Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Consolidation with USAir)
Reload this Page >

[2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

[2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

  Wikipost is Locked   Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 9, 14, 11:58 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JY1024
Wiki Link
MODERATOR GUIDEPOST

This is the archived, obsolete thread; the current 2014 NEWBIE LOUNGE thread is now a "sticky" thread here .

/American AAdvantage Forum Moderation Team
Print Wikipost

 

Old Jul 16, 13, 12:04 pm
  #1711  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,334
Originally Posted by standingoten View Post
Is availability the only restriction? I want to do some BOS-ANC runs and would love to get 1.0 points per mile!
Yup. If you can book the flight in a deep discount coach bucket on aa.com (one that earns 0.5 EQP/mile), a higher bucket that earns 1.0 EQP will certainly also be available. I was talking more in general in my previous post; availability will almost never be an issue if you are trying to upfare a held reservation.

V is the lowest fare that earns 1.0 EQP/mile.
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jul 16, 13, 12:09 pm
  #1712  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,334
Originally Posted by franzpalleres View Post
ok thank you, i didnt know that it was for each way!

is there any way to calculate the fees and taxes, since i want to know if its worth it, before buying the miles and transfer the ones, do you know what i mean?
Try pricing out your itinerary on ITA Matrix. It will show you the tax breakdown.

You mentioned BA in your previous post...keep in mind that BA charges extremely high "fuel surcharges", which are directly proportional to the length of the segment. So avoid flying the TATL segment on BA metal.
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jul 16, 13, 12:17 pm
  #1713  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by Apieinthesky View Post
Yup. If you can book the flight in a deep discount coach bucket on aa.com (one that earns 0.5 EQP/mile), a higher bucket that earns 1.0 EQP will certainly also be available. I was talking more in general in my previous post; availability will almost never be an issue if you are trying to upfare a held reservation.

V is the lowest fare that earns 1.0 EQP/mile.
On my BOS-DFW-ANC route, the DFW-ANC is Alaskan Airlines. Is it possible to go up to V from Q on this specific route?

I just called to have my "Q" booking code flights changed to "V" and they first asked if I was a travel agent?! Huh?!

Then I said no. I am just a traveler.

My flight costs $342. They said if they change it to "V", I will pay $750?! So there is a change in price for changing the booking code?

Last edited by JY1024; Jul 17, 13 at 12:23 am Reason: Merged consecutive posts
standingoten is offline  
Old Jul 16, 13, 4:00 pm
  #1714  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,406
Originally Posted by standingoten View Post
My flight costs $342. They said if they change it to "V", I will pay $750?! So there is a change in price for changing the booking code?
Yes. Different booking codes have different restrictions and offer different benefits. "Higher" booking codes have shorter advance booking windows and, in this case, offer more EQP. Hence, there is a difference in price. Getting more costs more. In some cases, they will even try to charge the change fee for an upfare like this, but it appears that this is just the fare difference for the higher code.

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Old Jul 16, 13, 5:21 pm
  #1715  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by HNL View Post
It is not possible to directly combine your BA Avios Account with your AAdvantage Account. You can redeem your Avios points for AA operated flights, among many other partner airlines. Contact BA or BA.com to redeem.

Additionally you can redeem your AAdvantage miles for BA operated flights, among many other partners. Contact AA or aa.com to redeem.
Thanks! Kind of what I thought. I did just book a r/t European flight operated by BA/American. It shows up as BA on the way out and American on the way back. I gave my AA number which will probably get credited on the leg back and I'll have to remember to give BA my BA number when we're at SFO.
TerryDarc is offline  
Old Jul 16, 13, 5:58 pm
  #1716  
HNL
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,831
Originally Posted by TerryDarc View Post
Thanks! Kind of what I thought. I did just book a r/t European flight operated by BA/American. It shows up as BA on the way out and American on the way back. I gave my AA number which will probably get credited on the leg back and I'll have to remember to give BA my BA number when we're at SFO.
Since AA and BA are close partners, you can choose to credit any BA or AA flight to AAdvantage or any BA or AA flight to BA Avios. You do not need to credit the miles to the program of the carrier you are flying.

Of course this all comes with the caveat that you do not earn miles on award flights.
HNL is offline  
Old Jul 16, 13, 10:47 pm
  #1717  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 대한민국 (South Korea) - ex-PVG (上海)
Programs: UA MM / LT Gold (LT UC), DL SM, AA PLT (AC), OZ, KE; GE and Korean SES (like GE); Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,995
Yes. Different booking codes have different restrictions and offer different benefits. "Higher" booking codes have shorter advance booking windows and, in this case, offer more EQP. Hence, there is a difference in price. Getting more costs more. In some cases, they will even try to charge the change fee for an upfare like this, but it appears that this is just the fare difference for the higher code
Recently, I discovered that I had one of my AA flights (ICN - DFW - DCA - DFW - ICN) booked in N fare class. When I called to change the one N to V class, I was charged about $200 more for the fare class, but there was added a change fee, even though my other flights were already in V. When I asked (as a EXP) why the change fee, I was told that the ticketing had been done more than 24 hours prior, hence the fee. So, if you plan on up-faring, do so quickly.
relangford is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 10:16 am
  #1718  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,334
Originally Posted by relangford View Post
Recently, I discovered that I had one of my AA flights (ICN - DFW - DCA - DFW - ICN) booked in N fare class. When I called to change the one N to V class, I was charged about $200 more for the fare class, but there was added a change fee, even though my other flights were already in V. When I asked (as a EXP) why the change fee, I was told that the ticketing had been done more than 24 hours prior, hence the fee. So, if you plan on up-faring, do so quickly.
Indeed. It's an odd rule that they make you pay a fee so you can pay more for your ticket, but it is how the change fee works. The usual way to do this is to upfare while the ticket is on hold, then purchasing online, thus avoiding any change fee and phone ticketing fee.

Originally Posted by standingoten View Post
On my BOS-DFW-ANC route, the DFW-ANC is Alaskan Airlines. Is it possible to go up to V from Q on this specific route?

I just called to have my "Q" booking code flights changed to "V" and they first asked if I was a travel agent?! Huh?!

Then I said no. I am just a traveler.

My flight costs $342. They said if they change it to "V", I will pay $750?! So there is a change in price for changing the booking code?
You don't seem to understand fare classes very well. Do a Google search for "fare buckets" or "fare inventories", and you'll understand it a bit better. Maybe try this page for starters.
http://hackmytrip.com/2012/02/unders...ine-inventory/

Basically, different booking codes represent different fares (which have different restrictions and benefits, as brp mentioned upthread), and inventory is controlled by the elusive Revenue Management department.

Also, you can use ITA Matrix to force certain booking classes, and compare fares for only certain buckets (and also to see the price before calling AA).
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 10:33 am
  #1719  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: DFW,LAX, STL or somewhere I don't want to be
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Honors Gold, SPG Gold, LQ Elite
Posts: 354
Ok this is a dumb question I'm sure, but as a BA silver if I fly AA TATL to LHR is there a chance of being upgraded from y to j? I'm not sure what AA's policy of upgrading is for partner airlines. I've flown AA enough being from DFW but I've never bothered asking for an upgrade. I'm assuming the answer is you get what you pay for unless you're with AAdvantage.

Normally I fly BA TATL and upgrade but seems this year is looking thin around turkey day. Side note I'm trying to go to BRU or AMS so LHR isn't a stopping point anymore thanks to the taxes & fees...
Man_Utd_Fan is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 10:47 am
  #1720  
HNL
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,831
Originally Posted by Man_Utd_Fan View Post
Ok this is a dumb question I'm sure, but as a BA silver if I fly AA TATL to LHR is there a chance of being upgraded from y to j? I'm not sure what AA's policy of upgrading is for partner airlines. I've flown AA enough being from DFW but I've never bothered asking for an upgrade. I'm assuming the answer is you get what you pay for unless you're with AAdvantage.

Normally I fly BA TATL and upgrade but seems this year is looking thin around turkey day. Side note I'm trying to go to BRU or AMS so LHR isn't a stopping point anymore thanks to the taxes & fees...
You can use BA Points to upgrade AA flights on select fares (i.e. the expensive ones). You can also use use AA miles for the Miles+Co-pay upgrade.

If you are looking for an operational upgrade, I think you'd fall in line after the AA Platinum's, which are a dime a dozen.
HNL is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 4:19 pm
  #1721  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Hello, I searched on the vouchers thread but didn't find the answer I needed.

I booked a flight and was not able to take it. AA says I have a credit for $2782.76.

I would like to use this credit so my husband can accompany me on an upcoming business trip, but I understand they cannot change the name on the ticket. However, if I book a flight that doesn't use the full amount, they will give me a voucher for the difference (minus $200 or $275 change fee and the cost of the new flight I book).

If I book a flight for myself for say $500 then I would have roughly $2000 in vouchers to use.

Questions:
1. AA said they snail mail the vouchers for the remainder amount after I book my flight. At first she said it could take 3 weeks, then I mentioned I am in a time crunch and then she said it could take up to 6 weeks to receive the vouchers. Any idea how fast they normally come? Delivering to a street address in MO (midwest USA). Wanting to use the vouchers for a trip starting 31 aug 2013. Any way to expedite this process, pay a fee, get them electronically rather than paper, or use my Gold status to make it faster somehow?

2. The agent on the phone said the voucher could be used for ANY airline, as long as the flight was booked via AA. In the vouchers wiki page, it says the voucher can only be used on Airfare on American Airlines/Eagle/Connection, codeshares, and oneworld itineraries where AA is the international/"governing" carrier. I need to book the flight on LAN airlines (MEX-LIM or SCL-SAO for example). Can I use the voucher for flights on LAN?

Thanks in advance for your help.
abc123xyz12345 is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 7:11 pm
  #1722  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by HNL View Post
Since AA and BA are close partners, you can choose to credit any BA or AA flight to AAdvantage or any BA or AA flight to BA Avios. You do not need to credit the miles to the program of the carrier you are flying.
Cool! Should already be taken care of, then. Thanks again!
TerryDarc is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 9:20 pm
  #1723  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 467
Extra City

I will be flying TXL -JFK and I know I can add on for no extra miles JFK -HNL, presuming I find availability. My friend is doing JFK - HNL and then return HNL -JFK. Does he have any option to add on from JFK to either some place in Florida, the Caribbean or Europe? I am not sure for his trip as his flight from HNL to JFK will stop in either LAX, ORD, or elsewhere and I don't know if this takes out of the equation the opportunity to add on.

Assistance appreciated.
flightmedic is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 9:27 pm
  #1724  
HNL
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,831
Originally Posted by flightmedic View Post
I will be flying TXL -JFK and I know I can add on for no extra miles JFK -HNL, presuming I find availability. My friend is doing JFK - HNL and then return HNL -JFK. Does he have any option to add on from JFK to either some place in Florida, the Caribbean or Europe? I am not sure for his trip as his flight from HNL to JFK will stop in either LAX, ORD, or elsewhere and I don't know if this takes out of the equation the opportunity to add on.

Assistance appreciated.
Stopovers are only allowed at an international gateway.
HNL-JFK-stop-JFK-Florida is not allowed a stopover.
HNL-JFK-stop-JFK-Europe is allowed a stopover.
HNL is offline  
Old Jul 17, 13, 9:31 pm
  #1725  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MSY; 2-time FT Fantasy Football Champ, now in recovery.
Programs: AA lifetime GLD; UA Silver; Marriott LTTE; IHG Plat,
Posts: 12,989
Originally Posted by flightmedic View Post
I will be flying TXL -JFK and I know I can add on for no extra miles JFK -HNL, presuming I find availability. My friend is doing JFK - HNL and then return HNL -JFK. Does he have any option to add on from JFK to either some place in Florida, the Caribbean or Europe? I am not sure for his trip as his flight from HNL to JFK will stop in either LAX, ORD, or elsewhere and I don't know if this takes out of the equation the opportunity to add on.

Assistance appreciated.
Originally Posted by HNL View Post
Stopovers are only allowed at an international gateway.
HNL-JFK-stop-JFK-Florida is not allowed a stopover.
HNL-JFK-stop-JFK-Europe is allowed a stopover.
And while the stopover (JFK) must be at the North American gateway on the international protion, there are no corresponding rules for the domestic leg. So it doesn't matter if HNL-JFK has a connection in ORD, LAX, DFW, it's still allowed.
swag is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread