet. Is that what you are referring to?
Yes you just need a dual plug adapter if you want stereo sound instead of mono. I've also once had an FA give me one of these adapters with the temporary junk earbuds so it's possible they have them onboard. They don't give them the vast majority of the time.
flightrisk is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 5:00 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Not sure yet
Programs: Marriott - Lifetime Platinum Premier, AA - CK
Posts: 263
Originally Posted by mvoight View Post
Bose comes with an adapter for the dual plug outlet. Is that what you are referring to?
Yes. I bought a pair of Sonic Solace from MonoPrice. They have a headphone input and just came with a male/male headphone jumper. In order to get stereo soun on the flight I have to have the 2-1 adapter. I've never had Bose so wasn't sure if they came with it or not.
Head is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: