Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Why Would American Airlines not sell counter upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 12, 2011, 5:19 am
Original Poster

Why Would American Airlines not sell counter upgrades?

I recently did a round trip From Djibouti to Virginia and back. 2 segments on Ethiopian and 2 segments on USAirways to Virginia, 2 segments on American Airlines and 2 segments on Ethiopian to get back. (Paid for by my employer, so all segments booked coach.)

I am new to frequent flyer miles building, so I asked USAirways about a cash upgrade to business for the Rome to Philly leg. Got it for $500. Asked Ethiopian for an upgrade from London to Addis Ababa. Got it for $510. Asked American for an upgrade to business from New York to London. $3,400. (I did not pay that.)

Essentially American Airlines does not want to sell upgrades at the gate. I am puzzled as to why. I thought it might be that they prefer to save those seats and give them out to loyal customers - some elite status members who are flying coach or something. But that wasn't it, because I checked during the flight and there were 11 empty seats in business class.

So my question is why would American not want to sell those seats at a price people might actually pay? They could have bagged another $5K to $8K on ticket sales for that flight.
Old Aug 12, 2011, 7:14 am
Moderator: Flying Blue (Air France & KLM), France and TravelBuzz!

Location: Paris, France, AF F+ Rouge pour toujours, Flying Blue whatever, LH FTL, HHonors Gold, formerly proud SCC Executive, now IC Ambassador, BA down to nobody, Grand Voyageur Le Club
Please continue to follow this thread in the American Airlines forum. Thanks for your understanding.

Jouy31
TravelBuzz moderator
Old Aug 12, 2011, 7:22 am
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton diamond, Marriott Platinum