AA.com re-design: Monday 11/15/2010

 
Old Nov 14, 10, 1:59 pm
  #121  
Moderator: American AAdvantage and New York City
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA PLT, Natl EC
Posts: 10,750
While I am still underwhelmed, moving the menu bar to the top of the page has hopefully removed the problem where you'd sometimes access a reservation and have the old left-hand menu bar disappear completely.

Faster access to My Reservations is good, as well as the removal of the Cancel button. Strange that they kept the old My Reservations in place, though - presumably as a backup.

In the header on My Account, my name butts up right against "AAdvantage Number:" There seem to be some spaces or tabs missing... If you're going to make a cosmetic change, at least make it right!
dstan is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 2:11 pm
  #122  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 40K feet over NYC, SFO, DFW
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 49
remember me

Originally Posted by Jedi Master View Post
Sometimes I have to use computers in Admirals Clubs so I prefer that the default is set to NOT remember the user's ID.
I used a computer in the Admirals Club last week and it made a big deal about deleting everything off the computer when I was finished with my session. Remembering my user name would be nice at home, and doesn't make me feel threatened elsewhere.
BigTex is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 2:40 pm
  #123  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: BA Gold, AA Lifetime Gold 1.8mm, IC Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold et al
Posts: 4,348
I don't know if it's the finished article yet but the UK site no longer has a link to the US site which gives the drop down menus. Without it I appear to have to go back to the UK homepage every time I want to access simple information like My Reservations.

A simple but annoying downgrade for international sites if this is it.
Blueboys999 is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 2:40 pm
  #124  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: YYF/YLW
Programs: AA, DL, AS MVP, VA
Posts: 5,258
Originally Posted by dstan View Post
Faster access to My Reservations is good, as well as the removal of the Cancel button. Strange that they kept the old My Reservations in place, though - presumably as a backup.
According to AA's little video about the new site (yes, I watched it), the my reservations tab on the front page will only show up to four reservations, while the separate my reservations page will show them all.
ashill is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 3:14 pm
  #125  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SAV,JAX
Programs: AA-LT Gold 1.2MM ,DL, Marriott LT TITANIUM; HH Gold, AMEX PLT
Posts: 469
Is anyone else having trouble with the AA website. I get to the home page. As soon as I try to log in, I get a blank page and it goes no further.
tbrein is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 3:19 pm
  #126  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Diego,CA
Posts: 536
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
Is anyone else having trouble with the AA website. I get to the home page. As soon as I try to log in, I get a blank page and it goes no further.
Try clearing your browser Cache.
pdog02 is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 3:28 pm
  #127  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SAV,JAX
Programs: AA-LT Gold 1.2MM ,DL, Marriott LT TITANIUM; HH Gold, AMEX PLT
Posts: 469
Originally Posted by pdog02 View Post
Try clearing your browser Cache.
It didn't help. Any other suggestions?
tbrein is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 4:45 pm
  #128  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Programs: AA LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 30,547
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
It didn't help. Any other suggestions?
Don't use Chrome?
vasantn is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 5:30 pm
  #129  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K, F9 Elite, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,310
Thumbs down

I see that AA still has conveniently omitted the ability to use a promo code on multi-city itineraries, and not returned the flexible matrix searches. So, while the lipstick is pretty, this pig is a big FAIL from me!
denCSA is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 5:48 pm
  #130  
brp
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SJC
Programs: AA EXP, BA Silver, AS 75K Gold MVP, and some hotel stuff...
Posts: 32,624
Originally Posted by denCSA View Post
I see that AA still has conveniently omitted the ability to use a promo code on multi-city itineraries, and not returned the flexible matrix searches. So, while the lipstick is pretty, this pig is a big FAIL from me!
These are by design. The codes are not good for multi-city itineraries, so it would probably be a bad idea if the site had them. Whether or not that is a good decision is a separate issues, but certainly not a website issue.

Not sure what you mean by "flexible matrix searches," but if you're talking about the searching over a number of days, up to a month- that went away a while ago by design, so it would also not be appropriate if it were on the redesigned site.

Cheers.
brp is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 6:27 pm
  #131  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1K, F9 Elite, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 1,310
Originally Posted by brp View Post
These are by design. The codes are not good for multi-city itineraries, so it would probably be a bad idea if the site had them. Whether or not that is a good decision is a separate issues, but certainly not a website issue.

Not sure what you mean by "flexible matrix searches," but if you're talking about the searching over a number of days, up to a month- that went away a while ago by design, so it would also not be appropriate if it were on the redesigned site.
Correct, I'm aware of that. Point is that AA should be focusing on improving its underlying business [decisions] to make it a more attractive travel option, not re-vamps to the look and feel of the website. Granted, it was long overdue, but I'd rather get service improvements first; website later.
denCSA is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 7:13 pm
  #132  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ATL
Programs: DL Silver (ew), SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 662
Bizarre - when doing searches as done before (ie Round-trip ABC to XYC, All Day, All Day), it's showing some results in reverse chronological order (ie showing a night flight, afternoon flight, then morning flight). I've never seen the nonstop flights shown in anything other than chronological order before. This is not helpful.
farrish11 is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 8:38 pm
  #133  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bartlett, IL. USA
Posts: 129
All I saw was white after I logged in. Then I logged out and back in seems to work now.
eDiveBuddy is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 9:01 pm
  #134  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: JFK/SAN
Programs: AAdvantage
Posts: 39
I'm totally nit-picking now, but something about the "AmericanAirlines" logo on the top doesn't look right (it seems compressed, and also there is not enough space on the top of the page and the "AmericanAirlines" compared to the space below it).

Also I'm not sure if the mini advertisements on the bottom, combined with the AAdvantage/Your Choice etc. buttons visually works. But otherwise, aesthetically this is quite the improvement over the previous AA.com, hands-down.
Joncorde is offline  
Old Nov 14, 10, 9:44 pm
  #135  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 184
On reading the note about the AA logo - I did take another look but did not find anything different/compressed. Sorry may be I am not seeing the same things..
lifescool is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: