Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Due to schedule change, I have 40 min at CLT, but AA won't let me change? (to merge)

Due to schedule change, I have 40 min at CLT, but AA won't let me change? (to merge)

Old Jul 23, 16, 1:07 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 380
Due to schedule change, I have 40 min at CLT, but AA won't let me change? (to merge)

I received an email from AA that advised me of a schedule change on my upcoming flight in 11 days.

The incoming flight is now scheduled to arrived 27 minutes later. This leaves me exactly 40 minutes connecting time at CLT. (mainline to express) I will be checking two bags. At 5pm, I just don't see how I'm going to make it unless I run like a maniac. For example, today's flight status shows the same incoming flight arriving at gate A11 and the connecting flight leaving from gate E32.

I called AA and the agent was very sympathetic. However, she said I would have to pay the change fee if I wanted to change my flights.

Is 40-minute connection considered a legal minimum connecting time at CLT?
Siberian_Viktorya is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 1:12 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 5,271
Originally Posted by Siberian_Viktorya View Post
I received an email from AA that advised me of a schedule change on my upcoming flight in 11 days.

The incoming flight is now scheduled to arrived 27 minutes later. This leaves me exactly 40 minutes connecting time at CLT. (mainline to express) I will be checking two bags. At 5pm, I just don't see how I'm going to make it unless I run like a maniac. For example, today's flight status shows the same incoming flight arriving at gate A11 and the connecting flight leaving from gate E32.

I called AA and the agent was very sympathetic. However, she said I would have to pay the change fee if I wanted to change my flights.

Is 40-minute connection considered a legal minimum connecting time at CLT?
According to the consolidated CLT thread, MCT is 30 minutes. However, I personally wouldn't want to schedule anything under an hour. Did you try calling back to get a different agent?
rjw242 is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 1:13 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Coast
Programs: AA CONCIERGE KEY, HILTON DIAMOND
Posts: 10,423
Originally Posted by Siberian_Viktorya View Post
I received an email from AA that advised me of a schedule change on my upcoming flight in 11 days.

The incoming flight is now scheduled to arrived 27 minutes later. This leaves me exactly 40 minutes connecting time at CLT. (mainline to express) I will be checking two bags. At 5pm, I just don't see how I'm going to make it unless I run like a maniac. For example, today's flight status shows the same incoming flight arriving at gate A11 and the connecting flight leaving from gate E32.

I called AA and the agent was very sympathetic. However, she said I would have to pay the change fee if I wanted to change my flights.

Is 40-minute connection considered a legal minimum connecting time at CLT?

Just call again... if another agent tells you the same thing, request to speak to a supervisor.
fly747first is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 1:16 pm
  #4  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 62,851
Forty minutes is the official AA domestic to domestic Minimum Connection Time for CLT.

I'd recommend the traditional "HUCA" (hang up and call again), and explain any limitations you might have that would impair your making a multi-terminals connection within that time.

NOTE: Please read http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...rport-lus.html for further information, particularly the Wikipost at the top of the page. We will ultimately merge this thread into that one. /Moderator

Last edited by JDiver; Jul 23, 16 at 1:23 pm
JDiver is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 2:16 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CLT
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 864
Originally Posted by Siberian_Viktorya View Post
For example, today's flight status shows the same incoming flight arriving at gate A11 and the connecting flight leaving from gate E32.
Gate A11 is not used by American, IIRC it is used by either Delta or United...is this a typo or are you arriving on another airline? If you're not coming in on AA, I doubt AA will make a change for you and you'll just have to hope for the best.
ACA321 is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 4:33 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 380
Originally Posted by ACA321 View Post
Gate A11 is not used by American, IIRC it is used by either Delta or United...is this a typo or are you arriving on another airline? If you're not coming in on AA, I doubt AA will make a change for you and you'll just have to hope for the best.
I' got that from flightstats.com and I'm never using them again.
Turns out the correct gates were B8 and E38A, according to AA.com
Siberian_Viktorya is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 4:36 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 380
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
Forty minutes is the official AA domestic to domestic Minimum Connection Time for CLT.

I'd recommend the traditional "HUCA" (hang up and call again), and explain any limitations you might have that would impair your making a multi-terminals connection within that time.

NOTE: Please read http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...rport-lus.html for further information, particularly the Wikipost at the top of the page. We will ultimately merge this thread into that one. /Moderator
I called again and was denied. Then I called again and spoke to another agent who changed my flights without saying anything. I'm still on the same connecting flight, but I'm arriving into CLT on an earlier flight, so I have a couple more hours between flights.
Siberian_Viktorya is offline  
Old Jul 23, 16, 8:09 pm
  #8  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 62,851
Originally Posted by Siberian_Viktorya View Post
I called again and was denied. Then I called again and spoke to another agent who changed my flights without saying anything. I'm still on the same connecting flight, but I'm arriving into CLT on an earlier flight, so I have a couple more hours between flights.
Hooray! Sometimes, HUCA works as well as Google. ��

Btw, an app I find most useful is FlightBoard. I've yet to find an airport with commercial flights it doesn't work with, it's indispensable in the UK because it gives you departure gates long before BAA does, and you can sort many ways.
JDiver is offline  
Old Jul 24, 16, 6:01 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: NYC,MIA,XFL
Programs: AA EXP, B6 Mosaic, DL PM
Posts: 861
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post

Btw, an app I find most useful is FlightBoard. I've yet to find an airport with commercial flights it doesn't work with, it's indispensable in the UK because it gives you departure gates long before BAA does, and you can sort many ways.
Flightboard is currently free for Android through the Amazon App store
jay_dubya is offline  
Old Jul 24, 16, 6:21 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PHL
Programs: AA - Platinum, HHonors - Diamond, IHG - Plat, Marriott - Gold, National - Executive, NEXUS
Posts: 1,065
MCT for domestic mainline-express at CLT is 35 minutes.

AA-AA DD .35 FLT 1 - 2754 - FLT 2755 - 6099
pa3lsvt is offline  
Old Jul 24, 16, 6:30 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AAdvantage PP
Posts: 13,498
E38A to B8 would have been a haul. Arrive 15 minutes late and you may have been SOL.
MiamiAirport Formerly NY George is online now  
Old Jul 24, 16, 4:57 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 31
Its doable in 10-12 minutes once your off the plane. At a brisk walk.
redghost is offline  
Old Jul 26, 16, 4:56 pm
  #13  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 62,851
A reminder: Supporting, encouraging or promoting illegal activity or fraud upon an individual or company is prohibited.

Posts advocating or discussing the use of disability services fraudulently have been deleted.

/Moderator
JDiver is offline  
Old Jul 26, 16, 6:27 pm
  #14  
nrr
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: jfk area
Programs: AA platinum; 2MM AA, Delta Diamond, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 9,546
(1)Moving walkways speed connections. On two different trips (3 weeks apart), a crucial mw was out of service at CLT. I think it has now been fixed.
(2)At times the crowds at CLT can impede efficient movement between gates.
(3)If OP should have to use a restroom (this does happen) a close connection could become impossible.
(4)A possible inbound delay could make a "legal" conn "illegal"
nrr is online now  
Old Jul 26, 16, 9:32 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 380
Originally Posted by nrr View Post
(1)Moving walkways speed connections. On two different trips (3 weeks apart), a crucial mw was out of service at CLT. I think it has now been fixed.
(2)At times the crowds at CLT can impede efficient movement between gates.
(3)If OP should have to use a restroom (this does happen) a close connection could become impossible.
(4)A possible inbound delay could make a "legal" conn "illegal"

I agree with you on (2).... why are there so many people everywhere at CLT? Most don't seem to understand the moving walkways are not there to "move" them around and that they are supposed to be walking on the walkway as well.

As for restrooms, I do not use restrooms at CLT if I can help it. I really do not enjoy attendants watching my every move. (but if the restroom is crowded, then I use it)
Siberian_Viktorya is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: