Has your upgrade cleared before transaction completed?

 
Old Jul 7, 10, 1:30 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,368
Has your upgrade cleared before transaction completed?

Has this ever happened to anyone else. You are booking a flight for travel in the next few days and request upgrades as an EXP. Once you have booked the flight and then the page shows with the system assigned seats you are already upgraded?
newyorkgeorge is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 1:37 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SJC/VCE
Programs: AA PLT (2.9+ MM), HH GLD, Hyatt Diamond, SPG PLT
Posts: 10,159
Yes, always on the same route and often enough on that route that when it doesn't clear while booking I find it somewhat odd.

Last edited by bdemaria; Jul 7, 10 at 1:54 pm
bdemaria is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 1:42 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: LAX; AA EXP, MM; HH Gold
Posts: 31,790
It's happened for me quite a few times over the last couple of years (since mid-2008). In the years before that, not quite as often.
FWAAA is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 1:42 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: UA PLT (MR Gld; Hertz PC), AA 2MM, Bonvoy LT GLD, GP Plt, Mets fan.
Posts: 5,054
Also yes -- most notably on short hops (LAX-LAS, LAX-SFO) but occasionally on JFK-LAX and LGA-ORD.
CO FF is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 1:56 pm
  #5  
Moderator: American AAdvantage & TravelBuzz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plat
Posts: 9,833
Yup - I believe I've also been able to hold flights (pre-purchase/ticketing) where the X upgrade has already cleared. (Don't remember if I requested the upgrade online or whether I worked through an AAgent.)
JY1024 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 1:59 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LAX-SNA
Programs: BA Gold, AF/KL Gold, UA 1K, AA 2mm LT PLT
Posts: 19,231
Yup, ditto here. Though not nearly as good as the DL system which shows "Upgrade Available" within the window for your status, so you can select without guessing.
SFO777 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 2:08 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC, USA
Programs: AA EXP 3MM, Lifetime Platinum, SPG Gold, MR Gold, HH Gold
Posts: 10,439
Yup, it has happened for late bookings, although I usually book months in advance.
ESpen36 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 2:21 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 481
yes it has
harpodamann is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 3:04 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: BOS
Programs: AA PLT,VS Silver,SPG gold, Hilton, AMEX Plat, BA nothing.
Posts: 3,312
Yes. I go so far as to look for reasonably priced transcons for MR's and put them on a 24 hour hold. If the upgrade clears, I book the flight, if they don't I let it expire and move on.

But to answer your question, I've also had it happen the way you describe.
RedSox is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 4:45 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Durham, NC (RDU/GSO/CLT)
Programs: AA EXP/1MM, DL PM, UA Plat, HH DIA, Hyatt Discoverist, IHG Spire/AMB, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 29,771
I rarely buy my tickets inside my window but six years ago on July 2nd I found a good mileage run fare ($104 for LGA-ORD-STL-LGA) for travel on July 4th so I grabbed it. I cleared on LGA-ORD and STL-LGA while booking and was happy to see my e-ticket reciept printed with "First Cl" on it.
CMK10 is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 9:02 pm
  #11  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC (but temporarily MIA)
Programs: AA EXP/3MM
Posts: 29,628
Originally Posted by newyorkgeorge View Post
Has this ever happened to anyone else. You are booking a flight for travel in the next few days and request upgrades as an EXP. Once you have booked the flight and then the page shows with the system assigned seats you are already upgraded?
Probably 25% of the time when I book a flight within the 100-hour window. Unlike FWAAA's experience, for me it's less frequent now than it was a few years ago.

On a related topic, here's an old favorite which some of our newer members may not have had the privilege of reading:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...thanks-aa.html
vasantn is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 9:06 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: SNA, LAX
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 1,291
Yes it happens often when I book within the 100 hour mark but worse is the flights I book within 4 hours of departure. Since they are already under airport control only way to request an upgrade on those is by checking in at the airport.
riteshraja is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 9:09 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Programs: AA EXP - 2MM +, CO, US, UA,SPG, Hertz Presidents Club
Posts: 233
Yes... happens all the time.
LAXNYER is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 9:55 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: STL
Programs: AA-PLT; DL-Silver/AKA "nothing"; Hilton-Diamond;
Posts: 97
Happened to me a few minutes ago for both flights I booked for tomorrow. STL-ORD-STL. I'm just a lowly platinum, but it happens all the time.

By the way, the available inventory is the reason that I picked the planes that I picked. No sense booking a flight for the next day with just one seat open in first when there is a flight the next hour with 8 available seats in F.
capn_shawn is offline  
Old Jul 7, 10, 10:23 pm
  #15  
Used to be 'Travelergcp'
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Orleans
Programs: AA Gold, UA Silver, Marriott Plat
Posts: 2,006
Happens a lot. It seems to really screw up the airport staff when it happens on unticketed reservations since it won't auto-price anymore once it's booked into X. Gotta call the rate desk.
TravelerMSY is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread