Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Consolidation with USAir)
Reload this Page >

ARCHIVE: Baggage / luggage limits, interline, rules etc. (consolidated)

ARCHIVE: Baggage / luggage limits, interline, rules etc. (consolidated)

 
Old Feb 12, 2015, 3:06 pm
  #166  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Everywhere you wanna be
Programs: AA EP | UA 1K
Posts: 1,657
If any flight on your segment has a first class segment then you get that baggage allowance at checkin.

This has happened to me personally many times where my 2nd flight might've cleared an upgrade but my first one didn't. still got to check 3 bags no questions asked.
Col Ronson is offline  
Old Feb 19, 2015, 2:47 pm
  #167  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FR
Programs: FB Plat
Posts: 283
Hello there,

Just to let you know I am back from my trip, and I hadn't to pay anything. My baggage allowance was 1 free checked bag for the entire trip, including the US leg SEA-PHX.

I didn't even have to show an agent this thread, computer already knew everything!
Porcepic is offline  
Old Feb 19, 2015, 6:41 pm
  #168  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SFO/OAK
Programs: AA EXP 3.4MM, BAEC, UAMP, Skyteam (<10k) HH Gold, IHG Plat, Hertz Gold, GE/TSA TT
Posts: 2,723
Originally Posted by Porcepic
Hello there,

Just to let you know I am back from my trip, and I hadn't to pay anything. My baggage allowance was 1 free checked bag for the entire trip, including the US leg SEA-PHX.

I didn't even have to show an agent this thread, computer already knew everything!
Dear Porcepic,
You did not tell us about any BAEC/OneWorld elite status you might have. Status has a major effect on baggage allowances.
billgrates3 is offline  
Old Feb 20, 2015, 4:22 am
  #169  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FR
Programs: FB Plat
Posts: 283
Originally Posted by billgrates3
Dear Porcepic,
You did not tell us about any BAEC/OneWorld elite status you might have. Status has a major effect on baggage allowances.
I am just a poor Blue BAEC member. Definitely not what you can call an "elite status".
Porcepic is offline  
Old Feb 20, 2015, 9:47 am
  #170  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AA, DL, AS, VA, WS Silver
Posts: 5,940
Originally Posted by Porcepic
Hello there,

Just to let you know I am back from my trip, and I hadn't to pay anything. My baggage allowance was 1 free checked bag for the entire trip, including the US leg SEA-PHX.

I didn't even have to show an agent this thread, computer already knew everything!
^ Glad it worked smoothly.

Originally Posted by billgrates3
Originally Posted by Porcepic
I have no particular status.
Dear Porcepic,
You did not tell us about any BAEC/OneWorld elite status you might have.
Originally Posted by billgrates3
Status has a major effect on baggage allowances.
Technically, it doesn't. Status allows exceptions to the ticketed baggage allowances. Because those are exceptions, they do not (under the law) have to apply to the entire itinerary, as I understand it. That is, if BA gives a status-based exception to the ticketed baggage allowance on the first leg, AA is not required to give the same exception on the second leg. This is more relevant for inter-alliance tickets: if you have a BA leg followed by a UA leg on the same ticket, the ticketed allowance from BA would apply to the UA leg, but the status-based exception on BA would not apply on UA since UA doesn't care about your BA status.
ashill is online now  
Old Mar 7, 2015, 7:23 am
  #171  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 126
Just a datapoint re: Admirals Club access. I was denied access on the BOS-JFK segment (traveling in Y), despite having a confirmed 3-cabin F seat JFK-SFO.

I booked this using AS miles. Might it have been due to this?

Last edited by dmlee18; Mar 7, 2015 at 7:52 am
dmlee18 is offline  
Old Mar 7, 2015, 9:38 am
  #172  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MDE
Programs: AA-PLT, HH-GLD, PP
Posts: 1,511
Originally Posted by Col Ronson
If any flight on your segment has a first class segment then you get that baggage allowance at checkin.

This has happened to me personally many times where my 2nd flight might've cleared an upgrade but my first one didn't. still got to check 3 bags no questions asked.
Thanks - that's good to know. I had always assumed that in the case where you only were confirmed on the second leg that you would not get the extra baggage at check in.
coolcoil is offline  
Old Mar 10, 2015, 8:23 am
  #173  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: BNE
Programs: AA EXP, QF, BA
Posts: 247
Checked baggage Award J -> Discount Y

Hi,

Just a question with 2 PNRs. Award ticket all in J on OW carrier, coming into US then connecting to a domestic AA flight (no award seats - so rev ticket in Y). Can the agents check it through for baggage re-drop? Or would it need to be completely re-checked with fees?

J passengers are without OW status.


Thanks.
QPProletarian is offline  
Old Mar 10, 2015, 8:42 am
  #174  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,190
Check the baggage policies of that unidentified OW carrier on the first segment.

AA can/will check bags across oneworld tickets.
3Cforme is offline  
Old Mar 15, 2015, 6:38 am
  #175  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Programs: AA, WN, UA, Bonvoy, Hertz
Posts: 2,491
The issue is IB is fast dumping routes over to its Vueling side. If you book with a IB 5xxx number, it is labeled as Iberia Express operated by Vueling. It appears people here are saying though that because Vueling is not lost as an oneworld affiliate, no miles.

Rasheed
rasheed is online now  
Old Mar 17, 2015, 3:25 pm
  #176  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 108
Baggage Allowances for Booking Multiple Destinations vs Round Trip

I'm planning to book IAH-PVG round trip in late May. The cheapest option is IAH-ORD-NRT-PVG-LAX-IAH, which aa.com fails to show in the round trip option. However, by playing around with multiple destinations in google flights, I was able to redirect to that option on aa.com, albeit as

Flight 1: IAH-ORD
Flight 2: ORD-NRT-PVG
Flight 3: PVG-LAX-IAH

The connection time between IAH-ORD and ORD-NRT is only 3 hours. Therefore, will AA be able to check baggage through PVG and give the 2 baggage allowance for international flights, or will I be stuck with paid 1st bag in the case of domestic flights?
theasianguy is offline  
Old Mar 17, 2015, 4:58 pm
  #177  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Programs: OW Emerald
Posts: 1,452
Originally Posted by theasianguy
I'm planning to book IAH-PVG round trip in late May. The cheapest option is IAH-ORD-NRT-PVG-LAX-IAH, which aa.com fails to show in the round trip option. However, by playing around with multiple destinations in google flights, I was able to redirect to that option on aa.com, albeit as

Flight 1: IAH-ORD
Flight 2: ORD-NRT-PVG
Flight 3: PVG-LAX-IAH

The connection time between IAH-ORD and ORD-NRT is only 3 hours. Therefore, will AA be able to check baggage through PVG and give the 2 baggage allowance for international flights, or will I be stuck with paid 1st bag in the case of domestic flights?
What do you mean by "Flight 1", "Flight 2", "Flight 3"? If you mean (as I think you do) that these are the components of your multi destination search, and you still see everything in a single summary (I.e. Single reservation) then you will get the international allowance no matter how you broke it down in your search.

Irrespective, AA can tag the bags through when connecting to AA/oneWorld flights.
jridge is offline  
Old Mar 22, 2015, 11:31 am
  #178  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: AA
Posts: 377
Cayman Airways (KX) check baggage through via AA?

Hi. I have a flight on Cayman Airways KX102, CYB-GCM-MIA, and a second flight on AA MIA-STL. They were booked via the respective carriers' websites.

I wasn't able to get AA.com to show Cayman Airways flights. Perhaps I misunderstood this site listing KX as an interline carrier with AA. So, they are on separate tickets.

In short, my question is, once I clear immigration and customs in MIA, can I drop bags with AA as I would if making an AA-AA connection? Or do I have to go back through ticketing and drop them there?

Thanks for your help.
backprop is offline  
Old Mar 22, 2015, 11:39 am
  #179  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: AA EXP 3MM; LH FT (*A Silver); Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite; Starwood Corporate Preferred
Posts: 782
When you get to MIA you will collect your bags and then go through Customs and Immigration. After you pass thru CI, you will need to check in with American and drop your bags with them. There are AA counters to the left once you leave the CI area.
AAExpDFW is offline  
Old Mar 22, 2015, 11:40 am
  #180  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: AA
Posts: 377
Originally Posted by AAExpDFW
When you get to MIA you will collect your bags and then go through Customs and Immigration. After you pass thru CI, you will need to check in with American and drop your bags with them. There are AA counters to the left once you leave the CI area.
Great. Thank you.
backprop is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.