Santiago or Rio Which for Entering/Leaving SA?

Old May 9, 2007, 2:48 pm
Original Poster

Santiago or Rio Which for Entering/Leaving SA?

We're mulling over taking a South America cruise next February or March that can leave from Valpariso to Rio or the opposite. We live in the Seattle area and wonder if there are any overwhelming advantage of choosing arriving in either Santiago or Rio over the other and the same with leaving from either Santiago or Rio?

I've had limited experience with Miami, not particularly positive, and from threads I've read here Miami isn't widely appreciated as a transit point to/from South America. If returning from Rio via DFW how much of a hassle is the plane change in GRU? If we do that route how much connection time should one allow switching going through Immagration and Customs in DFW? In Miami?

From what I've read in FT if you're in award J, then you can use the AC in the airport where you pick up your international flight? Does that work the same way in returning, can use the AC in your transfer point from international to domestic?

Thanks for taking the time to read this and hopefully respond.
Old May 9, 2007, 3:19 pm

Programs: AA PLT-Lite. UA Recovering 1k, HH Silver
The Wiki and AA.com both have good pieces about lounge access here:
http://www.berkeley.k12.ca.us/OS/doc...8_Calendar.pdf
and here:
http://www.aa.com/content/travelInfo...Policies.jhtml

Answer seems to be you'll get into the AC everywhere on an itinerary with Int'l J involved.

Can't compare the SA airports. I've only ever been to Rio, not impressed, but that was 10 years ago.

Choosing between a connection in MIA and DFW is easy. DFW ^, MIA . The only wrench I'd throw into that mix is that you're starting to push into T-Storm season at DFW which can mess a trip plan up bad. But the odds are still slim, and the odds that your trip will get messed up bad changing in MIA are good IMHO.