Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

ARCHIVE: "Sticker" / 500-mile E-Upgrades & EXP "UDU" Upgrades (2015)

ARCHIVE: "Sticker" / 500-mile E-Upgrades & EXP "UDU" Upgrades (2015)

Old Jan 1, 15, 9:41 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC-BNA
Programs: Lifetime Plat/4mm miles, Starwood, HiltonHonors
Posts: 573
Arrow ARCHIVE: "Sticker" / 500-mile E-Upgrades & EXP "UDU" Upgrades (2015)

I'm EXP, the g/f was gold but lost status last year. However, she still has 4 stickers in her account. I wonder, can I draw on those to upgrade her when we're traveling together?

The current thread on this topic can be read here.

Last edited by JDiver; Feb 2, 17 at 7:27 pm Reason: Add moderator note
Danwriter is offline  
Old Jan 1, 15, 2:01 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by Danwriter View Post
I'm EXP, the g/f was gold but lost status last year. However, she still has 4 stickers in her account. I wonder, can I draw on those to upgrade her when we're traveling together?
I think stickers come from your account if she is getting upgraded due to your status.
ShortDog is offline  
Old Jan 1, 15, 4:23 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,336
Originally Posted by ShortDog View Post
I think stickers come from your account if she is getting upgraded due to your status.
Not entirely true. Companions upgrading together may list using the higher status, but only elites can use stickers, so only companions that are both elites can have stickers pulled out of their own accounts.

Originally Posted by Danwriter View Post
I'm EXP, the g/f was gold but lost status last year. However, she still has 4 stickers in her account. I wonder, can I draw on those to upgrade her when we're traveling together?
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 8:44 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin
Programs: AA EXP +2MM- LT PLT! HH Diamond
Posts: 4,922
"Not Requested" for under 500 Mile Segment UG (for EXP)

I just put a ticket on hold where I have an AUS to DFW connection. When I was booking the flight, I didn't have the option to request the UG for the segment since they implemented the new "auto request" feature for under 500 miles segments for Elites. Cool with that.

Now, what is a little disconcerting is that on the review page it shows that the UG is "Not Requested". Have others encountered this? My guess it's just some bad UI code on AA's part, but still..
teemuflyer is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 9:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: 6E Westbound, 4E Eastbound
Programs: AA EXP & 3MM, Priority Club Plat since 1984
Posts: 6,272
Another question for your 23 minute flight might be whether it is on equipment that has a First or Business class.
Thumper is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 9:28 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin
Programs: AA EXP +2MM- LT PLT! HH Diamond
Posts: 4,922
Originally Posted by Thumper View Post
Another question for your 23 minute flight might be whether it is on equipment that has a First or Business class.
Yes, it's always a mainline MD-80 or 737 b/w AUS and DFW w/F.
teemuflyer is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 9:40 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NYC
Programs: DL GM, AAdvantage EXECPLAT, Hyatt Plat, HHonors Diamond, Avis First
Posts: 6,090
That's weird. Just last week I booked sub-500 mile flights and had the usual request UPG boxes that I checked.
AANYC1981 is offline  
Old Jan 16, 15, 10:19 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EP 3MM, UA Silver, Bonvoy Ambassador, Hyatt Gobalist, HH Silver, Total Rewards PLT, Starbucks GLD
Posts: 7,009
Comp, auto-requested <500 upgrades for all elites is targeted for Q2. By chance is your flight after April 1?

http://www.aa.com/i18n/AAdvantage/AA...2015/index.jsp
aamilesslave is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 2:21 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SNA/LAX
Programs: AA++
Posts: 180
500-mile upgrade

How does this work?
I am a gold status with AA and will fly from LAX to HNL next week. AA website says I need 6 stickers to request upgrade.
What I want to know is the bottom line... how much will I have to spend via cash or mileage?

Thanks
ssg10 is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 5:11 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Park, Metropolis
Programs: AA LT PLT 3MM, Hilton/Marriott/SPG/Club Carlson GLD, IHG PLT
Posts: 4,091
Originally Posted by ssg10 View Post
How does this work?
I am a gold status with AA and will fly from LAX to HNL next week. AA website says I need 6 stickers to request upgrade.
What I want to know is the bottom line... how much will I have to spend via cash or mileage?

Thanks
If it is 6 stickers, then 6x$35, it can be $30 if you purchase stickers directly through AA or a kiosk. If you want to do mileage/cash, then based on http://www.aa.com/i18n/disclaimers/o...rade-chart.jsp
it is 15k miles+$175, or if you have a full fare coach ticket then it is 8k miles only.
I hope I answered your question.
arollins is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 3:54 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 49
One other thing to keep in mind. Sticker upgrades (500 mile upgrades) are not guaranteed. EXP and Plat requesting segment upgrades will be upgraded before you if you request 500 mile upgrades as a general rule.
ckeegan04 is offline  
Old Jan 26, 15, 4:47 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,336
By the way, the answer to your question can be found in the FAQ (where it says "Pleade check here first!) that's stickied at the top of this forum. In particular, I'm looking under th "Upgrades" section, where there is in-depth info on 500-mile upgrades or "stickers".
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jan 27, 15, 8:16 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SoCal
Programs: AA EXP, HHonors LTDia, Marriott Plat
Posts: 595
Originally Posted by _kurt View Post
I just got the same message. In these circumstances, AA.com used to prompt you to purchase the stickers as part of the check-in process. Has there been an intentional change to that flow? Or is this a bug?
The website said I had enough, but when I checked in I got the same message. At the airport it showed me in 1st but would not complete the check in unless I paid $120. I had to have an agent cancel the upgrade and try to find a decent seat. Not very friendly way to handle things.
TSparky is offline  
Old Feb 17, 15, 3:51 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SAN
Programs: AA-EXP; US-Silver; Marriott-Platinum; Starwood-Platinum; Hilton-Gold
Posts: 1,261
500-mile "stickers" available MISMATCH (AA web vs SABRE)

A heads up for everyone out there:

My AADVANTAGE account (web and mobile) show a distinct mismatch on my upgrade balance (for companions). The main screen on my account shows only 3 available, and the summary page shows 2 - but it doesn't jive what I actually purchased.

Called customer service and they saw that I had NINE in their system and according to SABRE I had eleven unused 500 mile upgrades. I had to purchase a bunch more several days ago because I couldn't check in a companion.

If you use these on a regular basis check your balance with AA Customr Service. They launched a trouble ticket to find out why this is occurring.

Cheers
AA-Flyer-SAN is offline  
Old Feb 17, 15, 4:13 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, Virgin Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 204
I've had this issue for a few days. I called in and they said "it definitely says X [the amount I expected] here" - when I asked if something is being done about this, they basically just said "I don't know, but it's fine" - didn't inspire a ton of confidence...
kon104 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread