Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Buy / buying AA miles with bonus promotion - good deal? [consolidated]

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 2, 2014, 3:28 pm
Original Poster

I'm new to this.

125K miles for $2360

Good deal?
Old Dec 2, 2014, 3:50 pm

AA bonus miles. Good deal?

how do you get this?
Old Dec 2, 2014, 4:05 pm

Programs: 2015 kettle

They are selling miles and giving a bonus quantity.
Old Dec 2, 2014, 5:03 pm
Original Poster

Yeah. got an offer of 80K miles + 45K bonus.
Old Dec 2, 2014, 6:23 pm

Programs: UA 1K, AS MVP Gold, TK *Gold, HHonors Gold, SPG Plat, Marriott Plat, Hyatt Diamond

If you want 125k miles, pm me. I can sell you 125k for 2k.

Lest it be mistaken, this is of course a tongue in cheek response. Point being if you were going to spend money to buy a flight that you could get cheaper with an award ticket, then it's worth it it, else not.

Unless you need miles right away there are cheaper ways to accumulate these miles.
Old Dec 2, 2014, 10:12 pm

Originally Posted by Duffman
If you want 125k miles, pm me. I can sell you 125k for 2k.

Lest it be mistaken, this is of course a tongue in cheek response. Point being if you were going to spend money to buy a flight that you could get cheaper with an award ticket, then it's worth it it, else not.

Unless you need miles right away there are cheaper ways to accumulate these miles.
I'm interested. I have to spend $100K on the business card to get that many miles (from SPG Amex).
Old Dec 2, 2014, 11:05 pm

Programs: UA MM / LT Gold (LT UC), DL SM, AA PLT (AC), OZ, KE; GE and Korean SES (like GE); Marriott Gold
It is at 1.88 cents per miles. If you use the old "2 cents per mile" as a criterion, it is on the border of being a good deal. If you need the miles and don't have the time to actually fly them, it is a so-so cost.
Old Dec 2, 2014, 11:22 pm