Jfk To Nrt Bose Headphones

 
Old Jun 30, 05, 8:06 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 305
Jfk To Nrt Bose Headphones

What type of headsets do you get in Business class. Should I bring my own Bose set or is the set they give out adequate. The plane is a 777.

Thanks for the input.
rstidolph is offline  
Old Jun 30, 05, 8:12 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC (RDU)
Programs: AA 1MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 577
Originally Posted by rstidolph
What type of headsets do you get in Business class. Should I bring my own Bose set or is the set they give out adequate. The plane is a 777.
You will get a personal DVD player w/ a selection of DVDs and a Bose QC2 headset for use on the flight.

--DD
Dudleydog73 is offline  
Old Jun 30, 05, 8:21 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5,630
Originally Posted by Dudleydog73
You will get a personal DVD player w/ a selection of DVDs and a Bose QC2 headset for use on the flight.

--DD
Sometimes the volume on the Bose is very loud. There is no volume control in the headset as the old Bose. If you want to use the AA Bose stop in Radio Shack and buy the in line volume control. Cost about $6.89.
zman is offline  
Old Jun 30, 05, 8:32 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC (RDU)
Programs: AA 1MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 577
Originally Posted by zman
Sometimes the volume on the Bose is very loud. There is no volume control in the headset as the old Bose. If you want to use the AA Bose stop in Radio Shack and buy the in line volume control. Cost about $6.89.
Thats what the volume control on the right side of the DVD player is for..

--DD
Dudleydog73 is offline  
Old Jun 30, 05, 8:39 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Programs: AA ex-EXP, 2MM (ex DL, ex TWA)
Posts: 1,419
Originally Posted by Dudleydog73
You will get a personal DVD player w/ a selection of DVDs and a Bose QC2 headset for use on the flight.

--DD
Surely no DVD player - this is JFK-NRT on a 777, you are thinking of 767 J. Do get QC2 headsets though, but as others have noted, audio level is set too loud for comfort.
Wexflyer is offline  
Old Jul 2, 05, 6:38 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 739
zman wrote> ... there is no volume control ...

Incorrect. It's simply moved. Unplug the cord at the ear-cup; the whole cord
assembly unsnaps and slides-out.

The volume control is a slider on that assembly.

-doug
dranz is offline  
Old Jul 2, 05, 7:22 am
  #7  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,625
Originally Posted by dranz
zman wrote> ... there is no volume control ...

Incorrect. It's simply moved. Unplug the cord at the ear-cup; the whole cord
assembly unsnaps and slides-out.

The volume control is a slider on that assembly.

-doug
True on a commercial QC2, and it's only a two-position switch (lo/hi). he AA QC2s, however, do not allow removal of the cord assembly- glued together. Hence, no volume control. Therefore, correct.

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Old Jul 2, 05, 7:27 am
  #8  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 62,807
Incorrect backatcha. Try unplugging the cord on the AA version and succeed, you've broken it and will likely be charged. The AA version has the connector with audio control fixed (probably glued or cemented) into the earphone cup with the volume on "high," so passengers can not adjust the two-position volume control on AA-QC2s. But just over a year ago, inlanikai posted:

Originally Posted by inlanikai
And the Solution is .....

... the attenuating inline cord with volume control.

Gold-Plated Volume Control Cable for Stereo Headphones

$6.59 Brand: RadioShack
Catalog #: 42-2559 Model: 42-2559


http://www.radioshack.com/product.a...ct%5Fid=42-2559

Just crank the volume up on the seat control so it doesn't cut out and use this puppy to quiet it down to your taste.
It's really an inline variable attenuator on a very short cord, and it works like a dream. When I am flying long AA sectors and will use their QC2s, I take one of these with me - it's tiny!


Originally Posted by dranz
zman wrote> ... there is no volume control ...

Incorrect. It's simply moved. Unplug the cord at the ear-cup; the whole cord
assembly unsnaps and slides-out.

The volume control is a slider on that assembly.

-doug
JDiver is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: