Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Consolidation with USAir)
Reload this Page > [2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

[2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

  Wikipost is Locked   Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 9, 14, 11:58 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JY1024
Wiki Link
MODERATOR GUIDEPOST

This is the archived, obsolete thread; the current 2014 NEWBIE LOUNGE thread is now a "sticky" thread here .

/American AAdvantage Forum Moderation Team
Print Wikipost


Old Jul 29, 13, 11:53 am
  #1816
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: AA, UAL
Posts: 491
Originally Posted by ckx2 View Post
Hi,

AA.com is driving me crazy. I have booked several flights for a trip in October 2013. The bookings were done by a travel agency based in Germany back in March 2013.

Since then I am trying to access my reserveration in order to change my seating, but I am unable to do so because of an annoying bug(?) in AA's booking procedure.

It seems that neither aa.de nor aa.com is able to show up my reserveration due the fact that a travel agency is involved. I am getting the same error over and over again:

We are experiencing technical difficulties and are unable to display your reservation at this time. Please try again.

I have tried to call American Airlines German hotline which refered to the Record Locator / Sabre Code (which I already had), unfortunately thats it - they don't have any idea and suggested me to call the US hotline instead. So I did.

US Hotline was also not able to look into my reserveration because of the same error (hooray). They said they cannot do anything and I should call the German hotline instead.

So here I am, almost 5 months passed since the booking was done not able to get into my reserveration getting send from hotline A to B and vice versa.

I also attempted to get help via twitter, but as expected they don't have any clue.

SERIOUSLY WHAT IS THIS.
If AAgent (at any location, be it US / Europe or any other place) is also not able to pull up your reservation with record locator, you have something serious on your hands. Call your travel agent to make sure your reservation is indeed in the system. It is not unheard of that travel agents try to get you a different fare class and in the process your reservation gets modified.

Cheers!
fromfall98 is offline  
Old Jul 29, 13, 1:07 pm
  #1817
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by Campath View Post
Booked 3 flights on AA using Avios. I got the record locator from AA and added it to my AA account. However it shows the status as unknown. Also it does not allow me to fill in the passenger details. Is this expected when you book a flight using Avios? How do I fill in my details?
You will want to call AA or BA immediately. I don't know which one can sort it out but I remember reading someone else having this "unknown" status too and when they got to the airport, AA said they did not have a ticket in the system.

So AA tried to make them buy another ticket outright and the only seats available were business class which were super expensive.

They had to call BA to get it sorted out and then AA got them on the flight. (After trying to make them pay extra for J again).
standingoten is offline  
Old Jul 29, 13, 1:11 pm
  #1818
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Programs: A/C SE 100K(*G), WS Gold, marriott gold, Fairmont Plat, Hilton gold,starwood plat
Posts: 90
First time posting to AA board, looking for some info. I have a flight booked YYZ-MIA in first class, connecting in MIA to TPA that flight is in economy. Q does the first class ticket allow me admission to the AA lounge upon departure at YYZ? Q Does the same day first class ticket allow me access to AA lounge in MIA for my layover of approx 3.5hrs?
meetingup is offline  
Old Jul 29, 13, 2:09 pm
  #1819
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 54
When I call AA from my company it automatically thinks I am the owner of the company I work for and the call is answered as "Executive Platinum" followed by the agent's name. Being that the my employer spends a lot of money at AA using his credit card for all employees' company travel, one of my coworkers said I should definitely call from work and book my travel via phone using the Executive Platinum line as "you never know, you may get some additional benefits out of it."

I suspect that this colleague is wrong, but can anyone tell me if there is any real benefit of reserving via phone and being associated somehow with a business owner who spends a great deal of money with AA?
ShamRockSteady is offline  
Old Jul 29, 13, 6:57 pm
  #1820
Moderator: American AAdvantage & TravelBuzz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plat
Posts: 9,554
Originally Posted by meetingup View Post
First time posting to AA board, looking for some info. I have a flight booked YYZ-MIA in first class, connecting in MIA to TPA that flight is in economy. Q does the first class ticket allow me admission to the AA lounge upon departure at YYZ? Q Does the same day first class ticket allow me access to AA lounge in MIA for my layover of approx 3.5hrs?
AA does not consider YYZ to be an "international" flight for the purposes of lounge access. So you will not have any lounge access based on your class of service.

You can access the lounge if you have a one-day/30-day/annual membership or via your AMEX Platinum/Centurion card.
JY1024 is offline  
Old Jul 29, 13, 7:00 pm
  #1821
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 19,346
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.601 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by meetingup
First time posting to AA board, looking for some info. I have a flight booked YYZ-MIA in first class, connecting in MIA to TPA that flight is in economy. Q does the first class ticket allow me admission to the AA lounge upon departure at YYZ? Q Does the same day first class ticket allow me access to AA lounge in MIA for my layover of approx 3.5hrs?
AA does not offer First Class on its flights to/from Canada. AA's Business Class between Canada and the U.S. does not provide lounge access at any airport.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Jul 31, 13, 2:00 pm
  #1822
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
I am flying an award Business Class ticket from BOS to WAW (through JFK and then HEL) in September. I'm flying the transatlantic portion of the ticket on Finnair but the initial segment on AA.

Finnair just updated their baggage policy, where I'm allowed 3 checked bags without any additional cost. Will the Finnair baggage policy or the AA baggage policy (2 free bags) apply for the initial segment of the trip?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Whoops just found out that AA has 3 free bags for business class as well. Guess I answered my own questions, my mistake!!

Last edited by BUgrad; Jul 31, 13 at 2:10 pm
BUgrad is offline  
Old Jul 31, 13, 2:12 pm
  #1823
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, The Suggestion Box and Talkboard Topics
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA EXP / 5.5 MM; HH <>; SPG Gold; Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 56,912
I am not the baggage guru, but I believe under IATA Resolution 302 the Most Significant Carrier would be Finnair and would take precedence over AA in this instance. But it looks like you already got the answer you need.

Originally Posted by BUgrad View Post
I am flying an award Business Class ticket from BOS to WAW (through JFK and then HEL) in September. I'm flying the transatlantic portion of the ticket on Finnair but the initial segment on AA.

Finnair just updated their baggage policy, where I'm allowed 3 checked bags without any additional cost. Will the Finnair baggage policy or the AA baggage policy (2 free bags) apply for the initial segment of the trip?

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Whoops just found out that AA has 3 free bags for business class as well. Guess I answered my own questions, my mistake!!
JDiver is offline  
Old Jul 31, 13, 2:13 pm
  #1824
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, The Suggestion Box and Talkboard Topics
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA EXP / 5.5 MM; HH <>; SPG Gold; Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 56,912
I'd not hold my breath; you are likely to get a more skilled employee, but I think that's going to be it.

Originally Posted by ShamRockSteady View Post
When I call AA from my company it automatically thinks I am the owner of the company I work for and the call is answered as "Executive Platinum" followed by the agent's name. Being that the my employer spends a lot of money at AA using his credit card for all employees' company travel, one of my coworkers said I should definitely call from work and book my travel via phone using the Executive Platinum line as "you never know, you may get some additional benefits out of it."

I suspect that this colleague is wrong, but can anyone tell me if there is any real benefit of reserving via phone and being associated somehow with a business owner who spends a great deal of money with AA?
JDiver is offline  
Old Jul 31, 13, 3:46 pm
  #1825
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: ATL
Programs: AA, Marriott
Posts: 718
Does AA have plans to make DC connect less?

Specifically, my work routes are to DEN and ATL, and I often visit friends in BOS...I'm about to switch to United just cause of the direct flights, but I'm wondering if the merger will make more routes available to AA.
pritomd is offline  
Old Jul 31, 13, 4:04 pm
  #1826
HNL
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,814
Originally Posted by pritomd View Post
Does AA have plans to make DC connect less?

Specifically, my work routes are to DEN and ATL, and I often visit friends in BOS...I'm about to switch to United just cause of the direct flights, but I'm wondering if the merger will make more routes available to AA.
DCA will remain a hub for the new AA. US/AA will be required to give up a few slots to satisfy the DOJ. Depending upon how many slots they are forced to divest will determine what gets cut.
HNL is offline  
Old Jul 31, 13, 11:14 pm
  #1827
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 233
Business saver award seats to Europe

It has been quite awhile since I have attempted to use AAdvantage to Europe. Upon looking for business saver seats from US-Europe, it appears that all such seats are either on BA with high surcharges and/or Air Berlin (poorer product in business). The only way to seemingly get on a AA flight in business is with the 100,000 miles/seat as opposed to the 50,000miles/seat (unless you want BA or AB). Am I correct in this????Thank you in advance.
garygleck is offline  
Old Aug 1, 13, 12:09 am
  #1828
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,029
Originally Posted by garygleck View Post
It has been quite awhile since I have attempted to use AAdvantage to Europe. Upon looking for business saver seats from US-Europe, it appears that all such seats are either on BA with high surcharges and/or Air Berlin (poorer product in business). The only way to seemingly get on a AA flight in business is with the 100,000 miles/seat as opposed to the 50,000miles/seat (unless you want BA or AB). Am I correct in this????Thank you in advance.
Without more details of the route and timeframe, I'm afraid we can't help double-check your search results. We can tell you, however, that 50k miles/seat each way on AA from the US to Europe is possible. Availability is not guaranteed, but certainly available in some instances. For example, I can find that for JFK to LHR in January...

Last edited by SFOPhD; Aug 1, 13 at 12:12 am Reason: added example
SFOPhD is offline  
Old Aug 1, 13, 1:03 am
  #1829
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 233
Thanks, I understand...

I was looking at May/June 2014 from southern California to BCN or MAD or CDG LHR...I finally found one date, May 12 where there is an AA flight...Nevertheless, 99% of the business and economy saver awards were through BA or AB(mostly BA)...Thank you for your reply...
garygleck is offline  
Old Aug 1, 13, 1:45 am
  #1830
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Programs: AS MVP Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,029
Originally Posted by garygleck View Post
I was looking at May/June 2014 from southern California to BCN or MAD or CDG LHR...I finally found one date, May 12 where there is an AA flight...Nevertheless, 99% of the business and economy saver awards were through BA or AB(mostly BA)...Thank you for your reply...
More sAAver business space may open up. It's just too hard to predict availability. Thankfully, you're planning early! Good luck!
SFOPhD is offline  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:30 am.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by Flyertalk.com. Copyright © 2017 FlyerTalk.com. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.