VIP International upgrade: what bucket?

 
Old Jun 2, 05, 6:39 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 439
VIP International upgrade: what bucket?

I may have a trip to Japan coming up. May I ask.................

To use a VIP coupon to upgrade from a coach fare to business class........ what inventory (fare bucket) does that come from? C, R, J or none of these?

To use a VIP coupon to upgrade from a business fare to first class......... what inventory (fare bucket) does that come from? X, A ,Z or none of these?

thx for sharing your knowledge.
AA Flyer is offline  
Old Jun 2, 05, 6:45 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oradell
Programs: AA PLT 3.6...MM-gonna take LONGER to hit 4MM for those VIPs soon!
Posts: 761
eVIP upgrades are booked into C for Business Class, A for First Class, the same inventories used for mileage upgrades.

AA was telling us when they were planning to implement the online, viewable eVIP upgrade bank, that the inventory used for eVIP upgrades would be the same as North American e-upgrades (formerly known as sticker) thus R for Bus and X for First but who knows if this will ever happen.
pgppetch is offline  
Old Jun 2, 05, 6:56 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MSP (and will only fly NWA in re-routes if I HAVE to)
Programs: AA EXP (4.5MM), hotel programs as needed
Posts: 5,800
If you are using ExpertFlyer to do your research .. you MUST add this special class into your search.

C, A and even domestic R and X fares will NOT show on the normal ExpertFlyer display.

You need to put the applicable code in the Booking Class field.

OR if not a member.. give us your dates and options and someone may help you with a quickie lookup.
JGR01 is offline  
Old Jun 2, 05, 7:21 pm
  #4  
Val
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Programs: AA Platinum, 2 Million Miles
Posts: 1,248
Good to see you've been paying attention

Originally Posted by JGR01
If you are using ExpertFlyer to do your research .. you MUST add this special class into your search.

C, A and even domestic R and X fares will NOT show on the normal ExpertFlyer display.

You need to put the applicable code in the Booking Class field.

OR if not a member.. give us your dates and options and someone may help you with a quickie lookup.
Val is offline  
Old Jun 2, 05, 7:26 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 439
Originally Posted by pgppetch
eVIP upgrades are booked into C for Business Class, A for First Class, the same inventories used for mileage upgrades.

AA was telling us when they were planning to implement the online, viewable eVIP upgrade bank, that the inventory used for eVIP upgrades would be the same as North American e-upgrades (formerly known as sticker) thus R for Bus and X for First but who knows if this will ever happen.
Thx for the info...............

One more question............

To upgrade from a coach fare to business class........using miles......... what inventory (fare bucket) does that come from? C, R, J or none of these?

To upgrade from a business fare to first class.........using miles........ what inventory (fare bucket) does that come from? X, A ,Z or none of these?

thx again for sharing your knowledge.
AA Flyer is offline  
Old Jun 2, 05, 7:39 pm
  #6  
ak
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 542
Originally Posted by AA Flyer
Thx for the info...............

One more question............

To upgrade from a coach fare to business class........using miles......... what inventory (fare bucket) does that come from? C, R, J or none of these?

To upgrade from a business fare to first class.........using miles........ what inventory (fare bucket) does that come from? X, A ,Z or none of these?

thx again for sharing your knowledge.
'C' to upgrade from coach to business using miles.

'A' to upgrade from business to first using miles.

FYI, the quotation by 'pgppetch' that you referenced in your post contained this information (the first sentence).
ak is offline  
Old Jun 2, 05, 7:51 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 439
Originally Posted by ak
'C' to upgrade from coach to business using miles.

'A' to upgrade from business to first using miles.

FYI, the quotation by 'pgppetch' that you referenced in your post contained this information (the first sentence).

Last edited by AA Flyer; Jun 2, 05 at 7:54 pm Reason: mistake
AA Flyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread