Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

TSA Pre-Check / PreCheck Known Traveler program for AA FFs (2016 onwards)

Old Jan 1, 17, 7:52 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Dynastar
Are you adding your KTN but not getting PreCheck? You can ask the TSA to tell you why! Search for "AskTSA" on Twitter or Facebook and send them a private message, they can look up your record number and tell you what the issue was.

TSA Pre-Check / PreCheck Known Traveler program for AA FFs (consolidated)

You are eligible to be selected (on a flight-by-flight basis) for TSA PreCheck expedited screening if:
  • You are a frequent American Airlines flyer that have been invited by American Airlines to participate and followed the instructions on the email to accept, or/and
    • You participate in a "Trusted Traveler" program (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI and/or TSA PreCheck application program) and have entered your "Known Traveler ID" in the reservation
      • If you're using your AAdvantage number, you can enter the "Known Traveler ID" in the Personal Information and Password tab of My Account) so it will auto-populate in all new reservations bearing the AAdvantage number made anywhere
        • If your reservation doesn't have your AAdvantage number, you can retrieve it and add the "Known Traveler ID" to it. The method is not very intuitive: on AA.com click on my trips, then on view all, then on find my reservation and enter either the record locator (if you know it), or the flight information using the AA operating flight number (not any eventual codeshare number from another airline).
          • Your Secure Flight Information (name, sex, DOB) in the reservation must match the one with the program (except for "middle" or other names, which are ignored) (name on ticket does not matter)
            • You will find your "Known Traveler ID" on the GOES website or on your program's card, under the name "PASSID". It is either 9 digits or the letters TT plus 7 digits



You will know if you have been selected on a particular flight if the wording or logo "TSA PreCheck" appear on your boarding pass.

NOTE: 20 May 2016: "Todays announcement makes a total of 16 carriers that participate in TSA Pre✓: Aeromexico, Air Canada, Alaska Airlines, Allegiant, American Airlines, Cape Air, Delta Air Lines, Etihad Airways, Hawaiian Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Seaborne Airlines, Southwest Airlines, Sun Country Airlines, United Airlines, Virgin America and WestJet.

Passengers who are eligible for TSA Pre✓ include: members of the TSA Pre✓ application program, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Trusted Traveler program, Global Entry, and Canadian citizens who are members of CBPs NEXUS program. TSA Pre✓ is also available for U.S. Armed Forces service members, including those serving in the U.S. Coast Guard, Reserves and National Guard."

Link

How it works

In the Pre-Check lane, you no longer need to remove the following items:

  • Shoes (some, such as steel-toed shoes, may require removal)
    • 3-1-1 compliant bag from your carry-on (all liquid restrictions still apply)
      • Laptop from your bag (if electronics are stacked on top of each other, they require removal)
        • Light outerwear or jacket
          • Belt (large belt buckles may require removal)
            • Pre-Check Lanes are WTMD only-- No NoS in use

LOCATIONS

Link to FlyerGuide Wiki listing of American Airlines (only) PreCheck checkpoints.

Link to FT thread AA Airport / Concourse TSA PreCheck - Hours [only] (may not be current)

See also post 1 of this thread. (It contains much additional info in the Moderator's Note.)

NOTE: PreCheck is changing to a Trusted Traveler (GE/NEXUS/SENTRI) -like program, where anyone will be able apply and pay USD $85 (online or at a PreCheck enrollment center), be vetted for approval, present proof of identification and be fingerprinted at a PreCheck enrollment center (IAD and IND, opening Fall 2013, will be thie first), and be granted PreCheck status for five years from that time. It will not be airline - or airline status - tied.

"Current PreCheck participants, including those eligible via a CBP Trusted Traveler Program such as Global Entry, will continue to receive PreCheck eligibility. Participants who opted-in through their airline frequent flyer program may want to consider applying for PreCheck, as they are more likely to be selected for PreCheck expedited screening more often if they are vetted via the PreCheck application process." Link.
Trusted Traveler (Global Entry, Nexus, Sentri) and Having Problems with PreCheck?




If you belong to one of the Trusted Traveler Programs listed above, you may run into issues getting PreCheck clearance if your Secure Flight Data is not an exact match to the data that you entered into your application on the GOES (Global Online Enrollment System) website when you applied for your TT membership.

For example, if your airline account has Bob Jones, but your GOES account has Bob James Jones, then the TSA may not be associating your information properly when it "decides" who can and can not have access. Additionally, if your PASS ID # (listed above in the screen-shots) is not an exact match, there will be a mismatch when TSA processes your information, and you will not receive PreCheck.

To ensure you receive PreCheck on all flights (domestic & internatioal), be sure to ensure the information in your AA profile is accurate. The name on the ticket does not matter- the "Secure Flight Data" is what is used to determine PreCheck status.


Signed in members with 90 days / 90 posts can edit this Wikipost; wiki contents may be printed by using the (lower right wiki corner)



TSA Pre✓ / PreCheck / Pre Check Issues, Changes, etc.
Known issues:

  • Not every airport or terminal offers the TSA Pre✓ program

    • TSA Pre✓ may have limited or irregular hours or closed at times without notice

      • TSA Pre✓ members are still be subject to random selection for intensified screening

        • TSA Pre✓ program has changed from an airline elite invitation program to a fee-based program with certain screening requirements

          • If one's TSA Pre✓ status is from the pilot invitation program and one doesn't have a Known Traveler Number ("KTN"), TSA Pre✓ status may not carry on to another airline and one may experience increasing denials (not having the TSA Pre✓ printed on boarding pass and being sent to the regular TSA screening queues



Link to TSA Application Program and TSA Pre✓ program information, links

Changes to TSA Pre✓

TSA Pre✓ was originally offered by certain airlines to their elite status members. These TSA Pre✓ members do not have a Known Traveler Number from a USDHS trusted traveler program (GOES / Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI or the new $85 fee based TSA Pre✓ Application Program offered to the flying public with 5 year renewal), making TSA Pre✓ status portability challenging. See the DHS Trusted Traveler programs listing and comparison chart here. Please read the following:

From American Airlines, April 2015:

This month, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) is making changes to the TSA Pre✓ Trusted Traveler Program that will impact which travelers receive expedited screening. If you're not already a member of one of the Trusted Traveler programs like Global Entry or the TSA Pre✓ Application Program, you will probably see a decline in how often you receive expedited screening, even if you've previously "opted-in" through a frequent flyer program.

The best way to increase your chances of receiving TSA Pre✓ on a regular basis is to register for a Trusted Traveler Program with the Department of Homeland Security at dhs.gov/tt. Once you receive your Known Traveler Number (KTN) from TSA, be sure you update your AAdvantage profile.

To add your KTN to your AAdvantage profile:
  • Login to your account on aa.com and select My Account from the AAdvantage menu
    • Within My Account, go to the Information and Password tab
      • Add your Customs and Border Protection 9-digit PASS ID to your secure traveler information



For more information on TSA Pre✓, visit tsa.gov/tsa-precheck.


Print Wikipost

TSA Pre-Check / PreCheck Known Traveler program for AA FFs (2016 onwards)

Old Apr 8, 16, 8:18 am
  #61  
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeShangri-La Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ORD
Posts: 4,008
Originally Posted by Exec_Plat
I arrived from SYD into DFW yesterday...after clearing customs, got a PreCheck BP from the agent downstairs (both of us GE) and went upstairs.

Of course they dont have a precheck lane when you get up from customs, but walk down a bit and they do...but...

The precheck line at D22 (I think) was a mess. The rent a guard was demanding everyone with Precheck stay in precheck. There were 30+ people in precheck, zero in 'priority' and 4-5 in the standard line.

We were in First, and she wouldnt respond to my question about using the priority lane. As I was with Mrs. ExecPlat, she was giving me dagger stares, so I did not simply walk past the guard. Dearly wanted to, and would have if alone....

She was not letting anyone with the word 'precheck' into any other lane.

I will admit this is the worst imbalance Id ever seen.
That's really odd, wouldn't it technically be "safer" if someone with pre check decided to go through the regular line since they are subjected to more screening? TSA should be ecstatic if people did that.
United747 is online now  
Old Apr 8, 16, 8:20 am
  #62  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,644
Originally Posted by United747
That's really odd, wouldn't it technically be "safer" if someone with pre check decided to go through the regular line since they are subjected to more screening? TSA should be ecstatic if people did that.
Well, it sounds like it was the line screener (i.e., some random contract employee), not a TSA agent doing this.
jordyn is offline  
Old Apr 8, 16, 4:54 pm
  #63  
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeShangri-La Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ORD
Posts: 4,008
Originally Posted by jordyn
Well, it sounds like it was the line screener (i.e., some random contract employee), not a TSA agent doing this.
Yeah, I know. Just sounds like someone who makes up their own rules.
United747 is online now  
Old Apr 8, 16, 5:58 pm
  #64  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mundelein, Il
Programs: AA Platinum Pro
Posts: 468
Based on my experience you should have been able to use the other lines, but you would also have to use the other conveyor/scanner forcing you to take out your laptop, take off shoes, etc. perhaps the TSA agent was confused or did not explain very well.
jagoffee is offline  
Old Apr 8, 16, 7:13 pm
  #65  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EP 3MM, UA Silver, Bonvoy LT TIT, Hyatt Explorist, HH Silver, Caesars PLT
Posts: 7,258
Originally Posted by Exec_Plat
I arrived from SYD into DFW yesterday...after clearing customs, got a PreCheck BP from the agent downstairs (both of us GE) and went upstairs.

Of course they dont have a precheck lane when you get up from customs, but walk down a bit and they do...but...

The precheck line at D22 (I think) was a mess. The rent a guard was demanding everyone with Precheck stay in precheck. There were 30+ people in precheck, zero in 'priority' and 4-5 in the standard line.

We were in First, and she wouldnt respond to my question about using the priority lane. As I was with Mrs. ExecPlat, she was giving me dagger stares, so I did not simply walk past the guard. Dearly wanted to, and would have if alone....

She was not letting anyone with the word 'precheck' into any other lane.

I will admit this is the worst imbalance Id ever seen.
One observation, when the PreCheck line is often long and Priority is short, people go through Priority with PreCheck and then the <redacted> essentially let them cut over the the PreCheck lane. I've seen it happen enough that I've given someone who decided to say that's what they were doing out loud a piece of my mind (I think I actually scared the <redacted> that was about to let him cut in front of me).

Last edited by JDiver; May 21, 16 at 12:37 pm Reason: Redacted prohibited disrespectful language
aamilesslave is offline  
Old Apr 9, 16, 8:16 am
  #66  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,644
Originally Posted by aamilesslave
One observation, when the PreCheck line is often long and Priority is short, people go through Priority with PreCheck and then the <redacted> essentially let them cut over the the PreCheck lane. I've seen it happen enough that I've given someone who decided to say that's what they were doing out loud a piece of my mind (I think I actually scared the <redacted> that was about to let him cut in front of me).
I once had a guy try something similar, only he just cut back across into PreCheck after having his ID checked in the priority line when none of the TSA folks were paying attention.

I found it pretty satisfying to point this out to the PreCheck ID checker and watch him get pulled back to the non-Precheck security regime, but was pretty disappointed that was the entirety of the consequence for someone blatantly attempting to cross over into a different security regime.

Last edited by JDiver; May 21, 16 at 12:38 pm
jordyn is offline  
Old Apr 9, 16, 4:20 pm
  #67  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: PHL and beyond
Programs: AA CK, Marriott Platinum, Hertz PC
Posts: 246
One observation: I can't get Precheck (non-perm resident) and used to get it in my BP every time I flew AA, but not US.

Since the merger, it's been hit and miss.

Then I was enrolled in Airpass and I have an Airpass logo where Precheck would be. The TSA router glances and assumes it's Precheck, then one of two things happens:

- I have to persuade him/her that I'm not Precheck but Priority instead
- I go in the Precheck lane and then get kicked out by the next TSA agent checking the BP

Major UX fail
jmappleby is offline  
Old Apr 9, 16, 11:50 pm
  #68  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: US
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 1,753
Originally Posted by Exec_Plat
The precheck line at D22 (I think) was a mess. The rent a guard was demanding everyone with Precheck stay in precheck. There were 30+ people in precheck, zero in 'priority' and 4-5 in the standard line.

We were in First, and she wouldnt respond to my question about using the priority lane. As I was with Mrs. ExecPlat, she was giving me dagger stares, so I did not simply walk past the guard. Dearly wanted to, and would have if alone....

She was not letting anyone with the word 'precheck' into any other lane.

I will admit this is the worst imbalance Id ever seen.
^ Had the same experience (full Pre✓ line, empty Priority line) at ORD last month and the AA/contract agent at the entrance to the queue wouldn't let me cross over.

Considering how freely TSA is giving Pre✓ to people who haven't enrolled in it and have no idea what it is, maybe there should be a Priority Pre✓ lane now.
ThreeJulietTango is offline  
Old Apr 10, 16, 11:49 pm
  #69  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AZ
Programs: AA Million Miler, Bonvoy Lifetime Gold, Global Entry
Posts: 223
My experience at PHX T2 is that often the TSA PRe-check line is much longer than the regular line. I just get in the regular line and have never had a problem. Occasionally they will recognize I have Pre-check when they check my boarding pass and ID and allow me in the precheck XRAY line so I don't have to remove my shoes or my laptop. The best of both worlds.
scottinaz is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 6:50 am
  #70  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago O'Hare
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT 2.6MM, HHonors Lifetime Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle
Posts: 678
Originally Posted by ThreeJulietTango
^ Had the same experience (full Pre✓ line, empty Priority line) at ORD last month and the AA/contract agent at the entrance to the queue wouldn't let me cross over.

Considering how freely TSA is giving Pre✓ to people who haven't enrolled in it and have no idea what it is, maybe there should be a Priority Pre✓ lane now.
Did you try the Precheck lane at checkpoint 7 instead of 8? That's usually the trick that gets me through quickly. With all the LCC's sending people over to the small checkpoint 8 (used to only be for AA elites platinum and higher back in the day), I rarely use it nowadays.
akarneboge is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 7:51 am
  #71  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Programs: AA Platinum, MPC Gold, United Prem Gold
Posts: 558
Originally Posted by akarneboge
Did you try the Precheck lane at checkpoint 7 instead of 8? That's usually the trick that gets me through quickly. With all the LCC's sending people over to the small checkpoint 8 (used to only be for AA elites platinum and higher back in the day), I rarely use it nowadays.
I was at ORD last week on a weekday afternoon. Stopped by checkpoint 8 first, super long line. I asked the attendant at the security check point about TSA-pre and she directed me to check point 7. Line was just as long, wrapped back and forth and out all the way out to the middle of the check-in hall. Guess TSA-pre isn't that exclusive anymore these days.
nightkhan is offline  
Old Apr 14, 16, 8:02 am
  #72  
Moderator: American AAdvantage & TravelBuzz
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 10,293
Originally Posted by nightkhan
I was at ORD last week on a weekday afternoon. Stopped by checkpoint 8 first, super long line. I asked the attendant at the security check point about TSA-pre and she directed me to check point 7. Line was just as long, wrapped back and forth and out all the way out to the middle of the check-in hall. Guess TSA-pre isn't that exclusive anymore these days.
Ugh - same frustration last week. Transfered over to T3 after my international arrival and headed to the big "TSA Pre" sign. Showed the person there my boarding pass, who said "no Precheck here...go to check point 7" and went back to checking boarding passes. I had to flag down another employee to ask "where the heck is check point 7??"

Why have the big TSA Pre sign posted if there's no bloddy TSA Pre there?!? Sigh...<deep breaths>...
JY1024 is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 12:25 pm
  #73  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MIA/LAS
Programs: AA Platinum, Hilton Gold, Starwood PLT
Posts: 572
If I'm already a "trusted traveler" because I was asked to join the pilot program back in 2011 but I never received a Membership Number/PASSID or any sort of CBP traveler card, do I still have to go through the application process for Global Entry or can I get waived in?

To clarify, I get pre-check most of the time I travel, but I have no membership card or number associated with my pre-check.
Panamajon513 is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 12:32 pm
  #74  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Programs: AS 75K; BA Silver; AA G
Posts: 14,994
Originally Posted by Panamajon513
If I'm already a "trusted traveler" because I was asked to join the pilot program back in 2011 but I never received a Membership Number/PASSID or any sort of CBP traveler card, do I still have to go through the application process for Global Entry or can I get waived in?

To clarify, I get pre-check most of the time I travel, but I have no membership card or number associated with my pre-check.
You have to go through the application process for GE or Nexus (or pre-check). The airline frequent flyer as trusted traveler is being phased out, most have already seen their access to precheck seriously cut back. Review the wiki where this is all explained.
jerry a. laska is offline  
Old May 17, 16, 12:35 pm
  #75  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: MSN
Programs: AA, BAEC Silver
Posts: 3,788
Originally Posted by jerry a. laska
You have to go through the application process for GE or Nexus (or pre-check).
If you don't qualify for GE or Nexus, or you don't travel abroad and wish to save the $25, or can't readily get to a CBP interview point then there is the TSA Pre-Check only scheme with more places to interview.
MADPhil is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread