Standby on Codeshare?

 
Old Aug 8, 15, 7:46 am
  #1  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,264
Standby on Codeshare?

Hi,

I'm booked on QF (carrier) but ticketed as AA from Sydney to Melbourne at 10pm.

The Syd to Mel route is like a bus service running every hour non-peak and half hour peak.

The Plat desk says I can go standby with no fee since its ticketed as AA and I'm a plat. Can anyone confirm they've done this type of change before?


Thx.
inpd is offline  
Old Aug 8, 15, 8:08 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: JFK > LGA >> EWR
Programs: AA EXP 1.2mm, Kimpton IC, Starwood Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,173
This would be subject to Qantas' policy, so you should ask in the Qantas forum.
SJC AA is offline  
Old Aug 8, 15, 1:12 pm
  #3  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,264
Originally Posted by SJC AA View Post
This would be subject to Qantas' policy, so you should ask in the Qantas forum.
Thanks. But the problem is that none of those folks are AA Plats! Anyone had success going standby? I'm hesitant to go to the airport early based on one agents belief.
inpd is offline  
Old Aug 8, 15, 1:23 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,174
Why do you think that AA Plat gives you published special privileges to standby on QF?
3Cforme is offline  
Old Aug 8, 15, 1:24 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: LAX; AA EXP, MM; HH Gold
Posts: 31,790
AA's policies on free standby (that elites may standby for free on AA domestic flights) doesn't matter to the OP's question. AA status will be irrelevant to the question of free standby on QF domestic flights. If status is relevant, then maybe QF would recognize your Oneworld status.

It matters not that you'll find very few (or perhaps zero) AA Platinums to answer the question. The OP should ring QF and ask if it's possible to standby for free on a QF domestic flight, and should add that they're Oneworld Saphire in case that matters.

I doubt there are any AA phone agents who could accurately answer that question. QF agents, on the other hand, should be competent to answer the free standby question.
FWAAA is offline  
Old Aug 8, 15, 4:26 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 39,947
The AA desk is incorrect

Your ability to take an earlier flight will be based on whether the ticket allows it

Status does not provide for free changes nor does standby even exist in Australia . If permitted to go earlier, then will be booked onto it and confirmed

If you are booked on the 22:00 departure and wish to take an earlier one, contact AA and rebook onto an earlier one
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Aug 8, 15, 7:40 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: FIND ME ON TWITTER FOR THE LATEST
Posts: 27,458
Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
If you are booked on the 22:00 departure and wish to take an earlier one, contact AA and rebook onto an earlier one
Ab so lute ly.
JonNYC is offline  
Old Aug 9, 15, 2:53 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Posts: 12,660
Originally Posted by inpd View Post
Thanks. But the problem is that none of those folks are AA Plats! Anyone had success going standby? I'm hesitant to go to the airport early based on one agents belief.
There are a number of people who frequent the QF forum that hold AA status. But in any event, AA status doesn't matter for a flight operated by QF in this instance. As noted by others you would be best to book a different flight or inquire on the QF forum.

For example:
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/qanta...-aa-miles.html
jerry a. laska is offline  
Old Aug 13, 15, 3:38 am
  #9  
Suspended
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,264
Errrr. Sorry but your all wrong ... kind off. Yes, I couldn't go standby since QF doesn't do standby. However, status does matter and they put me on the 8pm flight instead of the 10pm flight. Yeah Qantas!
inpd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread