Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

TSA Pre-Check / PreCheck Known Traveler program for AA FFs (2016 onwards)

Old Jan 1, 17, 7:52 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Dynastar
Are you adding your KTN but not getting PreCheck? You can ask the TSA to tell you why! Search for "AskTSA" on Twitter or Facebook and send them a private message, they can look up your record number and tell you what the issue was.

TSA Pre-Check / PreCheck Known Traveler program for AA FFs (consolidated)

You are eligible to be selected (on a flight-by-flight basis) for TSA PreCheck expedited screening if:
  • You are a frequent American Airlines flyer that have been invited by American Airlines to participate and followed the instructions on the email to accept, or/and
    • You participate in a "Trusted Traveler" program (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI and/or TSA PreCheck application program) and have entered your "Known Traveler ID" in the reservation
      • If you're using your AAdvantage number, you can enter the "Known Traveler ID" in the Personal Information and Password tab of My Account) so it will auto-populate in all new reservations bearing the AAdvantage number made anywhere
        • If your reservation doesn't have your AAdvantage number, you can retrieve it and add the "Known Traveler ID" to it. The method is not very intuitive: on AA.com click on my trips, then on view all, then on find my reservation and enter either the record locator (if you know it), or the flight information using the AA operating flight number (not any eventual codeshare number from another airline).
          • Your Secure Flight Information (name, sex, DOB) in the reservation must match the one with the program (except for "middle" or other names, which are ignored) (name on ticket does not matter)
            • You will find your "Known Traveler ID" on the GOES website or on your program's card, under the name "PASSID". It is either 9 digits or the letters TT plus 7 digits



You will know if you have been selected on a particular flight if the wording or logo "TSA PreCheck" appear on your boarding pass.

NOTE: 20 May 2016: "Todays announcement makes a total of 16 carriers that participate in TSA Pre✓: Aeromexico, Air Canada, Alaska Airlines, Allegiant, American Airlines, Cape Air, Delta Air Lines, Etihad Airways, Hawaiian Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Seaborne Airlines, Southwest Airlines, Sun Country Airlines, United Airlines, Virgin America and WestJet.

Passengers who are eligible for TSA Pre✓ include: members of the TSA Pre✓ application program, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Trusted Traveler program, Global Entry, and Canadian citizens who are members of CBPs NEXUS program. TSA Pre✓ is also available for U.S. Armed Forces service members, including those serving in the U.S. Coast Guard, Reserves and National Guard."

Link

How it works

In the Pre-Check lane, you no longer need to remove the following items:

  • Shoes (some, such as steel-toed shoes, may require removal)
    • 3-1-1 compliant bag from your carry-on (all liquid restrictions still apply)
      • Laptop from your bag (if electronics are stacked on top of each other, they require removal)
        • Light outerwear or jacket
          • Belt (large belt buckles may require removal)
            • Pre-Check Lanes are WTMD only-- No NoS in use

LOCATIONS

Link to FlyerGuide Wiki listing of American Airlines (only) PreCheck checkpoints.

Link to FT thread AA Airport / Concourse TSA PreCheck - Hours [only] (may not be current)

See also post 1 of this thread. (It contains much additional info in the Moderator's Note.)

NOTE: PreCheck is changing to a Trusted Traveler (GE/NEXUS/SENTRI) -like program, where anyone will be able apply and pay USD $85 (online or at a PreCheck enrollment center), be vetted for approval, present proof of identification and be fingerprinted at a PreCheck enrollment center (IAD and IND, opening Fall 2013, will be thie first), and be granted PreCheck status for five years from that time. It will not be airline - or airline status - tied.

"Current PreCheck participants, including those eligible via a CBP Trusted Traveler Program such as Global Entry, will continue to receive PreCheck eligibility. Participants who opted-in through their airline frequent flyer program may want to consider applying for PreCheck, as they are more likely to be selected for PreCheck expedited screening more often if they are vetted via the PreCheck application process." Link.
Trusted Traveler (Global Entry, Nexus, Sentri) and Having Problems with PreCheck?




If you belong to one of the Trusted Traveler Programs listed above, you may run into issues getting PreCheck clearance if your Secure Flight Data is not an exact match to the data that you entered into your application on the GOES (Global Online Enrollment System) website when you applied for your TT membership.

For example, if your airline account has Bob Jones, but your GOES account has Bob James Jones, then the TSA may not be associating your information properly when it "decides" who can and can not have access. Additionally, if your PASS ID # (listed above in the screen-shots) is not an exact match, there will be a mismatch when TSA processes your information, and you will not receive PreCheck.

To ensure you receive PreCheck on all flights (domestic & internatioal), be sure to ensure the information in your AA profile is accurate. The name on the ticket does not matter- the "Secure Flight Data" is what is used to determine PreCheck status.


Signed in members with 90 days / 90 posts can edit this Wikipost; wiki contents may be printed by using the (lower right wiki corner)



TSA Pre✓ / PreCheck / Pre Check Issues, Changes, etc.
Known issues:

  • Not every airport or terminal offers the TSA Pre✓ program

    • TSA Pre✓ may have limited or irregular hours or closed at times without notice

      • TSA Pre✓ members are still be subject to random selection for intensified screening

        • TSA Pre✓ program has changed from an airline elite invitation program to a fee-based program with certain screening requirements

          • If one's TSA Pre✓ status is from the pilot invitation program and one doesn't have a Known Traveler Number ("KTN"), TSA Pre✓ status may not carry on to another airline and one may experience increasing denials (not having the TSA Pre✓ printed on boarding pass and being sent to the regular TSA screening queues



Link to TSA Application Program and TSA Pre✓ program information, links

Changes to TSA Pre✓

TSA Pre✓ was originally offered by certain airlines to their elite status members. These TSA Pre✓ members do not have a Known Traveler Number from a USDHS trusted traveler program (GOES / Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI or the new $85 fee based TSA Pre✓ Application Program offered to the flying public with 5 year renewal), making TSA Pre✓ status portability challenging. See the DHS Trusted Traveler programs listing and comparison chart here. Please read the following:

From American Airlines, April 2015:

This month, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) is making changes to the TSA Pre✓ Trusted Traveler Program that will impact which travelers receive expedited screening. If you're not already a member of one of the Trusted Traveler programs like Global Entry or the TSA Pre✓ Application Program, you will probably see a decline in how often you receive expedited screening, even if you've previously "opted-in" through a frequent flyer program.

The best way to increase your chances of receiving TSA Pre✓ on a regular basis is to register for a Trusted Traveler Program with the Department of Homeland Security at dhs.gov/tt. Once you receive your Known Traveler Number (KTN) from TSA, be sure you update your AAdvantage profile.

To add your KTN to your AAdvantage profile:
  • Login to your account on aa.com and select My Account from the AAdvantage menu
    • Within My Account, go to the Information and Password tab
      • Add your Customs and Border Protection 9-digit PASS ID to your secure traveler information



For more information on TSA Pre✓, visit tsa.gov/tsa-precheck.


Print Wikipost

TSA Pre-Check / PreCheck Known Traveler program for AA FFs (2016 onwards)

Old Jan 29, 16, 9:07 am
  #46  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SAN
Programs: AA EXP/LT Plat (4 MM), SPG LT Plat (Bonvoy doesnt exist to me), HH Diamond via cc, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,713
Originally Posted by jdw0624
Of course I did not have pre check today. I asked the ticket agent what was up. He said that the CPB systems are not taking to TSA since Jnauary 1 2016. I stopped in he precheck office at SAN and they confirmed. All trusted travelers-Global Entry. nexus or Sentri are not getting precheck because of a system linkage issue. Just crazy.
For those blasting this poster, there *is* truth to this, but this post is not accurate in its entirety. It's the SENTRI program - and only SENTRI - that's having issues. Not *all* the trusted traveler programs as originally posted.

Take a look at what this poster and Speeder2000 and I all have in common (hint, it's an airport that borders Mexico where SENTRI is used).

TSA has said they're working on the issue and hope to have it resolved in a few weeks, but no firm date. They did say that I could convert / apply to a "regular" pre-check or even global entry membership and that would solve the problem, but I use SENTRI once a month so I can't do that.
SAN-man is offline  
Old Jan 29, 16, 12:03 pm
  #47  
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeShangri-La Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ORD
Posts: 4,006
Originally Posted by Majuki
I usually barge past the AirServ employees. I haven't been to JFK for a year, but I thought there was a bp checker with a scanner before you get in line? Or did they remove the scanner?
I've tried that at ORD and MSP (terminal 2) and each time they basically yelled and ran after me. It seems to be a great opportunity to put in smart gates that only allow people in with pre check.
United747 is online now  
Old Feb 8, 16, 4:33 pm
  #48  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CLT
Programs: Marriott Plat, AA Gold
Posts: 1,076
At CLT this morning, TSA precheck customers were instructed to remove laptops, liquids, papers (??) and food (??) from bags, resulting in the longest line I've ever seen (although admittedly was probably still through in 20 mins). TSA personnel were saying "TSA precheck now only means you can keep your shoes and light jackets on." Anyone else go through precheck at CLT this morning (or is this happening anywhere else)?
GoPhils is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 5:09 pm
  #49  
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeShangri-La Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ORD
Posts: 4,006
Originally Posted by GoPhils
At CLT this morning, TSA precheck customers were instructed to remove laptops, liquids, papers (??) and food (??) from bags, resulting in the longest line I've ever seen (although admittedly was probably still through in 20 mins). TSA personnel were saying "TSA precheck now only means you can keep your shoes and light jackets on." Anyone else go through precheck at CLT this morning (or is this happening anywhere else)?
Never heard this before, but regarding taking out papers, I had a big book in my backpack last month. Screener took it aside and when seeing the book he mentioned that they look like bombs in the picture.
United747 is online now  
Old Feb 8, 16, 7:53 pm
  #50  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: TUL
Programs: AA EXP 2MM; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond; Hyatt Explorist; Vistana 5* Elite; Nat'l Exec Elite
Posts: 6,177
Originally Posted by GoPhils
At CLT this morning, TSA precheck customers were instructed to remove laptops, liquids, papers (??) and food (??) from bags, resulting in the longest line I've ever seen (although admittedly was probably still through in 20 mins). TSA personnel were saying "TSA precheck now only means you can keep your shoes and light jackets on." Anyone else go through precheck at CLT this morning (or is this happening anywhere else)?
The current TSA website does not state this. It has not changed:

No need to remove:
Shoes
Laptops
3-1-1 liquids
Belts
Light jackets

https://www.tsa.gov/tsa-precheck/par...n-tsa-precheck

It appears the TSA agent in CLT today was using the guidelines the smaller airports use for TSA pre-check which amounts to nothing more than keeping one's shoes and light jacket on. Everything else is like non TSA pre-check.
controller1 is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 9:36 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SW Michigan, ex SF Bay Area
Posts: 699
Originally Posted by GoPhils
At CLT this morning, TSA precheck customers were instructed to remove laptops, liquids, papers (??) and food (??) from bags, resulting in the longest line I've ever seen (although admittedly was probably still through in 20 mins). TSA personnel were saying "TSA precheck now only means you can keep your shoes and light jackets on." Anyone else go through precheck at CLT this morning (or is this happening anywhere else)?
We went through Pre✓ at CLT yesterday afternoon. It was the normal Pre✓ experience. I wonder what would have changed between yesterday and today, besides the Panthers losing?

We went through checkpoint B, in case that makes any difference.
Rare is offline  
Old Feb 8, 16, 10:19 pm
  #52  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeast Kansas | Colorado Native
Programs: Amex, UA *G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LT Gold, NEXUS, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 21,037
Originally Posted by GoPhils
At CLT this morning, TSA precheck customers were instructed to remove laptops, liquids, papers (??) and food (??) from bags, resulting in the longest line I've ever seen (although admittedly was probably still through in 20 mins). TSA personnel were saying "TSA precheck now only means you can keep your shoes and light jackets on." Anyone else go through precheck at CLT this morning (or is this happening anywhere else)?
Did they let everybody use the WTMD?

I can think of two things- 1) they were understaffed, so they were running "expedited security", which is what is used for airports that don't have a full PreCheck line. 2) They are trying to react to the laptop bomb that exploded on the Daallo Airlines A321 en-route to JIB.
FriendlySkies is online now  
Old Feb 9, 16, 12:26 am
  #53  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: OC, CA
Programs: AA EXP, 2MM, HH Diamond
Posts: 797
Originally Posted by GoPhils
At CLT this morning, TSA precheck customers were instructed to remove laptops, liquids, papers (??) and food (??) from bags, resulting in the longest line I've ever seen (although admittedly was probably still through in 20 mins). TSA personnel were saying "TSA precheck now only means you can keep your shoes and light jackets on." Anyone else go through precheck at CLT this morning (or is this happening anywhere else)?
Was there a dedicated precheck line? I have run into this at several airports where there wasn't a security scanner dedicated to a separate precheck line, but they still identified precheck passengers. PHX and SJC come to mind (at certain checkpoints and certain times of day).
hbtr is offline  
Old Feb 9, 16, 6:13 am
  #54  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: CLT
Programs: Marriott Plat, AA Gold
Posts: 1,076
Originally Posted by controller1
The current TSA website does not state this. It has not changed:

No need to remove:
Shoes
Laptops
3-1-1 liquids
Belts
Light jackets

https://www.tsa.gov/tsa-precheck/par...n-tsa-precheck

It appears the TSA agent in CLT today was using the guidelines the smaller airports use for TSA pre-check which amounts to nothing more than keeping one's shoes and light jacket on. Everything else is like non TSA pre-check.
Yeah afterwards I googled and didn't see anything about it so figured it wasn't official. There was one queue going to I believe 4 x-ray lines with a good amount of TSA employees around, and although it was only one person yelling the directions, no one was really correcting her. I believe I may have heard one of them say "I'm not sure why she's saying that," but not 100% sure.

Originally Posted by Rare
We went through Pre✓ at CLT yesterday afternoon. It was the normal Pre✓ experience. I wonder what would have changed between yesterday and today, besides the Panthers losing?

We went through checkpoint B, in case that makes any difference.
I went through B as well. Haha I don't know, the whole airport did seem a little out of it maybe due to the Panthers, before getting to security they must have let 25 cars into one of the long-term lots despite there not being any available spaces.

Originally Posted by FriendlySkies
Did they let everybody use the WTMD?

I can think of two things- 1) they were understaffed, so they were running "expedited security", which is what is used for airports that don't have a full PreCheck line. 2) They are trying to react to the laptop bomb that exploded on the Daallo Airlines A321 en-route to JIB.
I believe they were using both the regular metal detector and the full body scanner. It was a dedicated precheck line, so maybe it was reason #2, the lady kept saying "these are the directions we got from headquarters."
GoPhils is offline  
Old Feb 15, 16, 7:24 am
  #55  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
CLT Pre

I went through the B Pre Check today and got hit with the same remove papers thing. When I nicely questioned the Tsa agent she informed me it was now required AT ALL PRECHECK STATIONS, and then added TSA makes the rules! I had earlier in the morning gone through PRECHECK for my first leg at ILM where all was as usual. I have noticed over the past several months that the B (now all PRECHECK) checkpoint has lines out into the main isle and appears to be no different than regular security. E checkpoint PRECHECK lines are usually shorter and the screening the usual PRECHECK process. Anyone go through E today?

Last edited by Microwave; Feb 15, 16 at 7:26 am Reason: Removed quote of 4+ year old post
dvalliere is offline  
Old Mar 29, 16, 10:59 am
  #56  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Southern Cal
Programs: UA, AA, Delta, Marriott
Posts: 109
We got PreCheck going out on our trip (AA1st), but not yesterday. The lines weren't long anyway. I forgot to take my shoes off, and the TSA agent waved me right into the scanner without blinking. Naturally there was no problem that I was not a safe traveler, etc.
Scott Kiwi is offline  
Old Mar 29, 16, 4:32 pm
  #57  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AAdvantage PP
Posts: 13,913
Even though I never signed up for TSA (interviews and $85, have it through aa) I have gotten Pre Check 90% of the time, even when I fly DL. I haven't flown International in a couple of years so for now not having GE is not a problem. As long as I am batting 9 out of 10 why should I go through the hassle of an interview not to mention giving the government $85. Not to mention at some airports like MIA the timing difference between PreCheck and the normal screening line is becoming minimal.
MiamiAirport Formerly NY George is offline  
Old Mar 29, 16, 7:18 pm
  #58  
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Sacramento, CA
Programs: AA Exec Plat, Hyatt,Marriott,BA,AS
Posts: 4,349
Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge
Even though I never signed up for TSA (interviews and $85, have it through aa) I have gotten Pre Check 90% of the time, even when I fly DL. I haven't flown International in a couple of years so for now not having GE is not a problem. As long as I am batting 9 out of 10 why should I go through the hassle of an interview not to mention giving the government $85. Not to mention at some airports like MIA the timing difference between PreCheck and the normal screening line is becoming minimal.
I thought the TSA was suppose to have stopped this a month or so ago.
JIMCHI is offline  
Old Mar 29, 16, 7:27 pm
  #59  
In Memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Benicia CA
Programs: Alaska MVP Gold 75K, AA 3.8MM, UA 1.1MM, enjoying the retired life
Posts: 31,850
Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge
As long as I am batting 9 out of 10 why should I go through the hassle of an interview not to mention giving the government $85. Not to mention at some airports like MIA the timing difference between PreCheck and the normal screening line is becoming minimal.
I'd agree with you about not paying if you can hold that record. I was upwards of 90% when the initial program began with AA, but last year dropped to about 50% and this year only getting pre-check about 33% of the time (over 30 domestic segments). A few weeks ago the regular TSA line at SFO had 200 people in it at 6 in the morning. Fortunately, that was one of those days I did randomly get precheck, but made up my mind right there to get Global Entry which includes precheck. I've already had my interview at SFO. Figure at about $20 a year it's worth it for me. All you need to do is look at recent media coverage about security lines at some airports (thinking MSP and DEN) and figure I'm eventually going to get stuck in one of those. With quite a bit of summer travel booked, I've finally come around to precheck or Global Entry having some value.
tom911 is offline  
Old Apr 7, 16, 5:54 pm
  #60  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Programs: AA EXP...couple hotels and cars too
Posts: 4,295
I arrived from SYD into DFW yesterday...after clearing customs, got a PreCheck BP from the agent downstairs (both of us GE) and went upstairs.

Of course they dont have a precheck lane when you get up from customs, but walk down a bit and they do...but...

The precheck line at D22 (I think) was a mess. The rent a guard was demanding everyone with Precheck stay in precheck. There were 30+ people in precheck, zero in 'priority' and 4-5 in the standard line.

We were in First, and she wouldnt respond to my question about using the priority lane. As I was with Mrs. ExecPlat, she was giving me dagger stares, so I did not simply walk past the guard. Dearly wanted to, and would have if alone....

She was not letting anyone with the word 'precheck' into any other lane.

I will admit this is the worst imbalance Id ever seen.
Exec_Plat is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread