Gold status but no "Priority AAccess" on BP?

 
Old Dec 2, 12, 9:16 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: AUS
Programs: AA Exec Platinum/MM, DL Silver/MM, Hilton Diamond, Hertz 5* Gold
Posts: 5,799
Gold status but no "Priority AAccess" on BP?

My wife is a newly minted Gold but the BP she got on AA.com just says "GOLD" and "RUBY" underneath that. Shouldn't it say "Priority AAccess"?
Stripe is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 9:36 am
  #2  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,479
Yeah, probably.

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 11:08 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: DFW, SEA and AA in between
Programs: AA-3MM-ExPLT
Posts: 1,146
Usually takes several days and existing reservations aren't always updated - this is frequently covered in the brag thread.

Call and have any existing reservations updated to reflect the new status.
BStrauss3 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 11:13 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LAX
Posts: 6,768
Originally Posted by BStrauss3 View Post
Usually takes several days and existing reservations aren't always updated - this is frequently covered in the brag thread.

Call and have any existing reservations updated to reflect the new status.
It sounds like the access is already reflected because it says "Gold" and "Ruby."
FlyMeToTheLooneyBin is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 11:49 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: AA EXP, SPG PLT
Posts: 84
If I recall, it took a few days to reflect Priority Access on the BP.
jeremysmith is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 12:19 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: AA PLT, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,173
So if you have the Citi Platinum Select card and also reach gold status (like I plan on doing) - then your BP should specifically say GLD as well as Priority AAcess - correct?
no1cub17 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 4:32 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 12,083
Originally Posted by jeremysmith View Post
If I recall, it took a few days to reflect Priority Access on the BP.
IIRC Priority Access is printed if the PNR if the PNR has a specific SSR, which a different system adds it based on elite status, credit card status, paying the appropriate fee, etc.
hillrider is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 4:35 pm
  #8  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 61,583
With Gold / Ruby imprinted on the BP, would it make much of a practical difference to have Priority Access printed on it too?
JDiver is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 5:44 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Programs: AA PLT, 1.8mm
Posts: 6,981
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
With Gold / Ruby imprinted on the BP, would it make much of a practical difference to have Priority Access printed on it too?
good point. AA must be trying to save on ink / toner costs.
cynicAAl is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 9:01 pm
  #10  
dw
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA Plat Pro, IHG Spire Amb/Kimpton IC
Posts: 4,518
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
With Gold / Ruby imprinted on the BP, would it make much of a practical difference to have Priority Access printed on it too?
Although most Golds are likely informed of where they fall within the boarding order, I can see where this may lead to some confusion as, unlike Explats and Plats, Golds are usually not singled out for boarding as the GAs usually just call for "PriorityAAccess" after Plats.
dw is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 10:06 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MSY; 2-time FT Fantasy Football Champ, now in recovery.
Programs: AA lifetime GLD; UA Silver; Marriott LTTE; IHG Plat,
Posts: 13,156
Originally Posted by JDiver View Post
With Gold / Ruby imprinted on the BP, would it make much of a practical difference to have Priority Access printed on it too?
As a GLD, my boarding pass shows GLD in small letters next to my AAdvantage number upper right, and Priority Access in big letters lower left.

The practical difference would be at the those TSA checkpoints which have BP checks to enter the Priority security line. The bigger and clearer it is, the easier and quicker it is to get past.
swag is offline  
Old Dec 2, 12, 10:29 pm
  #12  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 61,583
They make me read the fine print, and turnabout is perfectly fair.

Originally Posted by swag View Post
As a GLD, my boarding pass shows GLD in small letters next to my AAdvantage number upper right, and Priority Access in big letters lower left.

The practical difference would be at the those TSA checkpoints which have BP checks to enter the Priority security line. The bigger and clearer it is, the easier and quicker it is to get past.
JDiver is offline  
Old Dec 4, 12, 6:04 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BSL
Programs: AA (EXP); among others :)
Posts: 1,759
Example: Those big bold letters are very useful for getting past the AA staff who are 'guarding' the escalator to security behind the premium check-in area at LAX.
Big, bold "Priority AAccess" means being smiled at and waved through. Missing that you get stopped and they scrutinize your BP which can take quite awhile.
bhomburg is offline  
Old Dec 4, 12, 12:03 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: AUS
Programs: AA Exec Platinum/MM, DL Silver/MM, Hilton Diamond, Hertz 5* Gold
Posts: 5,799
Originally Posted by dw View Post
Although most Golds are likely informed of where they fall within the boarding order, I can see where this may lead to some confusion as, unlike Explats and Plats, Golds are usually not singled out for boarding as the GAs usually just call for "PriorityAAccess" after Plats.
That's what happened to my wife at DFW. They called EXP and Plats, then Priority Access, then Group 1. When they called the latter she figured out they must have skipped Gold but at that point it was a scrum at the gate.
Stripe is offline  
Old Dec 4, 12, 12:32 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ORD
Programs: AA Platinum, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 1,177
Practical concerns about elite line guards aside, it is better to have GOLD than Priority AAccess. GOLD/RUBY is "higher" than Priority AAccess, and while I agree one should have both, it is possible to have Priority AAccess but not Gold/Ruby through the credit card or other programs.

This has little effect on domestic itineraries, but it could on international trips, as OneWorld does not recognize Priority AAccess, but it does recognize Ruby.
cparekh is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread