Same flight nbr and two segs problem

Old Feb 4, 16, 11:55 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Alexandria, Va. USA
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, DL Silver, UA Gold, *A Gold, OW Emerald
Posts: 1,492
Same flight nbr and two segs problem

On the 26 Jan, 2015, I traveled on AA flight 0523 from MCI to PHX to RNO. I attempted using the airport kiosks to upgrade one or more segments. "Upgrades are not available on all flights". I inquired at DCA (my origin). Customer service told me that I cannot upgrade segments on a multistop flight with one flight number. I asked for a better seat on one of the two. She was able to do this for me. She said I could not do that at a kiosk. Is this a computer glitch? She spoke as if this is American's policy.
Orion is offline  
Old Feb 4, 16, 12:02 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: UA-Plat, AA - EXP, SPG-Gold
Posts: 164
She is correct.
chgodude is offline  
Old Feb 4, 16, 1:17 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MDE
Programs: AA-PLT, HH-GLD, PP
Posts: 1,501
Apparently you can do it on international flights. I flew ATL-MIA-MDE or the same flight number (and metal). They allowed me to do a sticker upgrade for ATL-MIA, but only at the airport by an agent. I could not request it online.
coolcoil is offline  
Old Feb 4, 16, 1:22 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,592
As mentioned, she is correct - on the plus side , if upgrading the whole way, it will only count as a single flight for upgrades and the number of upgrade credits will be that for the distance of the journey, rather than 2 sets of upgrade credits being needed

MCI-PHX plus PHX-RNO would seem to require 3+2 = 5 upgrade credits ( 1044mi. plus 601mi, ) whilst MCI-RNO on the same flight number would require just 3 upgrade credits since MCI-RNO is approx 1337 mi.
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Feb 5, 16, 6:03 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Alexandria, Va. USA
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, DL Silver, UA Gold, *A Gold, OW Emerald
Posts: 1,492
Thanks for your input

I wanted to upgrade both segments and she said it was impossible. Perhaps there was no availability but I would at least have liked to have been on the list.
Orion is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: