Is AA the only US airline with power on almost all planes?

 
Old Jun 27, 08, 9:08 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: East Coast
Programs: UA Lifetime Gold, AA Lifetime Platnium, Delta PM, Marriott Gold, IHG Embassador
Posts: 1,516
Originally Posted by dstan View Post
Hope you sent that info to SeatGuru so that they can update their seatmap!

Edited to add: Are you saying that Version 1 is incorrect? Or just that you had Version 2?
I thought according to Seat Guru, AA was eliminating all version 1 763. I chose exit row seat 21H or 20H just for this purpose every time I fly on this plane to SA. I need the power to watch my DVDs. It's the onlt thing that saves me on this route. I flew on 12G last month on my GIG-MIA flight and it had no power port. The FA was nice to allow me to move to 11H where the power port was working and I'd notice that 10H was not working.
NYC1K is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 9:25 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Central New Jersey
Programs: AA Lifetime Plat 2MM
Posts: 650
I must agree that the power ports is a big reason why I prefer AA. Most of my flights are 3+ hours (usually cross country) and I love using the laptop the entire time to work, watch DVD's, or play games. Might be neat to play on the internet too someday since they just had the JFK-LAX test this week.
rmc1 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 10:17 am
  #18  
PHL
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PHL, NYC
Programs: AA PLT, DL SLV, UA SLV, MR LTT, HH DIA
Posts: 8,471
USAirways has power in all seats of the A330 (they own 9, used for transatlantic trips).

They have power in all seats of their "East" A319 and A320 aircraft. I say "East" because after the merger with America West, there are now "West" A319/A320's in the fleet that do not have power in any seat. It's hard to know if you're getting on one with or without power anymore since all the aircraft are integrated throughout the fleet.

None of their Boeings have power in any seat, with exception to the 767 where there are standard outlets in Envoy (business class).
PHL is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 10:39 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: LAX
Programs: AA EXP 1.5MM, Asiana Club Silver, KE Morning Calm, Hyatt Platinum, Amtrak Select
Posts: 7,155
yep, AA's powerport availability is the best out of the legacies.

But, I wish they've started installing AC ports instead so I wouldn't have to lug around my DC adapter. I guess I'm too spoiled?
kebosabi is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 10:44 am
  #20  
Moderator: American AAdvantage and New York City
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA PLT, Natl EC
Posts: 10,536
Originally Posted by NYC1K View Post
I thought according to Seat Guru, AA was eliminating all version 1 763.
Don't see where SeatGuru says or implies that.

(My prev post was incorrect on one point - v2 is also NGBC, not OGBC. Should have known since they've all been converted, but misread the rollovers).
dstan is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 11:10 am
  #21  
jaf
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Programs: AA (Exec Plat), UAL (Premier Exec), SPG (Platinum), Hyatt (Diamond), Marriott (Plat), Hertz (Prez)
Posts: 151
ok - this is going to be a very stupid question - i'm almost embarrassed to ask (esp being an exec plat) ... but where exactly are the power ports?? I often forget to look or don't need to use them, but the few times I have looked under the seat I've been unable to find them.
jaf is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 11:25 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DC Metro (WAS--DCA/IAD/BWI)
Programs: AA Plat 2MM, OW Sapphire, QF Bronze, Marriott Silver, Starwood Gold; National Emerald
Posts: 2,532
Originally Posted by jaf
ok - this is going to be a very stupid question - i'm almost embarrassed to ask (esp being an exec plat) ... but where exactly are the power ports?? I often forget to look or don't need to use them, but the few times I have looked under the seat I've been unable to find them.
Follow the armrest down the front towards the floor. The power port is under the bottom edge of the seat. It has a plastic flap covering the DC power socket (same color as the small box, so sort of camoflaged), and usually has a small green LED light next to the socket indicating that it is live.

Steve
steve32 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 11:27 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BMI
Programs: AA Gold, Delta, Amtrak
Posts: 422
Originally Posted by jaf View Post
ok - this is going to be a very stupid question - i'm almost embarrassed to ask (esp being an exec plat) ... but where exactly are the power ports?? I often forget to look or don't need to use them, but the few times I have looked under the seat I've been unable to find them.
Don't be embarrassed, they aren't real easy to find.

The are located in an area under and between the seats you are occupying in economy. An easy way to think of it is they are almost behind your knee between the seats, below the armrest. They have a small cover over them. If they are working, you will see a small green light coming from the jack.

Also keep in mind, they aren't in every row. Most planes have them in the first 10 rows or so, the exit rows, and then every third row otherwise.

First has them in every row, and their is a jack for every occupant, as opposed to coach where you may have to share with your neighbor.
KBMIFlyer is online now  
Old Jun 27, 08, 11:43 am
  #24  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: SNA, LAX
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 1,291
Originally Posted by kebosabi View Post
yep, AA's powerport availability is the best out of the legacies.

But, I wish they've started installing AC ports instead so I wouldn't have to lug around my DC adapter. I guess I'm too spoiled?
Get one of these... $35 shipped. Lighter compared to the regular power adapters.
riteshraja is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 1:24 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: LAX
Programs: AA EXP 1.5MM, Asiana Club Silver, KE Morning Calm, Hyatt Platinum, Amtrak Select
Posts: 7,155
Originally Posted by riteshraja View Post
Get one of these... $35 shipped. Lighter compared to the regular power adapters.
Sweet! I can use this as my main power source since it comes with an AC plug as well. Thanks for the tip - just bought one right now!
kebosabi is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 3:40 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PDX
Programs: AA LT PLT (2.6+ MM), UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold.
Posts: 1,495
Nice addition but...

As I spend most of my time in the back of the bus, the power port is a nice addition, and I travel with my trust Dell XPS-M1210, which is pretty small (12.1" screen). Even so, if the person in front reclines, and I have someone sitting next to me (so make that 99.99999% of the time) I cannot effectively type on the machine and cannot really angle the screen at a reasonable angle. Good for entertainment, crap for actually trying to do anything productive with in a regular coach seat.....
timfountain is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 4:47 pm
  #27  
PHL
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: PHL, NYC
Programs: AA PLT, DL SLV, UA SLV, MR LTT, HH DIA
Posts: 8,471
Originally Posted by kebosabi View Post
But, I wish they've started installing AC ports instead so I wouldn't have to lug around my DC adapter. I guess I'm too spoiled?
Or you could spoil yourself and get a MacBook. The airplane power adaptor is just a small cable with an adaptor for EmPower and lighter-style (like AA) plugs. No DC converter. The downside - it won't charge your MacBook while it's plugged in. Not a big deal for me since, when I get to my destination, I plug back into a regular power outlet.
PHL is offline  
Old Jun 27, 08, 10:16 pm
  #28  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,610
Originally Posted by riteshraja View Post
I dont fly any other then AA for 99.9% of my travels. Recently I have had to take CO and UA for some segments and realized how good I have it on AA. Almost all flights I take have power whether its a MD80, 737, 757 etc on AA.

UA and CO dont seem to have power in Y even on their larger planes. Given all the talk about comparing AA vs UA vs CO this one thing on AA makes it over the top for me. Rather watch something on the laptop screen rather then a 2.5" ipod or iphone.
CO does have power outlets on many of the aircraft in the fleet--standard US sockets--at least down to the exit row. The widebody fleet is being retrofitted.
ContinentalFan is offline  
Old Jun 28, 08, 1:31 am
  #29  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW/DAL
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus
Posts: 19,380
Originally Posted by riteshraja View Post
Get one of these... $35 shipped. Lighter compared to the regular power adapters.
Great.. EBAY sent me a free shipping code that expires on Monday
They also sent me a 10 percent off (up to $100 in savings) recently.
mvoight is offline  
Old Jun 28, 08, 11:27 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 3,666
Originally Posted by PHL View Post
Or you could spoil yourself and get a MacBook. The airplane power adaptor is just a small cable with an adaptor for EmPower and lighter-style (like AA) plugs. No DC converter. The downside - it won't charge your MacBook while it's plugged in. Not a big deal for me since, when I get to my destination, I plug back into a regular power outlet.
So with a Macbook, what do you need to connect to on-board power? Is it the same for all airlines?

Thanks for your help!
Mountain Trader is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread