Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Consolidation with USAir)
Reload this Page > [2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

[2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

  Wikipost is Locked   Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 9, 14, 6:58 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JY1024
Wiki Link
MODERATOR GUIDEPOST

This is the archived, obsolete thread; the current 2014 NEWBIE LOUNGE thread is now a "sticky" thread here .

/American AAdvantage Forum Moderation Team
Print Wikipost


Old Apr 22, 13, 10:26 am
  #1066
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Home Airports: CAE/CLT
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, National Executive
Posts: 5,425
Originally Posted by dggoldst View Post
Hi,

I'm taking a Finnair flight but want to make sure I get AA miles.

The flight was booked with a travel agent. They say they gave my info to AA, but the flight doesn't show up under My Trips on aa.com. (Emphaisis mine)
Your travel agent did you no favors. Finnair needs to have your AA number, not AA.

You can go to the Finnair site and enter it yourself, under "My Booking." You'll need you name and booking reference.

And welcome to FT!
Gamecock is offline  
Old Apr 22, 13, 7:43 pm
  #1067
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 대한민국 (South Korea) - ex-PVG (上海)
Programs: UA MM / LT Gold (LT UC), DL SM, AA PLT (AC), OZ, KE; GE and Korean SES (like GE); Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,995
AA question. I'm new to AA (been UA all my life), but in an EXP match situation. I had booked ICN-DFW-DCA R/T, but the AA website only allowed for the "cheapest fare" (not a specific booking code as I was used to on UA) so I got "N". When I realized that N will not get me 1:1 points toward the 25,000 points needed in the 90 days, I called AA and changed to "V" (but charged the change fee plus the fare increase). I find it very annoying that aa.com does not allow for specific booking codes, then I had to pay a change fee to get the code I wanted. Is there any way around this (since aa.com only allows for "cheapest" versus "fully refundable" choices)?
relangford is offline  
Old Apr 22, 13, 7:45 pm
  #1068
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,334
Originally Posted by relangford View Post
AA question. I'm new to AA (been UA all my life), but in an EXP match situation. I had booked ICN-DFW-DCA R/T, but the AA website only allowed for the "cheapest fare" (not a specific booking code as I was used to on UA) so I got "N". When I realized that N will not get me 1:1 points toward the 25,000 points needed in the 90 days, I called AA and changed to "V" (but charged the change fee plus the fare increase). I find it very annoying that aa.com does not allow for specific booking codes, then I had to pay a change fee to get the code I wanted. Is there any way around this (since aa.com only allows for "cheapest" versus "fully refundable" choices)?
Yes, you should've called to upfare before ticketing (ie. while your itinerary was on hold). Also, if you explained the situation to the AAgent (that you just wanted to pay a higher fare for your ticket to earn more EQP), he or she might've waived the change fee for you.
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Apr 22, 13, 7:47 pm
  #1069
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 대한민국 (South Korea) - ex-PVG (上海)
Programs: UA MM / LT Gold (LT UC), DL SM, AA PLT (AC), OZ, KE; GE and Korean SES (like GE); Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,995
Additional info about previous post: my "receipt" for the entire R/T shows only the change fee, making it difficult to get reimbursement from my client for the TPAC flight. This is even on the "request refund" page of aa.com, so I guess if I were to cancel, I'd only get the change fee back. Seems strange. As bad as UA is getting, this isn't a good start with AA.
relangford is offline  
Old Apr 22, 13, 8:02 pm
  #1070
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: TPA/PIE
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, HH Gold, DL/UA/AS Elite
Posts: 17,162
Originally Posted by relangford View Post
Additional info about previous post: my "receipt" for the entire R/T shows only the change fee, making it difficult to get reimbursement from my client for the TPAC flight. This is even on the "request refund" page of aa.com, so I guess if I were to cancel, I'd only get the change fee back. Seems strange. As bad as UA is getting, this isn't a good start with AA.
Does the refund page show a ticket was exchanged?
If yes, then you should be able to see the price paid for the original ticket.
mvoight is offline  
Old Apr 22, 13, 10:37 pm
  #1071
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: TPA/PIE
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, HH Gold, DL/UA/AS Elite
Posts: 17,162
Originally Posted by JMN57 View Post
+1 on just get the F SAAver award
It's like a thousand miles, I say just fly economy.
mvoight is offline  
Old Apr 23, 13, 1:52 am
  #1072
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 대한민국 (South Korea) - ex-PVG (上海)
Programs: UA MM / LT Gold (LT UC), DL SM, AA PLT (AC), OZ, KE; GE and Korean SES (like GE); Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,995
Q: Does the refund page show a ticket was exchanged?
If yes, then you should be able to see the price paid for the original ticket.

A: My client would likely question why I printed out a "refund" page (probably thinking I bought two tickets at different fares and refunded the higher priced one) - this has happened - the questioning, not the cheating - in the past. I do have the original itinerary and I'll try to use that to show the fare.
relangford is offline  
Old Apr 23, 13, 10:24 am
  #1073
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, The Suggestion Box and Talkboard Topics
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA EXP / 5.5 MM; HH <>; SPG Gold; Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 56,592
What many here do is to put the itinerary on HOLD, call Web Services to change the fare to a better points-producing fare, and once that is done go to the original itinerary on aa.com and purchase. No fees, no extra cost, other than the upfare cost.

Reading FlyerTalk can help those new to an airline's idiosyncrasies before they get caught up in them.


Originally Posted by relangford View Post
AA question. I'm new to AA (been UA all my life), but in an EXP match situation. I had booked ICN-DFW-DCA R/T, but the AA website only allowed for the "cheapest fare" (not a specific booking code as I was used to on UA) so I got "N". When I realized that N will not get me 1:1 points toward the 25,000 points needed in the 90 days, I called AA and changed to "V" (but charged the change fee plus the fare increase). I find it very annoying that aa.com does not allow for specific booking codes, then I had to pay a change fee to get the code I wanted. Is there any way around this (since aa.com only allows for "cheapest" versus "fully refundable" choices)?
JDiver is offline  
Old Apr 23, 13, 3:54 pm
  #1074
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Programs: AAdvantage; Marriott
Posts: 1
Systemwide Upgrades

Has anyone heard if AA plans to start offering Premium Economy as a fourth option (as well as Economy, Business, First) on international trips, and if so, will they count Economy to Premium Economy as an upgrade (i.e. using miles or Systemwie Upgrades)?

First time post
PDuckham is offline  
Old Apr 23, 13, 4:31 pm
  #1075
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NYC & PHL
Programs: AA EXP (LT Gold), SPG/Marriott/Hilton Gold, Hertz PC, AMX-Plat, Global Entry
Posts: 2,428
Originally Posted by mvoight:20636437
Originally Posted by JMN57 View Post
+1 on just get the F SAAver award
It's like a thousand miles, I say just fly economy.
I would too but OP wanted F to travel with an older relative with health problems.
JMN57 is offline  
Old Apr 23, 13, 4:36 pm
  #1076
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,334
Originally Posted by PDuckham View Post
Has anyone heard if AA plans to start offering Premium Economy as a fourth option (as well as Economy, Business, First) on international trips, and if so, will they count Economy to Premium Economy as an upgrade (i.e. using miles or Systemwie Upgrades)?

First time post
Nope. AA has rolled out Main Cabin Extra (MCE) across many of its flights, however. It's just an extended legroom section of the plane, considered part of the Main Cabin.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...solidated.html
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Apr 24, 13, 7:17 pm
  #1077
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: HOU
Programs: AA EXP | SPG Plat | Marriott Plat
Posts: 2,498
Can you use a coupon on a fare on hold?
Antarius is offline  
Old Apr 24, 13, 7:51 pm
  #1078
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seattle
Programs: AA EXP, AS MVPG, TK *G, Hilton Diamond, NEXUS/GE
Posts: 2,556
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
Can you use a coupon on a fare on hold?
Yes, call the EXP desk. You must purchase immediately and cannot place the fare back on hold. Not sure if regular res agents will do this.
BrewerSEA is offline  
Old Apr 24, 13, 10:59 pm
  #1079
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Hello everyone! Newbie here!! Just got Directv last month for the 25,000 AA miles. Got them today!! Was super excited, then realized that 12.5k is the only way I get a "free" flight. I need to fly from Evansville, Indiana to Midland Texas in July. I might also be able to get a ride from Dallas to Midland (6 hours away). I guess my question is, is it pretty much cut and dry with 12.5k days vs. 25k days? If the dates I need are 25k, an AA agent at my airport couldnt apply my miles and reduce my fare to like $150-200? Or is it pretty much all or nothing? My wife is from Texas and we have 3 kids. They are going in May for the summer and already have tickets. We can always hold the points until next year, but I really thought I would be able to use it this year. I guess I am just looking for any suggestions...does it do any good to try to work with an aa REP? It honestly would work out better to pay a little bit of money rather than move my travel to the 12.5k days (there aren't many of them). If I use 25,000k miles one way, and my balance is 25,000 to pay for the trip, won't that be $525? Or will they cut the fare in half?

THANKS FOR ANY ADVICE!!!!!!!!!!
Andy Stocker is offline  
Old Apr 25, 13, 1:12 am
  #1080
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SBA
Programs: AA EXP, UA Gold/1MM, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 828
adding flights to award tickets

I'm holding award tickets now, but I want to add legs without losing the original flights. Is that possible?
For example, I have flights B-C and now I want to add A-B and C-D,
so my new itinerary would be A-B-C-D.
A and B are in the same zone (North America) and C and D are also in the same zone (Europe).
MrJBoy is offline  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 pm.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright © 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.