Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

ARCHIVE: AA Awards on Cathay Pacific (2016)

ARCHIVE: AA Awards on Cathay Pacific (2016)

Closed Thread

Old Jan 2, 16, 1:45 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 53
ARCHIVE: AA Awards on Cathay Pacific (2016)

I am trying to book an award for 2 passengers for this September with the following routing: ORD - HKG - PVG. For the ORD to HKG leg, I can see a couple of seats available in J and one seat available in F. My question: Is it possible to book one J seat for myself and one F seat for my wife, but issue both tickets as an F award.
My thinking is that if one more F seat becomes available before departure, I can change it to First class without having to redeposit/reissue the ticket and hopefully I can avoid the new First class award level that will become effective in March.
Is AA able to issue the ticket as an F award, although there are not any F segments in the reservation, just J segments so far?
Thanks for your help!


Last edited by JDiver; Feb 1, 17 at 12:17 pm Reason: Add moderator note
ElvinW is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 5:02 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: BOS/MHT/PVD/BDL
Programs: Belong to Many but No Longer Loyal to Any
Posts: 650
Originally Posted by ElvinW View Post
I am trying to book an award for 2 passengers for this September with the following routing: ORD - HKG - PVG. For the ORD to HKG leg, I can see a couple of seats available in J and one seat available in F. My question: Is it possible to book one J seat for myself and one F seat for my wife, but issue both tickets as an F award.
My thinking is that if one more F seat becomes available before departure, I can change it to First class without having to redeposit/reissue the ticket and hopefully I can avoid the new First class award level that will become effective in March.
Is AA able to issue the ticket as an F award, although there are not any F segments in the reservation, just J segments so far?
Thanks for your help!
Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but I believe there has to be F availability on at least one segment for AA to be able to ticket in F.
flyaxa is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 7:24 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Global
Posts: 4,311
Originally Posted by ElvinW View Post
I am trying to book an award for 2 passengers for this September with the following routing: ORD - HKG - PVG. For the ORD to HKG leg, I can see a couple of seats available in J and one seat available in F. My question: Is it possible to book one J seat for myself and one F seat for my wife, but issue both tickets as an F award.
My thinking is that if one more F seat becomes available before departure, I can change it to First class without having to redeposit/reissue the ticket and hopefully I can avoid the new First class award level that will become effective in March.
Is AA able to issue the ticket as an F award, although there are not any F segments in the reservation, just J segments so far?
Thanks for your help!
I can't see how the system can 'overcharge you' on purpose. Can you book another routing around the same time with a ticket in First? That way both are ticketed in First and then you just change the dates.
Global321 is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 7:38 am
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: FIND ME ON TWITTER FOR THE LATEST
Posts: 27,302
Originally Posted by flyaxa View Post
Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but I believe there has to be F availability on at least one segment for AA to be able to ticket in F.
That is correct. I think like 2x a week there is a KA flight with F HKG-PVG, if by some chance that could be integrated into the award then I'd think you could book the award in award F with voluntary downgrade on ORD-HKG leg.
JonNYC is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 8:31 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: PHL/EWR
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 49
I am trying to do JFK-HKG-CMB. I found J availability on JFK-HKG(-BKK) which I put on hold, and separately, HKG-CMB for the correct dates, using the BA tool. There is a J seat the entire way JFK-CMB, but for some reason, AA couldn't see the whole thing put together (neither did BA, I just ran them separately and found there were seats).

Is this something worth mentioning to AA, that seats are available, but why aren't they joining for the entire JFK-HKG-CMB trip?
ZKrunk is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 8:41 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Programs: AA Ex Plt
Posts: 453
Originally Posted by flyaxa View Post
Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but I believe there has to be F availability on at least one segment for AA to be able to ticket in F.
I tried HUCA to get this done many, many times...all with zero success. Although others have said this is not doable and have been told no by agents, I have made it work (with some reminding of the agents about the 3-class issues given hat the system will not automatically pick it up) by adding JFK-LAX/SFO in F.
Animgif is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 8:45 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,957
Originally Posted by Animgif View Post
I tried HUCA to get this done many, many times...all with zero success. Although others have said this is not doable and have been told no by agents, I have made it work (with some reminding of the agents about the 3-class issues given hat the system will not automatically pick it up) by adding JFK-LAX/SFO in F.
Maybe keep trying? I booked an F reward for May, specifically JFKHKG in J and HKGPEK in F (on Cathay). Fully ticketed, seats assigned, and PNR noted by agent not to collect additional miles should JFKHKG open in F post devaluation.
jamienbaker is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 8:46 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Global
Posts: 4,311
Originally Posted by ZKrunk View Post
I am trying to do JFK-HKG-CMB. I found J availability on JFK-HKG(-BKK) which I put on hold, and separately, HKG-CMB for the correct dates, using the BA tool. There is a J seat the entire way JFK-CMB, but for some reason, AA couldn't see the whole thing put together (neither did BA, I just ran them separately and found there were seats).

Is this something worth mentioning to AA, that seats are available, but why aren't they joining for the entire JFK-HKG-CMB trip?
I have come across something similar before. (For me, I believe it was no F availability LAX-HKG, but when I looked for SFO-HKG, I found SFO-LAX-HKG in First.)

If you see the segments, call and have them book it segment by segment.
Global321 is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 9:11 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: PHL/EWR
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 49
Originally Posted by 110pgl View Post
I have come across something similar before. (For me, I believe it was no F availability LAX-HKG, but when I looked for SFO-HKG, I found SFO-LAX-HKG in First.)

If you see the segments, call and have them book it segment by segment.
That's so weird, it worked!!! I literally called an hour ago and they weren't able to see JFK-HKG-CMB in J, but when I put on hold JFK-HKG-BKK in J, and then found HKG-CMB in J, the agent was able to sub in CMB for BKK. Happy but a little confused!

Given the above, as the departure date gets closer (I'm 14 days out), in the BA tool to look for F, should I be running JFK-CMB or just JFK-HKG (no F on HKG-CMB)?

I'm worried that if I run JFK-CMB in BA for F, it will say no availability (like it did for J this morning for me), but if I do JFK-HKG and find F, will the agent be able to upgrade the class of service on JFK-HKG irrespective of the HKG-CMB leg?

Last edited by ZKrunk; Jan 2, 16 at 9:23 am
ZKrunk is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 9:26 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Global
Posts: 4,311
Originally Posted by ZKrunk View Post
That's so weird, it worked!!! I literally called an hour ago and they weren't able to see JFK-HKG-CMB in J, but when I put on hold JFK-HKG-BKK in J, and then found HKG-CMB in J, the agent was able to sub in CMB for BKK. Happy but a little confused!

Given the above, as the departure date gets closer (I'm 14 days out), in the BA tool to look for F, should I be running JFK-CMB or just JFK-HKG (no F on HKG-CMB)?

I'm worried that if I run JFK-CMB in BA for F, it will say no availability (like it did for J this morning for me), but if I do JFK-HKG and find F, will the agent be able to upgrade the class of service on JFK-HKG irrespective of the HKG-CMB leg?
Glad it worked out for you. It is odd how it works like that.

Yes - look for only the single segment.

Yes - the agent will be able to upgrade the JFK-HKG to first (with the additional miles of course). They will leave the HKG-CMB segment as is.
Global321 is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 9:27 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 64
With BA and JAL being so inconsistent, am I reading correctly from other posts, that we should just instead call aa, and use the aa phone rep as a travel agent, and have them search for F availability?

Or should the strategy remain looking on BA and JAL, and then spoon-feeding the aa folks?
ahchiu is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 9:34 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,957
Originally Posted by ahchiu View Post
With BA and JAL being so inconsistent, am I reading correctly from other posts, that we should just instead call aa, and use the aa phone rep as a travel agent, and have them search for F availability?

Or should the strategy remain looking on BA and JAL, and then spoon-feeding the aa folks?
Considering that AA had booked me on CX flights that BA/JL sites don't see, I'd suggest answer is "both". FYI, last time I asked for JFKHKG availability, agent said no and then said, "hold on, let me tab forward to the second and third screen" where she then found it. Her original screen was only coming up with AA options over DFW.
jamienbaker is offline  
Old Jan 2, 16, 8:12 pm
  #13  
Formerly known as cedricgerald
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,352
Unhappy

Originally Posted by jamienbaker View Post
Considering that AA had booked me on CX flights that BA/JL sites don't see, I'd suggest answer is "both". FYI, last time I asked for JFKHKG availability, agent said no and then said, "hold on, let me tab forward to the second and third screen" where she then found it. Her original screen was only coming up with AA options over DFW.
What there is on this second and third screen ?
The More I learn the less I know...
CGRA is offline  
Old Jan 3, 16, 7:51 am
  #14  
Moderator, El Al and Marriott Bonvoy
Marriott Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: TG*G, Mar LTBT, Hyatt Glb, AA PLT-LTG, LY, HH, IC, BA, DL, UA SLV
Posts: 10,941
Originally Posted by ahchiu View Post
With BA and JAL being so inconsistent, am I reading correctly from other posts, that we should just instead call aa, and use the aa phone rep as a travel agent, and have them search for F availability?

Or should the strategy remain looking on BA and JAL, and then spoon-feeding the aa folks?
Welcome to FlyerTalk, ahchiu!

Thanks for asking just the question I've been pondering today.
yosithezet is offline  
Old Jan 3, 16, 10:57 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: DFW, Texas; J Cabin of an Airline
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K, DL DM, MR Plat, HH Gold
Posts: 776
Originally Posted by ahchiu View Post
With BA and JAL being so inconsistent, am I reading correctly from other posts, that we should just instead call aa, and use the aa phone rep as a travel agent, and have them search for F availability?

Or should the strategy remain looking on BA and JAL, and then spoon-feeding the aa folks?
Honestly, I still have great success with the BA site + Spoonfeed. Last 2 months I have booked 2 EX-HKG redemption, one F on CX direct to LAX, and for next week a mixed J/F redemption from PEK to LAX on CX/JL in J/F. Found what I wanted on BA site, called into AA and fed them flight times and numbers, and out a award ticket was spat.
IWontRegretThis is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread