Wikipost is Locked  
Old Oct 31, 2012, 9:15 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: JY1024
MODERATOR GUIDEPOST

This is the archived, obsolete thread; the current 2013 NEWBIE LOUNGE thread is now a "sticky" thread here .

/American AAdvantage Forum Moderation Team
Print Wikipost

ARCHIVE: NEWBIE LOUNGE -.Ask Your AA-Related Questions Here

Old Jun 21, 2011, 12:29 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.601 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by jcc2k4
Hello, first time poster. I'm a complete newb, as i'm sure you'll be able to tell instantly from my question. Either way, I'm seriously considering getting the Citi AAdvantage Visa Signature card. Mainly to fly from America (chicago) to Japan (tokyo). I'd like to be able to visit about once every two years, but it seems the "miles" you earn on the card, aren't miles at all. They're telling me that you need 50,000 miles to fly from chicago to tokyo (for two people) round trip. When I did some calculating, you should really only need ~35,000 for two people. How are these "miles" calculated?

I also took a look at a domestic flight, thinking they would be less miles, and while they were less miles, they weren't THAT much less. From Minneapolis to San Francisco was 25,000 (for two people) round trip. I didn't even calculate the number of miles from minneapolis to san francisco as I know it isn't 25,000 miles round trip.

I know that your miles start to disintegrate after 18 months of no ticket purchases, but being right out of college i can't imagine spending $~34k a year on the card to get rewards to go to japan. Any suggestions / corrections to my logic?
Welcome to FT!