Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > American Airlines | AAdvantage (Pre-Consolidation with USAir)
Reload this Page >

[2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

[2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here (flame free)

  Wikipost is Locked   Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 9, 14, 11:58 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JY1024
Wiki Link
MODERATOR GUIDEPOST

This is the archived, obsolete thread; the current 2014 NEWBIE LOUNGE thread is now a "sticky" thread here .

/American AAdvantage Forum Moderation Team
Print Wikipost

 

Old Jul 7, 13, 9:51 pm
  #1621  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,334
Originally Posted by incognitoMD View Post
No 24 hour cancellation policy exists on AA. In my experience, some of the "24 hour holds" are valid until 11:59 PM of whichever timezone your held flight is departing out of.
Originally Posted by SFOPhD View Post
Airlines only have to provide either a 24 hour hold or a 24 hour cancellation policy, not both. So, as you pointed out, AA offers 24 hour holds on flights using AA planes. 24 hour cancellations are not allowed without a fee.

The answer gets trickier with codeshare flights not on AA planes. Since AA doesn't allow holds on those flights, I think (someone please correct me) there are ways to cancel purchases within 24 hours without a fee.
While this may be the official policy, I've found that many agents are willing to change/cancel flights within 24 hours of ticketing. Of course, YMMV.

If no hold option was offered for your itinerary, the 24 hour cancel policy will apply.
Apieinthesky is offline  
Old Jul 8, 13, 1:36 pm
  #1622  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Left
Programs: FT
Posts: 7,285
Looking to burn some miles from Japan to YYZ in F or J for 3.

Wonder what MPM from Japan to YYZ. Does it go by city in Japan?

Was thinking about stopover in YVR or HNL. So perhaps

KIX/HND or NRT to HNL-LAX-YYZ

or NRT-YVR-ORD/DFW-YYZ?

So if I get more bang for buck, I can train it back to NRT/HND versus wasting domestic miles say from FUK to Tokyo and then onward.

So there are options from KIX, HND and NRT on JAL to HNL.

My question is am I realistic to think I can possibly get 3 J seats or 3 F seats on these flights or to YVR from NRT?

Is this just silly and should I just do Japan - HND-JFK-YYZ where it apperas that F space between JFK and HND on AA seems OK...at least on the old equipment.

i would be booking right when space opens for late next summer.
mkjr is offline  
Old Jul 8, 13, 3:01 pm
  #1623  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 20,720
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by mkjr
Looking to burn some miles from Japan to YYZ in F or J for 3.

Wonder what MPM from Japan to YYZ. Does it go by city in Japan?

Was thinking about stopover in YVR or HNL. So perhaps

KIX/HND or NRT to HNL-LAX-YYZ

or NRT-YVR-ORD/DFW-YYZ?

So if I get more bang for buck, I can train it back to NRT/HND versus wasting domestic miles say from FUK to Tokyo and then onward.

So there are options from KIX, HND and NRT on JAL to HNL.

My question is am I realistic to think I can possibly get 3 J seats or 3 F seats on these flights or to YVR from NRT?

Is this just silly and should I just do Japan - HND-JFK-YYZ where it apperas that F space between JFK and HND on AA seems OK...at least on the old equipment.

i would be booking right when space opens for late next summer.
HA also offers some service between Japan and HNL, and aa.com now displays HA award-seat availability. If you use the "multi-city" award booking engine, you can see whether Japan-HNL on HA, and HNL-YYZ on AA/AS/HA prices as a single award. (Whether using JL for the Japan-HNL segment of the Japan-YYZ trip would price as a single award is a separate question.)

I don't think that a YVR stopover would work, as AA does not permit you to travel from one Canadian city to another via the U.S. on a single award.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 5:26 am
  #1624  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Hotel booking

Hello everyone, this is my first post but I have already spent some time reading a couple of topics before registration. Anyway, Im trying to book a hotel with AA miles but at the end of the process Im asked to provide an address in the USA, Canada or Puerto Rico. My Portuguese address is already filled in, its just the country that doesnt match. My question is, can I book the hotel anyway and just say that the address is in Canada or the US without any problems? Or will they ask me about the address at the hotel and refuse to check me in?

Thank you for your help
flyingCoquina is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 6:57 am
  #1625  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
gift cards

can I buy some gift cards for walmart, target or supermarkets, to help with the $3000 spend on the new aa mastercard
would appreciate info.
chrissydi is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 7:24 am
  #1626  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Left
Programs: FT
Posts: 7,285
Originally Posted by guv1976 View Post
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)



HA also offers some service between Japan and HNL, and aa.com now displays HA award-seat availability. If you use the "multi-city" award booking engine, you can see whether Japan-HNL on HA, and HNL-YYZ on AA/AS/HA prices as a single award. (Whether using JL for the Japan-HNL segment of the Japan-YYZ trip would price as a single award is a separate question.)

I don't think that a YVR stopover would work, as AA does not permit you to travel from one Canadian city to another via the U.S. on a single award.
Thanks. I was not sure if YVR would be true cabbotage since it would be NRT-YVR-ORD-YYZ.

Yes, NRT-HNL-JFK-YYZ prices out at 50K in J/F but the problem might appear to be space...hmm...i think i will have to troll around to see how likely it is to get 3J/F on HA on this routing.
mkjr is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 9:35 am
  #1627  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 81
Flight 161 runs from DFW to OGG with a stop at LAX.

There are seats available from DFW->LAX and LAX->OGG but not the whole trip. Is there any way to assign seats for each segment individually?
ObieGrad is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 10:32 am
  #1628  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: AA, UAL
Posts: 533
Originally Posted by chrissydi View Post
can I buy some gift cards for walmart, target or supermarkets, to help with the $3000 spend on the new aa mastercard
would appreciate info.
Yes, absolutely!

Avoid buying prepaid Visa / Amex cards (especially from financial institutions).

Cheers!
fromfall98 is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 11:57 am
  #1629  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,419
Originally Posted by flyingCoquina View Post
Hello everyone, this is my first post but I have already spent some time reading a couple of topics before registration. Anyway, Im trying to book a hotel with AA miles but at the end of the process Im asked to provide an address in the USA, Canada or Puerto Rico. My Portuguese address is already filled in, its just the country that doesnt match. My question is, can I book the hotel anyway and just say that the address is in Canada or the US without any problems? Or will they ask me about the address at the hotel and refuse to check me in?

Thank you for your help
I can't say for sure whether listing the address as USA, Canada or PR will work within the system, but I can say that we've booked several times and never been questioned about address and such. Some hotels in other countries have people fill out a card, but it wasn't tied, in any way, to the reservation. My feeling is that, as long as you can get it to go through, you won't face problems. But you may want to call the support number for that program (different from the AA Web Support number) to get a more definitive answer.

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 4:21 pm
  #1630  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BOS
Posts: 44
Anybody know of any current promos or ways to quickly obtain 12000 AA miles in the next week or so? I need it to top off my account to book an international award flight in the next week or so. Or am I going to have to bite the bullet and buy the miles? Any insight appreciated. Thanks!
sonit is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 5:07 pm
  #1631  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Booking CX PE on AA ticketed flight ORD-HKG

Hi, this is my first post so apologies in advance if this is in the wrong place or already covered somewhere else.

Am planing to fly ORD-HKG (operated by CX), HKG-HND (operated by JL), NRT-LAX-ORD (AA)...all in econ unforunately and have reserved this with a AA hold but would like to purchase PE on the CX portion.

AA EXP tells me they do not have access / can't book PE on the CX ORD-HKG portion... Has anyone else had this issue and how did they solve this? I checked the inventory on CX online and spoke with CX for my specific travel date and CX tells me (i) there are PE seats available and (ii) they have no idea why AA can't access and they've never heard of this issue.

Is this the same issue as a AA/CX online "mixed-ticket" post in the other thread where you have to book via a travel agent? Or am I way off here?

Thank you
TexAsian is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 5:29 pm
  #1632  
HNL
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,831
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 6_1_4 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/536.26 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0 Mobile/10B350 Safari/8536.25)

Originally Posted by TexAsian
Hi, this is my first post so apologies in advance if this is in the wrong place or already covered somewhere else.

Am planing to fly ORD-HKG (operated by CX), HKG-HND (operated by JL), NRT-LAX-ORD (AA)...all in econ unforunately and have reserved this with a AA hold but would like to purchase PE on the CX portion.

AA EXP tells me they do not have access / can't book PE on the CX ORD-HKG portion... Has anyone else had this issue and how did they solve this? I checked the inventory on CX online and spoke with CX for my specific travel date and CX tells me (i) there are PE seats available and (ii) they have no idea why AA can't access and they've never heard of this issue.

Is this the same issue as a AA/CX online "mixed-ticket" post in the other thread where you have to book via a travel agent? Or am I way off here?

Thank you
Does it price the same way for two one way tickets? Ticket 1 on CX ticket 2 on AA
HNL is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 6:27 pm
  #1633  
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 343
Question on airport lounge access. I have a transatlantic flight to London Heathrow, which then goes to Berlin. The transatlantic leg is operated by AA and LHR-BER is operated by AirBerlin. I'm using a SWU that will hopefully clear for the transatlantic portion of the trip, giving me a first class ticket for that leg alone. If it does clear, would I have lounge access in both the US and Heathrow?
JunkDiver is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 7:48 pm
  #1634  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 20,720
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by JunkDiver
Question on airport lounge access. I have a transatlantic flight to London Heathrow, which then goes to Berlin. The transatlantic leg is operated by AA and LHR-BER is operated by AirBerlin. I'm using a SWU that will hopefully clear for the transatlantic portion of the trip, giving me a first class ticket for that leg alone. If it does clear, would I have lounge access in both the US and Heathrow?
Are flying on a paid Business Class ticket, and hoping that your SWU clears for an upgrade to First Class? And note that AB does not fly out of LHR, so your LHR-TXL flight is likely operated by BA, even if it has an AB flight number.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Jul 9, 13, 7:58 pm
  #1635  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Matre-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 60,469
You would in the US, but I do not see any airberlin flights operating from London Heathrow? If it is a codeshare operated by BA, as is most likely you must follow Flight Connections to Terminal 5 and you can use the Galleries First lounge if the SWU puts you in First, the Galleries Business lounges if it does not (assuming you are booked into Business since you say the SWU will get you into F on the transatlantic flight).

Originally Posted by JunkDiver View Post
Question on airport lounge access. I have a transatlantic flight to London Heathrow, which then goes to Berlin. The transatlantic leg is operated by AA and LHR-BER is operated by AirBerlin. I'm using a SWU that will hopefully clear for the transatlantic portion of the trip, giving me a first class ticket for that leg alone. If it does clear, would I have lounge access in both the US and Heathrow?
JDiver is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread