Wiki Posts
Search

Planning trip to AU/NZ using AA miles, looking for guidance

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1, 2010, 11:03 pm
Original Poster

Planning trip to AU/NZ using AA miles, looking for guidance

Hey guys!

Hopefully I'm asking this in the right place - it's a little complicated so I wasn't sure where to start. Thanks in advance, and if I'm in the wrong spot, my apologies!

This is my first time ever flying international, so I'm a little overwhelmed on where to start because I'd like to use AAmiles to make it happen.

I've recently freed up my time and location, and I want to plan a trip from Atlanta to New Zealand, Australia, and possibly Fiji (or another island in the area) for 4-5 weeks, leaving mid January and returning Mid-February. My budget is a little tight so I'd like to do this as economically as possible.

I have 126,000 AA miles, and don't mind using them all for this trip, and would prefer to fly business class if possible, but I've never flown international before so I don't really know what I'm missing out on yet

Will this meet the requirements of a OneWorld Award (two airlines,), or am I pretty much S.O.L. because I'm only hopping around the south pacific? I apologize in advance for my ignorance! if I flew American from ATL to LAX or SFO that wouldn't count as one of my two, right?

Here is a sample flight path that I've put together of what I'd like to do if possible, but I'm quite flexible:

http://www.gcmap.com/mapui?P=ATL-LAX...-LAX-ATL&MS=bm

The plan is to spend just a day in Auckland, two weeks in Christchurch, a day in Sydney, two weeks+ in Brisbane, and two days in Fiji.

Now, because the total mileage of all flights is less than 20,000 miles, am I right in assuming my cost would be 100,000 AAmiles to go Economy, or 130,000 AAmiles to go business class?

Now, if I CAN'T use a OneWorld Award, I get quite confused, as I don't quite know how the "free stopovers" or open-jaw awards work.