Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Please help. On LAX-HKG now And About to miss connection in HKG

Please help. On LAX-HKG now And About to miss connection in HKG

Old Nov 21, 16, 4:58 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LHR
Programs: Accor PLT,Thai Silver, HH Dia, SPG PLT (LT Gold), TK Gold, M&M S, BA Silver, Hyatt Dia
Posts: 4,573
Why not ask them if they will route you to DPS on the 10:00 flight. Will not hurt to try.
ExpatSomchai is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:01 pm
  #17  
Original Poster
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AA EXP, IHG Spire, IC Amb
Posts: 4,060
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
How do you use DL miles to fly HKG-DPS nonstop? Is that a GA route?
YES.

22.5k Skymiles for each.

Originally Posted by ExpatSomchai View Post
Why not ask them if they will route you to DPS on the 10:00 flight. Will not hurt to try.
I will ask.

Last edited by JY1024; Nov 21, 16 at 5:12 pm Reason: Merged consecutive posts
355F1 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:11 pm
  #18  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ORD + HKG
Programs: CX Diamond, AA exExPlat, BAEC Gold, HH Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Starriott Gold, GE
Posts: 2,846
Following this thread - am doing exactly this (except to TYO) in 3 days...hoping everything works out for you OP.

Last thing that I want to do is to call the EXP desk at HKG and get a clueless agent...
G-CIVC is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:12 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,900
Tweet to AA to be rebooked!
surftb15 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:14 pm
  #20  
Original Poster
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AA EXP, IHG Spire, IC Amb
Posts: 4,060
Originally Posted by surftb15 View Post
Tweet to AA to be rebooked!
Sorry. I don't use any form of social media.
355F1 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:21 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,900
Originally Posted by 355F1 View Post
Sorry. I don't use any form of social media.
So make an account and tweet them to get rebooked!
surftb15 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:23 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LHR
Programs: Accor PLT,Thai Silver, HH Dia, SPG PLT (LT Gold), TK Gold, M&M S, BA Silver, Hyatt Dia
Posts: 4,573
Yes GA do fly that route
ExpatSomchai is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:27 pm
  #23  
formerly gemini573
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: LAX, HKG, and BKK
Programs: CX DM (Emerald), former Hyatt DM, and current Marriott Gold.
Posts: 2,216
See if the AA ground agent can put you on GA 857 to DPS, departing at 15:45 or GA 863 to CGK departing at 17:10.
77W_12A is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:29 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DCA
Programs: DL DM, AA EXP, various hotel
Posts: 2,011
Originally Posted by 355F1 View Post
Sorry. I don't use any form of social media.
I use twitter mainly to communicate with airlines. Just sign up for an account--no point in missing a potential rebooking option on principle.
SamOF is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 5:37 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 2,239
Originally Posted by ESpen36 View Post
If you try at the CX lounges, expect sympathy but not much in the way of actual help. CX lounge receptionists do not really handle much in the realm of ticketing or reaccommodation, and definitely not on a ticket issued by AA. (For example, it is a big deal for them to do even just a seat change on a CX metal flight.)
I've actually had the CX lounge agents, both at HKG and at outports, help me quite a few times with rebooking flights. Granted, two notes: (1) I am a MPC Gold member as well, and (2) to your point, it seems like they don't do the ticketing or reaccommodation themselves, instead calling reservations to take care of it. That said, they have always been happy and willing to help. And I've changed seats on CX metal flights at the lounge many more times, each time taking about 20 seconds.
dkc192 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 6:08 pm
  #26  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: HH Gold, AA Gold
Posts: 10,077
Originally Posted by pinniped View Post
I'd have done the same thing. So would a lot of people here.
Yes, but I would never have booked a 1 hour connection. But it's already said and done.
formeraa is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 7:02 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,674
CX will likely have an agent meeting you in HKG unless the flight is so late there is no chance of making the connection.

If you do miss it you should tell them at rebooking your final destination is DPS. They may put you on CX785.
1010101 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 7:04 pm
  #28  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 24,092
Originally Posted by 355F1 View Post
Sorry. I don't use any form of social media.
ijgordon is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 7:07 pm
  #29  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 87,562
Originally Posted by 77W_12A View Post
See if the AA ground agent can put you on GA 857 to DPS, departing at 15:45 or GA 863 to CGK departing at 17:10.
AA is much more likely to be willing to rebook the OP and GF on CX rather than GA.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 7:09 pm
  #30  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Programs: OWEmerald; STARGold; SPGPlat; PCPlat/Amb; HiltonDiamond; CarlsonGold; A|ClubPat; AirMilesGold
Posts: 38,127
Not sure why AA or CX would rebook to DPS since the ticket is only valid to CGK. OP cooked his goose by not giving himself a long enough buffer at CGK. (Not to mention, AirAsia will cancel the return if he's a no-show. Might try to change that ticket online, or use Skype to call and rebook a later flight from CGK to DPS.) Given late arrival, go through transit security and to the connections desk if not met by a CX agent coming off the plane.
Shareholder is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: