FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Consolidation with USAir) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage-pre-consolidation-usair-445/)
-   -   AA Oversells AA76, Strands 27 8th Graders at LAX (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/american-airlines-aadvantage-pre-consolidation-usair/1454553-aa-oversells-aa76-strands-27-8th-graders-lax.html)

igopogo Apr 2, 2013 6:49 am

Originally Posted by sts603 (Post 20520430)
Here's what I'm guessing happened:

I can't imagine that there wasn't a second adult who could have accompanied the second group of students.

I am sure there were several adults. But as a teacher, I've taken a group of this size to robotics competitions before. I had several adults, but I was the only staff member. If I left a group of kids with a parent volunteer on a flight across the country, I would not have a job when I returned. Just one possibility for the behavior of the principal.

dat4life Apr 2, 2013 7:08 am

I can certainly understand why the chaparones refused to split up the group.

Someone from AA really dropped the ball. I agree with the another poster that 6 other passengers should have been IDB, regardless of protocol to avoid this PR mess.

sts603 Apr 2, 2013 7:42 am

Originally Posted by harrison1186 (Post 20521937)

Someone from AA really dropped the ball. I agree with the another poster that 6 other passengers should have been IDB, regardless of protocol to avoid this PR mess.