FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   American Airlines | AAdvantage (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage-733/)
-   -   AAdvantage account data / security breaches Dec 2014 (merged) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage/1644692-aadvantage-account-data-security-breaches-dec-2014-merged.html)

rockjaw Jan 12, 2015 9:40 pm

Conflicting information?

As one would expect in this type of situation, from reading the various posts, it seems like there are conflicting reports as to what happened when and what data was exposed.....?

The AAdvantage "supervisor" that I spoke with stated that on Dec 30th, my file, including name, address, contact email and phone #, and stored credit card info (last four #'s) were accessed in the data breach and that I should consider changing my email account address and email password, as well as my personal mobile #

I work in tech and focus on data analytics and mobile technologies, so I do have some understanding of potential impacts of such a data breach, but it would certainly position them in a more favorable light if they came out and shared with those impacted as to what they know and how they know it, along with a prudent set of recommendations as to what we should assume has been compromised.....

jeseay Jan 12, 2015 10:13 pm

I had my number for 32 years and it was an all numeric number. It was replaced with an alpha numerica number and I wonder if the numbers hacked were all numeric ones.

chrisremo Jan 12, 2015 10:40 pm

Originally Posted by jeseay (Post 24155068)
I had my number for 32 years and it was an all numeric number. It was replaced with an alpha numerica number and I wonder if the numbers hacked were all numeric ones.

They were not. I had my number for 28 years and it was alphanumeric.

Kitty Hawk Jan 13, 2015 8:09 am

Originally Posted by relangford (Post 24153253)