Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

GUIDE: AA Flagship Check-In at JFK, LAX, LHR, MIA, ORD (rev)

GUIDE: AA Flagship Check-In at JFK, LAX, LHR, MIA, ORD (rev)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Mar 25, 22, 8:51 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JDiver
Wiki Link
GUIDE to Flagship First Check-In - Who, When, Where

Flagship First Check-in locations and policies as of May 2021 (link):

What is Flagship Check-in? (From previous AA description)

"Let our Flagship Check-In service help you start your journey on the right foot. This exclusive service offers customers a private check-in experience, including:
  • [Customer service representatives who can personally assist with your individual travel requirements - from check-in and baggage check to seat or itinerary changes as well as dedicated self-service kiosks
  • An expedited security line, offering you premium access through security checkpoints" (does not include TSA PreCheck unless youre qualified)

Where You'll Find It - Airport, Location

Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD): Near the First Class Check-In at Checkpoint 8 on upper level of Terminal 3

London Heathrow Airport (LHR): Terminal 5, zone J, look for signage. (Previously Terminal 3, Zone D, shared space with British Airways. Look for signage. (as of 27 Nov 2019; access rules now the same as all other Flagship First Check-in facilities.)

Los Angeles International Airport (LAX): Curbside entrance, exclusive to Flagship Check-In customers, in Terminal 4, just east of American Priority.

Miami International Airport (MIA): Look for designated signage in Concourse D of the North Terminal

New York John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK): Departure level closest to the AirTrain access and look for a sign right outside the entrance

These offer kiosk and personal services, and expedited TSA security access.

Wikipost may be edited or updated by members with 90 days and 90 posts; wiki may be printed using the icon (lower right corner).










For previous posts, please see: ARCHIVE: All About AA Flagship Check-In at JFK, LAX, MIA, ORD (master thread) link





Print Wikipost

Old Jul 3, 22, 10:35 am
  #286  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: Eurostar Carte Blanche, SBB-CFF-FFS GA-AG, SNCF Grand Voyageur LeClub
Posts: 7,234
Originally Posted by ExpatExp View Post
Wow. That's lucky. As EXP, I often have these issues when I try to use Flagship Check-in -- never at my home airport of LHR, but frequently at LAX and JFK. I'm refused entry on a qualifying itinerary so often at those locations, in fact, that now I assume ahead of time it won't work, and I prepare any supporting documentation I need in advance. Next time I will try the trick someone mentioned above, about asking the door dragon to go inside and confirm with the check-in staff.

The only colleague I know who never has issues uses his BA Gold card for access. I'm guessing CKs don't usually have any problems, either.

Edit to add: If I am travelling with family then I will sometimes get Five Star Service and that takes care of the problem too.
I think there is a lost-in-translation. I was responding to the person who asked about being OWE with Qatar > to which someone said that AA staff probably would refuse him because they wouldnt know the rules > to which I replied that I never had any issues access FFCI with my OWE status (which happens to come from BA). That exchange was not about EXP card holders. I think the messages just crossed.
Madison Guy and ExpatExp like this.
San Gottardo is online now  
Old Jul 4, 22, 4:44 am
  #287  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RBKC
Programs: AA EXP and Eurostar Carte Blanche
Posts: 3,565
That's good. When I travel with my non-AA OWE colleague, it's always a lot easier to access Flagship Check-in on a qualifying itinerary
ExpatExp is offline  
Old Jul 4, 22, 5:48 pm
  #288  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Programs: DL Diamond Medallion, QR PC Platinum, Marriott Bonvoy Platinum
Posts: 453
Accessing MIA FFCI just for the security escort

Hey all,

Just wanted to confirm with yall that Ill be able to access the FFCI at MIA as a QR plat (OWE) and that Id also be able to use it just so I can get the escort to skip the security line. Ill be in J flying a MEX-MIA-JFK itinerary so would already be checked in (no bags), but am on a relatively tight connection so absolutely wouldnt mind being able to skip the security line chaos!

Thanks!
fender5787 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 22, 9:26 pm
  #289  
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Sacramento, CA
Programs: AA Plat Pro, Hyatt,Marriott,BA,AS
Posts: 4,266
With AA moving all operations at LHR to T-3, will AA have Flagship Check-In for First Class passengers? Fast track security?
JIMCHI is offline  
Old Jul 8, 22, 5:01 am
  #290  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 21
Originally Posted by JIMCHI View Post
With AA moving all operations at LHR to T-3, will AA have Flagship Check-In for First Class passengers? Fast track security?
I would like to know about this too as their website still lists T5 for the time being although hopefully that will be updated by 12th July.
welshwiz is offline  
Old Jul 8, 22, 11:17 am
  #291  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RBKC
Programs: AA EXP and Eurostar Carte Blanche
Posts: 3,565
Originally Posted by JIMCHI View Post
With AA moving all operations at LHR to T-3, will AA have Flagship Check-In for First Class passengers? Fast track security?
AA continues to offer a Flagship Check-In area and fast track security at T3, as in the past.
JIMCHI, welshwiz and IndyHoosier like this.
ExpatExp is offline  
Old Jul 8, 22, 1:59 pm
  #292  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Plat)
Posts: 8,674
Originally Posted by fender5787 View Post
Just wanted to confirm with yall that Ill be able to access the FFCI at MIA as a QR plat (OWE) and that Id also be able to use it just so I can get the escort to skip the security line. Ill be in J flying a MEX-MIA-JFK itinerary so would already be checked in (no bags), but am on a relatively tight connection so absolutely wouldnt mind being able to skip the security line chaos!!
I've done this at MIA, but not since COVID. I did it just a few days ago at LAX. I already had my AA F BP, which I showed to the agent outside and to the check-in agent inside. I got an escort to the front of the Pre-Check line (which had a number of people in it).
anabolism is offline  
Old Jul 9, 22, 12:20 am
  #293  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Global
Posts: 5,572
Originally Posted by anabolism View Post
I've done this at MIA, but not since COVID. I did it just a few days ago at LAX. I already had my AA F BP, which I showed to the agent outside and to the check-in agent inside. I got an escort to the front of the Pre-Check line (which had a number of people in it).
FWIW - In MIA pre-check has moved. Reports are they will escort you to the front of the regular line, not pre-check.
Global321 is online now  
Old Jul 9, 22, 10:03 am
  #294  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Programs: AA EXP(4mm), UA Gold (1mm), HH Diamond, Bonvoy Amb(l/t Titanium), AX platinum. Former EA/PA elite
Posts: 961
Originally Posted by Global321 View Post
FWIW - In MIA pre-check has moved. Reports are they will escort you to the front of the regular line, not pre-check.
I can confirm this is the case. I used FFCI at MIA a month ago or so for the 77W flight to LAX. I wasn't impressed that the security line they escort you to is not the pre-check line. AA needs to sort this out in MIA. If the move of the pre-check line is permanent then AA needs to relocate FFCI next to pre-check. I'm on the same itinerary in about two weeks so I'll see if things have changed by then.
Global321 likes this.
Seat 1F is offline  
Old Jul 11, 22, 11:10 pm
  #295  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: CMH
Programs: BA Silver, AA Plat, NK $9 fare club
Posts: 631
Originally Posted by Seat 1F View Post
I can confirm this is the case. I used FFCI at MIA a month ago or so for the 77W flight to LAX. I wasn't impressed that the security line they escort you to is not the pre-check line. AA needs to sort this out in MIA. If the move of the pre-check line is permanent then AA needs to relocate FFCI next to pre-check. I'm on the same itinerary in about two weeks so I'll see if things have changed by then.
No movement as of Sunday
Spanish is offline  
Old Jul 14, 22, 4:17 am
  #296  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Plat)
Posts: 8,674
Originally Posted by welshwiz View Post
I would like to know about this too as their website still lists T5 for the time being although hopefully that will be updated by 12th July.
Originally Posted by ExpatExp View Post
AA continues to offer a Flagship Check-In area and fast track security at T3, as in the past.
LHR T3 was a zoo yesterday (the day after AA and IB moved back to T3). There is one single line to get up to security. All access from check-in up to security was roped off and guarded, except one.That one line stretched through the width of the terminal and outside past the courtyard. Once upstairs, the line branches into regular and Pre-Check as before, but there is no distinction downstairs and upstairs until the branch. Flagship First Check-In and Five Star are forbidden from escorting anyone to the front of the security line unless they are in imminent danger of mosing their flight, maximum one hour before departure. They were able to escort people upstairs to the end of the Fast Track line.
anabolism is offline  
Old Jul 28, 22, 8:44 pm
  #297  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Plat)
Posts: 8,674
LHR closing time

AA's web page says LHR Flagship First Check-in closes at 1pm, which seems a bit early considering AA135, a 77W LHR-LAX, departs at 5:15pm.
anabolism is offline  
Old Jul 28, 22, 8:46 pm
  #298  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: AA (EXP), Hilton (Diamond), SPG (lowly Plat)
Posts: 8,674
Originally Posted by Global321 View Post
FWIW - In MIA pre-check has moved. Reports are they will escort you to the front of the regular line, not pre-check.
Used it a couple weeks ago. They printed our BPs and suggested that, since we had Pre-Check, we forgo the escort and walk to a checkpoint with Pre-Check.
Global321 likes this.
anabolism is offline  
Old Aug 1, 22, 7:31 am
  #299  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: AA PPro, Hyatt Globalist, Amex Plat
Posts: 5,469
Curious on whether access to Flagship Check-in @ LHR T3 is allowed when on AA operated flight but with a BA flight number/codeshare? For EXP access (my wife is EXP), the requirements from AA.com clearly say:

"You can use Flagship First Check-In if youre flying on qualifying international flights operated by American (regardless of cabin)"

So the flight we are considering is indeed operated by AA which clearly meets the requirement if I take it literally. But I also know that people seem to have varying experiences with Flagship Check-In rules not always being honored and I'm a little concerned the BA flight number might throw a wrench in this situation.

Does anyone have recent experience with this scenario?

Regards
scubadu is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread