Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Can I Upgrade from J to F (intl) using US Miles?

Search this Thread

Old May 27, 2014, 11:11 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA Ex Platinum
Can I Upgrade from J to F (intl) using US Miles?

I recently booked a flight from DFW-NRT in J for work, and realized that the seats are angle-flat Is there anyway to upgrade using US Miles? Or Pay for an Upgrade closer-in? Sorry I'm new to AA so I'm not sure where to look.
Old May 27, 2014, 12:59 pm

no you can't. when is your flight? what aircraft?
Old May 27, 2014, 1:14 pm
Original Poster

Thanks for the info.

DFW-NRT AA175 on 7/17

and

NRT-ORD AA154 on 7/28
Old May 27, 2014, 1:46 pm
PHL
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA PLT, DL SLV, UA SLV, MR LTT, HH DIA
It's possible that you could get a refurbished 777-200 with just coach and all lie-flat business seating, but the retrofit program is just getting under way so, it's a long shot.
Old May 27, 2014, 1:52 pm
Original Poster

Ugh, that would be amazing! Thanks PHL, where can I find more info on the retrofit?
Old May 27, 2014, 3:02 pm

Programs: AA EXP - Marriott LT Platinum - National Exec Elite
777-200er-772-no-first-new-business-announced-2014-767-stuff-moved-45.html

Here's the FT thread - though there's little information anywhere about the speed of the retrofit, when it begins, ends, etc.
Old May 27, 2014, 4:44 pm

Some thoughts:

Couldn't OP buy some AA miles and use those? Or maybe see if he/she has any friends who are EXP and could lend an SWU?

There is a small chance there will be a LFBU available at check-in, but it's not a great chance.
Old May 27, 2014, 8:19 pm

Programs: Skywards Platinum
Originally Posted by FSUSeminole007
I recently booked a flight from DFW-NRT in J for work, and realized that the seats are angle-flat Is there anyway to upgrade using US Miles? Or Pay for an Upgrade closer-in? Sorry I'm new to AA so I'm not sure where to look.