AUS monitor question

 
Old Nov 14, 08, 7:51 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: CoUniHound 1K 1MM, AA EXP 1MM, DL Plat, Marriott Lifetime Platinum Premier
Posts: 1,092
AUS monitor question

Does anyone know why AUS doesn't have the typical AA monitors by their gates? It's a fairly busy focus city with a lot of elites, so I would think that AA would deploy the usual monitors.

TIA
Catbert10 is offline  
Old Nov 14, 08, 8:57 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYZ/MGA
Programs: AA 1MM Lifetime Gold, SPG/Marriott Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 7,370
Someone must know, like AA or the AUS airport authority. So your answer is yes.
ricktoronto is offline  
Old Nov 14, 08, 9:01 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: AA PLT, Amex Plat
Posts: 4,199
Originally Posted by ricktoronto View Post
Someone must know, like AA or the AUS airport authority. So your answer is yes.
Ok, now that was funny! Well played! LOL!

Regards
scubadu is offline  
Old Nov 14, 08, 10:14 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYZ/MGA
Programs: AA 1MM Lifetime Gold, SPG/Marriott Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 7,370
Well it does suppose that a whole load of generally non-AA employees or non-AUS employees ,e.g. the membership here, have insider sources for such answers. Or that anyone cares about such trivia. Really how would one expect a real answer here, to that?
ricktoronto is offline  
Old Nov 14, 08, 11:24 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: AA Gold, *wood Gold, Hilton Honors Gold
Posts: 928
Originally Posted by Catbert10 View Post
Does anyone know why AUS doesn't have the typical AA monitors by their gates? It's a fairly busy focus city with a lot of elites, so I would think that AA would deploy the usual monitors.

TIA

Catbert, sarcasm aside from the oh so helpful responders, as someone who earlier this month flew in and out of AUS for the first time in several years I was taken back by the monitor situation. And I too wondered. I was trying to figure out when my flight would be boarding and was it boarding and it was somewhat confusing to me. I wondered the same "trivial" question you did. No one here may know the answer or care to know the answer but you aren't the only one who wondered that recently (and in my case I thought the monitor situation was mildly annoying and unhelpful).

Last edited by zipadee; Nov 14, 08 at 11:34 pm
zipadee is offline  
Old Nov 14, 08, 11:34 pm
  #6  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Palestine, TX
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricktoronto
Someone must know, like AA or the AUS airport authority. So your answer is yes.

Ok, now that was funny! Well played! LOL!

Sure...when the only reason you post is to make fun of someone else. The respondent has a long history of doing just that. He seems to live for that opportunity.
herrina is offline  
Old Nov 15, 08, 6:04 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL DM; AA EXP, 1MM
Posts: 3,329
Originally Posted by Catbert10 View Post
Does anyone know why AUS doesn't have the typical AA monitors by their gates? It's a fairly busy focus city with a lot of elites, so I would think that AA would deploy the usual monitors.

TIA
This is a guess, more than anything, but all the monitors at AUS, for all airlines, at all 25 gates are the same, IME. I'm guessing that an AUS airport "rule"
ty97 is offline  
Old Nov 15, 08, 10:03 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUS
Programs: AA 1MM PLT, HH Diamond, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 347
Originally Posted by ty97 View Post
This is a guess, more than anything, but all the monitors at AUS, for all airlines, at all 25 gates are the same, IME. I'm guessing that an AUS airport "rule"
I might be wrong, but I'm pretty sure Southwest has different monitors (and indeed, completely different gate arrangements).
mdavies is offline  
Old Nov 15, 08, 2:25 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: AUS, JFK, HDQ
Posts: 25
Aus aa fids

AUS Flight Information Displays or FIDS are controlled by the City of Austin. If any of you live in Austin you know how the city likes to be deeply involved in most aspects of the citizens lives. Their system polls SABRE for the info and then displays. It would be great if we had them. I think the standby and uograde lists are cool and helpful. They may allow the airlines to run their own sometime.

Last edited by AAgent; Nov 15, 08 at 2:33 pm
AAgent is offline  
Old Nov 15, 08, 5:08 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dallas, TX, AA 3MM EXP, WN
Posts: 1,807
Originally Posted by ricktoronto View Post
Well it does suppose that a whole load of generally non-AA employees or non-AUS employees ,e.g. the membership here, have insider sources for such answers. Or that anyone cares about such trivia. Really how would one expect a real answer here, to that?
Well it looks like someone on the board does know the answer
MrMan is offline  
Old Nov 15, 08, 6:35 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mostly AUS or rural England
Programs: BAEC redundant Bronze, AAdvantage Lifetime PLT, CO, WN, B6
Posts: 6,526
Originally Posted by AAgent View Post
I think the standby and uograde lists are cool and helpful. They may allow the airlines to run their own sometime.
To be honest I don't really see the value of knowing you're 4th or 8th or 25th on the upgrade list when you don't know how many passengers have already boarded? If you're going to have the display, why doesn't it also tell you how many open seats there are, or even grey out the names beyond the point where they can't possibly get upgraded?
bernardd is offline  
Old Nov 16, 08, 11:06 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Programs: UA gold, AA EXP, HHonors diamond, DL Plat
Posts: 689
This is odd. AUS's closest airport with similar levels of AA service, SAT, has the monitors. The AUS AA terminal is far more updated than that of SAT (which is on schedule for demolition and rebuilding) and AUS has an Admirals Club, which SAT does not.
I have to think that AUS has to have the same level of elites awaiting upgrade status, standby and cleared passengers, etc.
MIA-SAT is offline  
Old Nov 16, 08, 11:14 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin
Posts: 4,609
Originally Posted by MIA-SAT View Post
I have to think that AUS has to have the same level of elites awaiting upgrade status, standby and cleared passengers, etc.
In that respect, AUS has much more elites and in particular more EXPs than SAT.

This is apparently airport and not AA policy.
millionmiler is offline  
Old Nov 16, 08, 11:50 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by bernardd View Post
To be honest I don't really see the value of knowing you're 4th or 8th or 25th on the upgrade list when you don't know how many passengers have already boarded? If you're going to have the display, why doesn't it also tell you how many open seats there are, or even grey out the names beyond the point where they can't possibly get upgraded?
Although showing the number of open seats (a UA-style display) would be a plus, showing the full standby/upgrade lists cuts back the number of questions asked ("Am I on the list? What number am I?") of the gate agents.
DCAstudent is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread