AA.com re-design: Monday 11/15/2010

 
Old Nov 16, 10, 5:31 pm
  #166  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SDQ/MIA
Programs: AA PLT, B6 Mosaic, Marriott Platinum, FPC/Accor Platinum, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 1,062
Bleh!

It's the exact same site with all the links across the top, instead of along the side. Big whoop.

Only good thing, and it is a really good thing, is the My Reservations button being accessible now. That's been a gripe for me for a long time. But I haven't seen any other changes other than cosmetic.
pjoalfa is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 8:14 pm
  #167  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: Hyatt Ex, Marriott Bonvoyed Gold, HHonors Gold, DL, CX Marco Polo
Posts: 330
What a useless site upgrade. Slower performance. No useful new functionality that seems readily accessible. Just a lot of clunky bells and whistles, a "rearrange the deck chairs" redesign. Can we have the old AA site back? Faster performance alone is good enough reason.
conde is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 8:27 pm
  #168  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: STL
Programs: AA 2MM, AS MVP Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 12,966
Originally Posted by demkr View Post
According to http://www.star-telegram.com/2010/11...signs-its.html, "American spokesman Billy Sanez said this was the first step in a redesign that will take about 12 to 18 months."

It looks like there's more to come.
New cosmetics on all the lower-level pages, too? ^^^
gemac is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 8:30 pm
  #169  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SAV,JAX
Programs: AA-LT Gold 1.2MM ,DL, Marriott LT TITANIUM; HH Gold, AMEX PLT
Posts: 469
I can get to the home page. As soon as I login the site freezes up and I have to exit IE. Have not gotten past login today.
Is anyone else having these problems or does anyone have a solution?
Thanks
tbrein is offline  
Old Nov 16, 10, 10:35 pm
  #170  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: SLC/HEL/Anywhere with a Beach
Programs: Marriott Ambassador; AA EXP 3MM; AS MVP, Hilton Gold, CH-47/UH-60/C-23/C-130 VET
Posts: 5,238
The requirement to keep checking the box to keep my FF number on my computer is crazy.

On the other hand, the new site now understands when I type NYC, there is no longer another box asking me if I really mean NYC, or did I want JFK, EWR or LGA.

One more odd thing which shouldn't directly be tied to the site ... its taking hours for purchased trips to be ticketed. I've bought three routine trips this week and the first two took over 12 hours to go from "purchased" to ticketed. I purchased another one a couple of hours ago and it hasn't ticketed yet either. I'm sure the ticketing function is in the back end but wondering if anyone else has had similar issues.
C17PSGR is offline  
Old Nov 17, 10, 12:41 am
  #171  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LAX
Posts: 6,768
Originally Posted by C17PSGR View Post
The requirement to keep checking the box to keep my FF number on my computer is crazy.
urg! That's just so annoying to me.
FlyMeToTheLooneyBin is offline  
Old Nov 18, 10, 6:21 am
  #172  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Programs: DL-Plat
Posts: 136
SLOOOWWW. On a standard wireless connection, the new site seems much slower than the old one. This is very frustrating.
JohnFortWorth is offline  
Old Nov 18, 10, 7:00 am
  #173  
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: South Florida USA
Programs: DL-MM/FC/FO AA-EXP/MM Starwood-Platinum Marriott-Platinum Hilton-Gold Hyatt-Diamond
Posts: 1,515
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
I can get to the home page. As soon as I login the site freezes up and I have to exit IE. Have not gotten past login today.
Is anyone else having these problems or does anyone have a solution?
Thanks
Same problem here. Using IE V8.0.7600.16385

After i get the home page, it freezes when I try to go anywhere or do anything

I am having to use Safari in order to use the new lipstick

TW
Tolarian Wind is offline  
Old Nov 18, 10, 7:29 am
  #174  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Racine, WI/VCE
Programs: AA EXP, MR LT PPE, Arise Mucci des Hommes de Fer
Posts: 1,047
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
I can get to the home page. As soon as I login the site freezes up and I have to exit IE. Have not gotten past login today.
Is anyone else having these problems or does anyone have a solution?
Thanks
No luck for me this morning. Loads to a blank page.
TheAAdmiral is offline  
Old Nov 18, 10, 10:34 pm
  #175  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CA & Europe
Programs: AA Life-Plat 5MM, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, UA, BA
Posts: 676
Question How to make reservations stick in Reservations List

This is really an old problem. I have 3 AA International award resrvations that do NOT show on the Reservations List - even after I find them with Record Locator.
Note: These 3 awards do Not include an AA flight

Any known trick to make such reservations appear on the Reservations List ?

Update: NO Solution:
Response from AA Web-Services: Since you have no AA flight in your reservations, these reservations can NOT appear in the Reservations List. You have to locate each reservation manually (by searching for the record locator)

Last edited by IntFF; Nov 19, 10 at 4:05 pm
IntFF is offline  
Old Nov 19, 10, 9:09 am
  #176  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL FO, AA LT PLT, SPG Gold, Hyatt Lifetime Diamond, HHonors Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Other Crap...
Posts: 5,489
Originally Posted by IntFF View Post
This is really an old problem. I have 3 AA International award resrvations that do NOT show on the Reservations List - even after I find them with Record Locator.
Note: These 3 awards do Not include an AA flight

Any known trick to make such reservations appear on the Reservations List ?
+1

Last time I had intl award reservation it stuck... this time no luck. My AA no is on the reservations
ma91pmh is offline  
Old Nov 19, 10, 9:18 am
  #177  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SAV,JAX
Programs: AA-LT Gold 1.2MM ,DL, Marriott LT TITANIUM; HH Gold, AMEX PLT
Posts: 469
I am still having problems. Trying to book a flight. I get as far as the flights displaying. When I try to click on the flight I choose, the page freezes and I have to exit IE. I have been trying to book a flight for three days now.
Doies anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks
tbrein is offline  
Old Nov 19, 10, 9:32 am
  #178  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL FO, AA LT PLT, SPG Gold, Hyatt Lifetime Diamond, HHonors Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Other Crap...
Posts: 5,489
Originally Posted by tbrein View Post
Doies anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks
Call aa.com support
ma91pmh is offline  
Old Nov 19, 10, 9:33 am
  #179  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PHX
Programs: AA ExPlat, BAEC Silver, IHG Ambassador Spire, HHonors Diamond, Bonvoy Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 322
Is not being able to select an exit row seat part of the new upgrade? Just booked a flight PHX-UIO and it won't let me (plat).
kabroui is offline  
Old Nov 19, 10, 9:46 am
  #180  
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Connecticut
Programs: AA LT plat; Marriott LT plat; Hilton Gold
Posts: 282
Add me to the list of those experiencing slow page loads and freezups (IE8). Have to Ctrl-Alt-Del to close IE and start over. They should have left good enough alone.
dougef is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: