Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Award Ticket to Asia now (pre devaluation) or wait

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 10, 2016, 12:13 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA PLAT, UA Silver, SPG PLAT, Marriott PLAT, Hyatt PLAT, HH Diamond

Hi all,

I've always wanted to go to Asia and have been planning over the past year (unfortunately I'm still new to this mile&points thing). I was really thinking of going a year or two from now, but it just struck me that I should look into using AA miles before the devaluation in March.

I'm looking to fly J and given that it's 50k AA vs all other programs 70k+, I figured its either now or wait probably a good 2 years to save up points (don't plan to go crazy on CC churn). The problem is that the only flights I can find (late June/early July is when i can travel) are on planes that only feature angled flat beds on the old AA 777s. And based on reading reviews, it just seems like a terrible experience. I have never flown business class on an Int'l flight so I want this to be an enjoyable experience for myself and my family. I've looked at both AA and JAL (flying to either Tokyo or Seoul (plan to visit both)). I just signed up for the AA Plat card and was planning to buy points (with the current bonus promo). In total, I'd spend ~$6k for 4 business class tix round trip (how can you pass that up???). In addition, I have my 2 free Hyatt nights which I was hoping to redeem at one of the Park Hyatts. I currently have a hold on a return flight from Osaka to LAX on the 787 but i heard that's also an angled flat bed.