Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

What's the deal with AA.com [merger-related web site issues]

What's the deal with AA.com [merger-related web site issues]

Old Mar 30, 15, 7:53 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD | Chicago O'Hare
Programs: UA-LifetimePremierGold, PLT: Bonvoy, IHG, GLD: Enterprise, Budget
Posts: 244
Am getting this same message (website validate-sc.www.aa.com cannot be resolved). Firefox on Windows 7.

Originally Posted by AZ Travels the World View Post
Maybe someone can help me figure out how to get past this. This started today.

On my Windows desktop machine using Firefox, I go to my bookmark for aa.com, or I manually type aa.com and I get this message:

Sorry, the website validate-sjc.www.aa.com cannot be found


It resolves to this URL:
http ://finder.cox.net/main?InterceptSource=0&ClientLocation=us&Participa ntID=96e687opkbv4scrood8k84drs6gw5duf&FailureMode= 1&SearchQuery=&FailedURI=http%3A%2F%2Fvalidate-sjc. http://www.aa.com%2F%3Fv_locale%3Den...n=0&method=GET
I can't seem to do anything. Manually deleting cookies and history has had no impact.

I know aa.com is up, as I can access it via my MacBook on the same wireless network.

Any ideas how I can get past this and connected to the AA website on my primary computer?

Thank you!
nsx1164 is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 9:40 pm
  #32  
BCH
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,247
For the time being, you can try to access your bookings, AAdvantage accounts, etc by going to www.aa.co.uk. That seems to work.
BCH is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 10:24 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 73
Looks like a redirect. I don't claim to be an expert, but if your ISP is redirecting you can specify DNS servers to bypass your ISP's. Some info here: http://www.wikihow.com/Opt-out-of-DNS-Redirection I haven't done this myself but should, one day Comcast DNS was non-functional and I wish I had configured alternate DNS entries.
UrbanDweller is offline  
Old Mar 31, 15, 2:09 am
  #34  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SAN, IND or SIB
Programs: double EX-PLT
Posts: 74
My win 8 PC gives me
Pale Moon can't find the server at validate-sjc.www.aa.com

but a Virtualbox VM running XP works if I enable RC4-SHA
jaytcsd is offline  
Old Mar 31, 15, 9:01 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD | Chicago O'Hare
Programs: UA-LifetimePremierGold, PLT: Bonvoy, IHG, GLD: Enterprise, Budget
Posts: 244
access to aa.com seems fine on Chrome browser

Was able to access aa.com using Chrome on Windows 7. Seems the problems, at least for me, seem to be Firefox specific.
Originally Posted by nsx1164 View Post
Am getting this same message (website validate-sc.www.aa.com cannot be resolved). Firefox on Windows 7.
nsx1164 is offline  
Old Mar 31, 15, 2:20 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DFW
Programs: AA EP 3MM, UA Silver, Bonvoy LT TIT, Hyatt Gobalist, HH Silver, Caesars PLT
Posts: 7,058
Originally Posted by nsx1164 View Post
Was able to access aa.com using Chrome on Windows 7. Seems the problems, at least for me, seem to be Firefox specific.
I'm still having the issue when logged into Chrome (but not in Incognito mode). I wonder if it has something to do with saved credentials.

Edited to add: That's what it was. I deleted cookies and saved passwords for AA.com, and it works now.

Last edited by aamilesslave; Mar 31, 15 at 2:27 pm
aamilesslave is offline  
Old Apr 1, 15, 1:10 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Programs: AA plt 2 mm, Marriott LTT, HH dia
Posts: 1,209
I couldn't log on to the AA website for a few days. I finally went through the motions to reset my password. It turns out, that the old AA login would allow a password with 20 characters, but the new one is limited to 16. So my old password was no longer valid.

I remember this issue with the old US Airways site as well. I didn't read every post in this thread, but this issue probably didn't affect very many people.
jeanie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: