Wiki Posts
Search

Terrible AA experience vent

Search this Thread

Old Dec 26, 2012, 10:37 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Gold
Terrible AA experience vent

I just returned from a two week trip to London and need to vent about the trouble I had getting there on AA. I don't know if it will do any good to send a letter to AA, but I needed to say something.

I was ticketed on the December 8 direct flight from RDU to LHR, scheduled to depart at 6:00 pm. I am a graduate student at the London School of Economics and was returning to campus for my course final exams. I scheduled the flight to arrive more than a day in advance to allow me to rest and prepare for a full day of intense examinations.

My flight was delayed at RDU for just under 2 hours for a mechanical issue. The captain told us that 3 of the 6 lavatories were not working and that we couldn't fly to LHR with only three lavatories.

We were told that there was an operable plane at JFK, and that we would divert to New York, change planes then complete our trip. After we took off, the captain told us that we were too heavy to land at JFK and would need to burn off the extra fuel to shed weight. We spent three hours flying with the landing gear down to a location that normally takes less than 90 minutes. We arrived at JFK at 11:00 pm and were instructed to change gates and board the replacement plane.

Once we boarded the new plane, we were told that there was no catering loaded on the plane and we could not leave until catering at least brought beverages for the flight. At approximately 12:30 am, the captain announced that the beverages could not be delivered quickly enough for the flight crew to not “time out,” and that the flight was being canceled.